Chevron Left
Volver a Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan por parte de Universidad de Tokio

4.8
estrellas
491 calificaciones
156 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Principales reseñas

DP
8 de oct. de 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM
30 de nov. de 2020

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 156 revisiones para Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

por Giuliano B

16 de ene. de 2021

This is a fascinating cultural course that I have learned a lot. I am very grateful. Thank you

por Shohei W

18 de may. de 2020

Very good overview of relationship between Japanese photography and illustrations and texts

por Aurea L R

10 de feb. de 2019

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

por Ricardo M

30 de oct. de 2017

A great course with plenty of interesting data and delivered by a master in the subject.

por yui k

12 de jun. de 2020

Watanabe Kazan's insights gave me something for current Black Lives Matter movements.

por Sandra R d C

25 de jun. de 2020

The content is very interesting and well explained and many beautiful images, too.

por Janna T K

26 de feb. de 2018

An excellent course worth of seeing for anyone who is interested in oriental art.

por Daniel Y

19 de nov. de 2020

Fascinating, well edited, served in easy to digest bits, and very communicative.

por Mauricio U C

16 de ene. de 2021

Very enjoyable and full of interesting information. Allowed me to learn a lot.

por Tala B

7 de feb. de 2018

An amazing and interesting demonstrations from Japanese visual art and culture

por Hayley H

18 de nov. de 2017

Love the professor! He explains literature and arts so clearly and elegantly.

por Мальчикова С П

31 de oct. de 2018

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

por Brian C S

6 de dic. de 2017

Recommended for those interested in studying 19th century Japanese history

por spyridon c

20 de abr. de 2019

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

por Karolina U

25 de oct. de 2020

Very useful and interesting for me as a East Asian culture specialist :)

por Carmen

21 de feb. de 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

por Melina C K

6 de mar. de 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

por Sagan-Indiana C

10 de ago. de 2020

Loved it! Inspired a whole new literary area of research for me.

por Yuliya A S

5 de oct. de 2020

Loved it, Very interesting fantastic material, and explanation.

por Juyoung R

7 de ene. de 2018

Very usful and informative course. Highly recommanded for

por Phyllis L S

2 de ago. de 2020

Thank you for this delightful and stimulating course.

por JOHN Q

23 de sep. de 2017

Enjoyable and interesting course. Thanks so much!

por Aleksandr Z

28 de ago. de 2019

Engaging lecturer. Unique and interesting content.

por Syn-Ti L

6 de ene. de 2018

Great introduction to Japanese art and literature!

por Viktoriia S

6 de dic. de 2020

Very interesting course and lecturer. Thank you!