Chevron Left
Volver a Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan por parte de Universidad de Tokio

4.8
estrellas
420 calificaciones
127 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Principales reseñas

DP

Oct 09, 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

SC

Sep 06, 2019

It has expanded my views not only on Japan Visual and Literary Culture but also has open for me a new way of looking at portraits in different cultures and times. Thank you so much

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 127 revisiones para Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

por Janna T K

Feb 26, 2018

An excellent course worth of seeing for anyone who is interested in oriental art.

por Tala B

Feb 07, 2018

An amazing and interesting demonstrations from Japanese visual art and culture

por Hayley H

Nov 18, 2017

Love the professor! He explains literature and arts so clearly and elegantly.

por Мальчикова С П

Oct 31, 2018

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

por Brian C S

Dec 07, 2017

Recommended for those interested in studying 19th century Japanese history

por spyridon c

Apr 20, 2019

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

por Carmen

Feb 22, 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

por Melina C K

Mar 06, 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

por Sagan-Indiana C

Aug 10, 2020

Loved it! Inspired a whole new literary area of research for me.

por Yuliya S

Oct 05, 2020

Loved it, Very interesting fantastic material, and explanation.

por Juyoung R

Jan 07, 2018

Very usful and informative course. Highly recommanded for

por Phyllis L S

Aug 02, 2020

Thank you for this delightful and stimulating course.

por JOHN Q

Sep 23, 2017

Enjoyable and interesting course. Thanks so much!

por Aleksandr Z

Aug 29, 2019

Engaging lecturer. Unique and interesting content.

por Syn-Ti L

Jan 06, 2018

Great introduction to Japanese art and literature!

por Luiza R V d C

Feb 15, 2019

Incrível, me ajudou muito com a minha pesquisa!

por DEEPA K

Jul 08, 2020

Informative and Knowledgeable course.

Thankyou.

por Alena R

Nov 02, 2018

Thank you! Brilliant course, very inspiring.

por ANDREA V C G

Jul 01, 2020

Excelente Curso, muy completo e inspirador.

por Janelle H

Sep 02, 2020

Very interesting and enjoyable. Thank you.

por Desmond Y

Jan 04, 2018

Comprehensive and precise in the teaching.

por K. L

Aug 23, 2020

Very interesting course. I learned a lot.

por Barbara K

Sep 21, 2018

charming course, beautifully presented

por Clarisa L

Apr 22, 2020

very good explanation and sources!

por Monika

Apr 18, 2020

Incredibly beautiful

Interesting