Chevron Left
Volver a Building Web Applications in PHP

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Building Web Applications in PHP por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.7
estrellas
3,910 calificaciones
882 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you'll explore the basic structure of a web application, and how a web browser interacts with a web server. You'll be introduced to the request/response cycle, including GET/POST/Redirect. You'll also gain an introductory understanding of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), as well as the basic syntax and data structures of the PHP language, variables, logic, iteration, arrays, error handling, and superglobal variables, among other elements. An introduction to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) will allow you to style markup for webpages. Lastly, you'll gain the skills and knowledge to install and use an integrated PHP/MySQL environment like XAMPP or MAMP....

Principales reseñas

YY

9 de feb. de 2018

Even being quite an expert in area, I still enjoyed this course a lot and learning quite much from it as well. Highly recommended to everyone who developed an interest to PHP and web-applications.

VN

20 de feb. de 2018

Thanks for a great course by which I learn a lot of experience from the experts :-). One of the my assignments has been gradually developed into a more robust site at https://englishpicture.net

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 885 revisiones para Building Web Applications in PHP

por ISSAM T H

30 de ene. de 2018

Very good startup course.

por Dexter A

23 de ene. de 2018

Things went well most of the class but it can be a bit hand holding in some places and absolute sink or swim in the final week with many students struggling with the assignment and the forums being little help.

por ANIL K M

29 de may. de 2021

Instructor needs to pause at key topics and explain. Sometimes, I felt he was explaining to himself instead of explaining to viewer.

por Vladyslav T

16 de nov. de 2020

Very bad exercise and very little practise.

por Daniel S

5 de nov. de 2017

I always stayed away from php for the exact reasons he mentioned most people do in the beginning of the course. However, I needed to connect the dots between front end and server side and this is a great way to do it. Furthermore, learning a bit of php is beneficial regardless of whether you make it your primary language or not. I just wish he would relax on the sloppy penmanship and explain things a little bit clearer. You are a great gift to the programming community, for your python and now php/sql course. Thank you!

por Jimmy K A

19 de jun. de 2021

This course is awesome. Rather than going into much details about syntax, Instructure directly deep dive into main part. Assignments are challenging, but you get to learn lot and lot or things. Dr. Chuck is fantastic.

por Parikshith S

20 de jun. de 2021

Great course

por Aaron H

30 de dic. de 2018

If you have html and css behind you already you can easily complete this course in a weekend.

por Shubham S

4 de may. de 2020

not that much practical knowledge...

por Manav J

4 de feb. de 2018

basic course...good for beginners

por Ahmed A 2

14 de jul. de 2018

Superficial.

por Manoj K L

22 de jun. de 2020

Basic programs for php, were missing. Big problems were given as assignment, with no practice of small php problems.

por Olesya G

14 de mar. de 2020

Speaking too fast and all material are not organized.

por Will C

2 de ago. de 2019

very great prof. and the content is pretty good

BUT the teaching staff is awful and very very arrogant: if you just dare raising any issue from the forum, you will receive a condenscendant answer from Stephen Catto (a specialist in suddenly closing any thread that does not suit to his beliefs and accusing you of hijacking a thread when posting something related).

These guys don't even know how to send an email to the whole student community for relaxing them meanwhile the system being down, as they hide behind their forum.

Then, unfortunately whereas the curriculum is great and the professor really masters his field, if you have by misfortune to flag a bug (like with the autograder which was done), you will experiment how their ''teaching'' staff can be a disgrace.

por Hadi J

10 de dic. de 2020

It is not an advanced nor intermediate course. Just Good for beginners!

por Derrick E

6 de ago. de 2019

Poorly designed with no help from student helpers.

por Marwan A H A M

17 de mar. de 2022

V​ery little php and no javascript.

por E A

17 de jun. de 2020

not good

por Juan M R

3 de may. de 2018

This course is wonderfull.

I can see in the way he show the content; he have been doing this by years and years and he master it.

He go slow or fast , according to the complex of the matter.

In this course you will find some screen captures of code, and he will show you step by step how that code works.

The content are just the best you can get (music pictures etc..).

This course is a breaking point, for someone who have java or c knowledge

I made 200 web sites from 2008 to now running in apache, using php, and i have my own C.M.S. and i did not know the 98% of the power than php have , this course show me the moyo of php.

if i can travel in time and take a course in the past it will be this and get some bitCoins. =).

I'm just going true week 5 and i love it .

This course is much productive and useful, if you do it with some knowledge from before in java, python , c, c++ , or whatever .

This course is the result of years of thinking and developing. We will die and this course and some programs we will do in php will keep running in servers. This course show you hot to mix html and php. and introduce you in a way to work on db.

por Zachary C

3 de mar. de 2018

Dr. Chuck does what so many - including Codecademy - fail to do: teach a programming language while making sure his students really understand its context and use. In one video he explains how HTML, CSS, SQL, and PHP all play their role in the request-response cycle in loading a web page. On its own, that video has done more for me in terms of understanding the web and its languages than any other online course I've taken. To top that off, Dr. Chuck takes care to guide his students through the perks, quirks, and nuances of each language.

All in all, as someone who's failed to really engage myself in learning a new programming language after fiddling around with others for so long - since "beginner" courses tend to be light on everything but syntax - this course was nothing short of perfect for me. Thanks, Dr. Chuck!

por Fabio B S D R M

17 de ene. de 2018

Another "hit" from Dr. Chuck ( AKA Prof. Charles Severance) , this guy and his team are amazing. Too Much roots concepts given and Dr.Chuck has an amazing talent of explain what is important to learn, after that you can trail your own path. I think this is the 5th or 6th course that I take with Dr.Chuck and still fascinate by his way of teaching. Without mentioning that he is on development for such a long time that it seems he knows all programming languages. Words cannot express how grateful I'm to Dr.Chuck and Coursera people to give us this wonderful learning opportunity. It's very good to know that you can learn from the bests. Only who really wants to learn can understand that. Best Regards.

por Jack

7 de ene. de 2020

Good intro to PHP and server-side back-end development. This specialization uses the LAMP stack, and delves into the history of the internet too.

Course is a bit long because he reviews HTML5 and CSS3 at the start, but I strongly recommend knowing these before this course. You don't have to know/use JS until course 4 in the specialization. Might want to supplement with Hackerrank and work a dozen or so problems using PHP to get used to the quirky syntax.

por Ahmed A

18 de jul. de 2020

Yes take the specialization, yes the WHOLE specialization, not just this course. it will be worth it. However, don not start here until you have at least one programming language under your belt. The whole thing designed on the assumption that you are knowledgeable in at least one programming language, not experienced, but just knowledgeable. Also, if you are in for a full-stack career, start with font end first or at least its basics.

por Wayne D J

4 de oct. de 2019

A very good course in deed. A gentle introduction to PHP for complete beginners. I especially found the free text book very insightful and it helped me along in my studies. The assignments were not very difficult but just challenging enough to test one's programming skills. Above all, I really had fun learning from Mr Severence. His fun and quirky personality and teaching style made the course all the more enjoyable.

por Andres B

3 de mar. de 2018

Very smooth flowing, easy to follow. Great Profesor Chuck's insights, historic perspective which helps you remember stuff and practical knowledge. However, more study needed to master syntax and get used to the language at this point, is not that now I feel I can go ahead and start developing stuff but I feel I can easily understand something I see, a snippet or something I add to one of y websites,