Chevron Left
Volver a The Art of Vocal Production

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Art of Vocal Production por parte de Berklee College of Music

4.7
196 calificaciones
63 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course addresses recorded vocal performances and the technologies used to highlight and support them in modern record production and mixes. Most of us know that vocals serve as the focal point of modern recordings but many do not know the tools used or when the tools are used best in modern record production. The course begins with simple vocal placement in a mix, where you will also learn the fundamentals of compression and equalization. You’ll further study delays and reverbs before moving to advanced concepts in audio editing, synthetic processing, automatic & graphic pitch correction, time compression, time expansion, flex and elastic audio. Through analysis and/or hands on projects that the students will post for peer review, the student will gain an understanding of the many choices available to modern record producers as they record and mix with a modern tool set. You’ll see, in action, the Vocoder, Auto-Tune, Melodyne, Elastic Audio, Flex Time, VocAlign, tempo based editing and a host of other file modification protocols that are readily available on most Digital Audio Workstations. This course gives students a thorough look at the expanded choices that have risen in the art of vocal production as a result of these modern tools. The goal of the course is to help interested novices understand the recordings they are listening to, performers find an expanded language for their recorded voices and for vocal producers to be able to create musically artistic visualizations using singers as their paintbrushes....

Principales revisiones

AE

Nov 27, 2018

This course was really fun, I have learned so much. And I am glad I took the time to complete it. I work with vocals all the time. And now I feel much more confident now. Thank you Mr Prince.

FD

Jan 12, 2019

Nice and interesting course about vocal production. Great tips and information in an introduction way. Amazing for first steps in music production.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 62 revisiones para The Art of Vocal Production

por Clarence M I

Nov 29, 2017

Would better if there was more application. Usually that's the style of these classes, and I followed a similar structure on my own—writing a song and applying the techniques to it. As a student I find having a final product or at least something that shows I have used what I learned very useful. It also makes peer reviews more interesting. Otherwise great course. Learned a lot!

por Koos J

Sep 20, 2017

Learned a lot, great course. Was hoping for a bit higher standard actually, but enjoyed it anyway.

por Nikita K

Feb 02, 2017

Unnecessary extra videos, that could and should be joined together. In particular, in lessons 2 and 3 all "topic introductions" could be joined with the following "let's discuss this topic inside a DAW" video.

Awful dynamic range. In some videos voice of lector is very quiet (-20 dB or less) and sound played from the DAW is much louder (around -6 dB). In other videos, the opposite: loud lector and quiet DAW. Change of microphone setup between intro video and "in the DAW" video is also very noticeable and distracting.

Repeats of repeats over repeats. This is not needed at all. I could repeat everything by myself, just pause video and replay interesting fragment. I don't need to be reminded how a single background vocal sounds or that we need to change panning each time we add new track. Yes, It should be done from time to time, but not each time. These repeats make the lessons unnecessary long, it feels I could have been told the same information in half of time or less.

This combines with very slow pace of a lector. I listened all lessons on 1.5 or even 2.0 tempo, just to not fall asleep.

Quizzes are strange. Stupid quesion appeared in quiz three: which key combinations we use in the videos? But why do you ever ask this, how this relates to the topic? I use another DAW in another OS, I even don't have a "command" key, I could have changed my hot keys, so your particular hot key setup is not any significance for me. I was expected to be quizzed for which parameters to tune, how it sounds and alike, not this particular crap. Trust me, anyone could figure which hot keys to use. I am not just a monkey, I have an ability to explore my software by myself, I don't need to be told how to copy and paste, and even if I need this I just go look in the manual.

por Latrish T B

Jun 14, 2019

The class is very informative and educational and it teaches you the basics and advances of The Art of Vocal Production.

por Milena P

Jun 11, 2019

Requires a little bit of knowledge about DAWs, especially Pro Tools.

If I hadn't taken classes on Pro Tools before I would have a hard time understanding and following what's being done during the course in order to achieve the concepts explained.

por Steveson

Apr 06, 2019

A must for beginners, Thanks to you sir and coursera.

por Mahmoud H

Feb 06, 2019

Perfect, i do recommend it.

por Karl D

Feb 01, 2019

Excellent course!!

por felip d

Jan 12, 2019

Nice and interesting course about vocal production. Great tips and information in an introduction way. Amazing for first steps in music production.

por Anerson E

Nov 27, 2018

This course was really fun, I have learned so much. And I am glad I took the time to complete it. I work with vocals all the time. And now I feel much more confident now. Thank you Mr Prince.

por Thomas C L

Nov 14, 2018

Awesome class.

por Jesus A P S

Oct 19, 2018

Excellent course, a must for music producers

por Jonathan P

Oct 14, 2018

Really well explained and taught!

por Alexander A

Oct 10, 2018

I can't express how much I love this class! I really enjoy all the offerings from Berklee on Coursera. This class exceeded any expectations I had and the instructor Prince Charles Alexander is amazing. I learned so much and had a ton of fun taking this course!

por Michael P M

Sep 15, 2018

It's a great course!

Thank you so much Coursera and Berklee for this opportunity for me.

Best wishes!

Michael Pedraza Mejia

por Jericho S

Sep 01, 2018

Great course. Got almost everything I needed to know. Prof. Prince Charles' teaching is very engaging and fun-yet-informative.

por Evgenii P

Aug 30, 2018

Great course, which gives the basic knowledge on the most important vocal production techniques.

por Daniel W

Jul 26, 2018

Nice!

por Tomislav

Jun 26, 2018

Great introductory course to vocal production. Highly recommended if you are a novice.

por Hai y

Jun 07, 2018

TQ

por OMAR Y G

May 05, 2018

awesome so far

por Alexey S

Apr 10, 2018

После прохождения этого курса появились не только новые, структурированные знания, но и освоена профессиональная терминология на английском. Спасибо!

por Geok L K

Apr 05, 2018

Instructor is both knowledgeable technically and has invaluable real word music experience. I enjoyed the course as a novice and learnt a lot from the techniques used in the industry. I can now listen to music in a more critical manner and understand what the producers and artists are trying to achieve.

por Mihail B

Mar 15, 2018

Strongly recommended!

por Sanilmon L

Mar 12, 2018

Awesome Course