Chevron Left
Volver a Designing Your Personal Weight Loss Plan

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Designing Your Personal Weight Loss Plan por parte de Universidad Case Western Reserve

4.1
estrellas
410 calificaciones
112 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This 5 week course will guide learners through the essential steps in planning an individualized weight loss program. There is no guarantee of weight loss through completing the course; learners will have the framework and essential components for an evidence-based weight loss program. This course is intended for healthy adults who do not have any chronic disease such as diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, lung disease or any others. In addition, this course does not provide information for people who have food allergies or intolerances. Losing weight and keeping it off requires planning and goal-setting. Crash diets or fad diets are ineffective and can be dangerous. This course provides evidence-based information for planning a weight loss program that is safe and effective in producing a one to two pound loss per week. This course will help learners establish the following: 1. A realistic goal weight with a specific plan for rate of weight loss and time frame for achieving goal weight. 2. A realistic goal for the frequency, duration, and intensity of exercise that will enable the learner to achieve and maintain the goal weight. 3. A specific set of strategies for grocery shopping, eating in restaurants, eating at social occasions, and dealing with hunger and emotional eating. 4. A plan for monitoring food intake, exercise and weight loss. 5. A plan for continued evaluation of progress to goals and strategies for adjusting goals for continued weight loss for the next 6 months or longer. 6. A thorough understanding of the difficulty of maintaining weight loss and a plan for maximizing the chances of keeping off the weight lost....

Principales revisiones

SS

Jul 07, 2020

As told by the instructor that we would enjoy the whole course, was amazing experience. I learnt with SWOT, how can we work upon reliable goal under time bound restriction. It enhance my knowledge.

MS

Jan 28, 2018

Superb! Taking this course with no serious plan, just a pure curious, but it turns out that I enjoy the material and trigger me to have a real weight loss plan.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 112 revisiones para Designing Your Personal Weight Loss Plan

por Jyoti J

Aug 24, 2020

Good course must go for it

por Venugopal B

Nov 15, 2019

Practical Course.

por Abigail S

Dec 12, 2017

its well done,

por Alexa B

Aug 09, 2019

it was nice

por Kenia L

Dec 26, 2016

Excelent!

por Jessica N

Apr 11, 2020

NA

por bayleighe

Jun 05, 2018

I really enjoyed the papers to fill out, and the section about figuring out why you eat the way you do, and the hunger scale and possible triggers for eating too much.

However, the website they recommended for tracking health (supertracker) is shutting down at the end of this month? If they could re-work that aspect of the course, so that it gives a website that's not about to shut down, then i'd give it 4 stars.

por Pat V

Mar 05, 2017

Very good information and resources provided. Unfortunately if you don't pay for the course you have no access to the assignments. This is the only course of several that I have taken where this is so. Surely, those non-paying students could still submit assignments, it is possible in other courses why not this one?

por Debora W

May 11, 2020

Good information, but some references for USDA resources that are used for assignments was discontinued years ago. The basic information is still helpful.

por Muthupriya S

Mar 31, 2017

Most of the information in the course are available online but still this course will help you align and organize your diet and exercise

por Neehar C

Jul 11, 2017

The course material has some great basics but some of the material has to be updated to reflect the latest research in the field.

por Jill R

Apr 19, 2017

Interesting but not much of the science behind it was included, personal choice, but I prefer more why with my what. Good tools.

por Penelope R

Jan 10, 2017

This is a good course, I would just do some things a little differently, for example, I don't agree with weighing oneself daily.

por meghna a

Dec 13, 2016

Good for a beginner. If you never read about weight loss anywhere, this course can help you. It provides the right guidance.

por Anna A

Jul 10, 2019

Gives you all the knowledge and tools to get started. A nice refresher if you already knew the material.

por Ana M S

Mar 21, 2019

existen recomendaciones que a la fecha no son actualizadas.

buen curso, corto, claro y preciso.

por ahmed f

Jan 25, 2018

It is a very nice course. but i think it needs to add more informations about nutritions.

por Alejandra A A

Aug 12, 2020

El curso esta bien, pero no es para mi.

Tiene paginas inhabilitadas.

Gracias

por Dr.Y. V H

Jun 29, 2020

its different types of food we eat

i could not complete it

por Neha R

May 30, 2020

Video lessons not in sync with the links.

por Nancy N

Sep 29, 2016

I think this information is very dated - Calories In/Calories Out, High Carb/Low Fat, recommending exercise to lose weight, vegetable oils recommended/animal fats denigrated . . . . so many recommendations that have little 'science' behind them, and which have not produced good results for 95% of the people who have used them. I've lost weight with a lower calorie diet and exercise, so, yes, it can work, but it is very difficult. I've kept it off easily for two years with a high fat/low carb eating plan. I've changed my exercise to mostly Pilates when my weight stabilized and I enjoy it enough to stay with it. knowing how difficult it is to stick to a low fat/high carb diet - which causes me to struggle with cravings, even when I am eating unprocessed organic seasonal local food - I hate to see a low fat diet recommended to people struggling with losing weight. I recommend "The Big Fat Surprise" and "Good Calories, Bad Calories" as an alternate view of healthy living.

por Janet T

Sep 04, 2017

Most of the course is common sense. The beneficial portion was the menu analysis. The information regarding leptin should have been left out as it more than cancelled any positive information gleaned from the course. In essence, it stated that once you reach a higher weight, your body will always try to get back to that weight no matter what you do; hence omitting this information or significantly downplaying it early in the course so other more positive messages would stick with the participant would have been more helpful. I felt this ended the course with a very negative send off. I now regret taking the course and I'm not sure if I'll take another

por Marie E B

May 19, 2017

The idea of the personalized weight loss plan is great, and the mantra "failling to plan is planning to fail" will certainly change my life, and the chapter about recover from relapses and avoiding collapses is really helpful.

But this course is for American only, the unit used are a nightmare to understand, and the food available on the tracking tool does not correspond to what I eat in Europe.

More disappointing: nothing is told about sugar whereas we know it is a main issue.

Any way, it was relatively fast and I've never been more motivated to exercise since I've learned 150min/week is the MINIMUM for loosing weight. Go go go !

por Brooke L

Jun 05, 2020

Many of the resources that they explain in detail no longer exist and they mention this so they are aware of the problem. They state that they are looking to fix this but the tracker site has been gone since 2018 so I do not think this is the case just something that they state to keep us from emailing them. Almost everything past week 3 utilizes this website that is gone or another where the information they tell you to go to no longer exists.

por Manoj B

Apr 01, 2020

Have completed the course last year on 'audit only' mode.Yet it is showing as 'overdue' , 'in progress'.I did not have access to peer review etc.It is not clear as to what part is overdue and is do-able too.

The course content is too U.S.A. oriented and does not cater to international scenario e.g.the diet suggestions are focussed on American food habits.