Chevron Left
Volver a Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan por parte de Universidad de Tokio

4.8
estrellas
421 calificaciones
127 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Principales reseñas

DP

Oct 09, 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

SC

Sep 06, 2019

It has expanded my views not only on Japan Visual and Literary Culture but also has open for me a new way of looking at portraits in different cultures and times. Thank you so much

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 127 revisiones para Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

por Valentina B

Apr 02, 2020

I have studied Japanese culture and art in the past, but this particular topic was incredibly interesting and new to me. The lecturer was very clear and precise, which I found helpful.

por Regina P

Jun 19, 2020

Marvelous course! I've learned many cultural things about Japan and now I look forward to learning more. The professor was very clear and his examples were really interesting.

por Archisha B

Jul 26, 2020

A very inspiring and informative course. Really broadened my ways of viewing not only Japanese art and literature, but also any other form of art from any part of the world.

por Moritz S

Mar 30, 2020

A very interesting look into intermedial relations between images and writing in early modern to modern Japan. Prof. Campbell's personal collection is certainly impressive!

por OMKAR

Aug 05, 2020

It was such a wonderful course and I'm glad that I've gained an insight into the literary culture of Japan as well as the visual elements associated with it.

por yan l

Oct 09, 2018

Fantastic course and the teacher is so erudited. After the course, I want to have more MOOCS with this teacher. What an intellectual model this teacher is!

por Коршунова Е В

Nov 03, 2019

I am so grateful for the opportunity to take this course. I would definitely recommend it to everyone who is interested in Japanese art and history.

por Hiranmoy L

Oct 16, 2017

Great course, excellent teaching by sensei. ALthough subtitles sometimes are wrongly interpreted (like 'major restoration' nstead of 'Meiji'

por Andrea K L

Dec 28, 2017

Excellent introduction, I enjoyed this course tremendously, very informative, learned a lot.

Many thanks to Professor Campbell and his team!

por Bert S

Jul 25, 2020

Surprisingly interesting to me. I first thought it had a limited scope but that gradually proved wrong. Thank you for creating the course.

por Jerome H

Jul 10, 2020

面白かった. It is the first time i understood that combination of images and poems or words was a specificity of Japan in the 19-20th century.

por Yujin l

Nov 02, 2018

the lecturer is knowledgeable and engaging. it greatly enriched my appreciation of japanese arts and culture. i highly recommend it.

por Maria J T P

Sep 18, 2020

It was really interesting, I learned a lot about Japan and its ways of expressing true human feelings, I really loved it

por Ozge C

Oct 15, 2017

It was a truly enlightening and highly enjoyable course with an amazing lecturer. My gratitude to all who was involved.

por Susan S

Aug 27, 2020

The course was fascinating and well presented. I look forward to other courses by Mr. Robert Campbell. Thank you.

por Javier A P

Jul 30, 2019

I really like Japan, and I wanted to learn a little more about its culture, so this course has served me a lot.

por Fanny W G

Apr 10, 2019

I love this course. Amazing content provided in very easy to understand lessons! I enjoyed every minute of it!!

por Vira T

May 10, 2018

Gives a deep and detailed image of the period. Helped a lot in my understanding writers of 19th cent in Japan.

por Katrin W

Nov 22, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course, while at the same time learning a lot about the subject.

por Shohei W

May 18, 2020

Very good overview of relationship between Japanese photography and illustrations and texts

por Aurea L R

Feb 10, 2019

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

por Ricardo M

Oct 31, 2017

A great course with plenty of interesting data and delivered by a master in the subject.

por yui k

Jun 12, 2020

Watanabe Kazan's insights gave me something for current Black Lives Matter movements.

por Sandra R d C

Jun 25, 2020

The content is very interesting and well explained and many beautiful images, too.