Chevron Left
Volver a A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.7
estrellas
422 calificaciones
139 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course follows the extraordinary development of Western Christianity from its early persecution under the Roman Empire in the third century to its global expansion with the Jesuits of the early modern world. We explore the dynamic and diverse character of a religion with an enormous cast characters. We will meet men and women who tell stories of faith as well as of violence, suppression, and division. Along the way, we encounter Perpetua and her martyrdom in Carthage; the struggles of Augustine the bishop in North Africa; the zeal of Celtic monks and missionaries; the viciousness of the Crusades; the visions of Brigit of Sweden; and the fracturing of Christianity by Martin Luther’s protest. We hear the voices of great theologians as well as of those branded heretics by the Church, a powerful reminder that the growth of Christianity is a story with many narratives of competing visions of reform and ideals, powerful critiques of corruption and venality, and exclusion of the vanquished. The troubled history of Christian engagement with Jews and Muslims is found in pogroms and expulsions, but also in the astonishing ways in which the culture of the West was transformed by Jewish and Islamic learning. We shall explore the stunning beauty of the Book of Kells, exquisitely prepared by monks as the Vikings terrorized the coast of England. We will experience the blue light of the windows of Chartres, and ponder the opening questions of Thomas Aquinas’ great Summa. We will read from the Gutenberg Bible of the fifteenth century, which heralded the revolution brought by the printing press. We will travel from Calvin’s Geneva to Elizabeth’s England to Trent, where a Catholic Council met to inaugurate a modern, missionary Catholic church. We will walk through the great Escorial of Philip II of Spain, hear the poetry of John of the Cross, and follow the Jesuits to Brazil and China. Christianity in the West was forged in the fires of conflict and tumult, and it brought forth both creativity and violence. It echoed with calls for God’s world to be transformed, it inspired the most sublime art and architecture, yet it also revealed the power of the union of cross and sword to destroy. The course is a journey through the formation of the West as one strand of Christianity, as one chapter in a global story. It is a journey that has shaped our world....

Principales reseñas

HU
5 de jun. de 2020

A very comprehensive, cohesive and resourceful overview of all the crucial events, main characters and key ecclesiastical developments that consolidated the Catholic Church in Europe and the Americas.

ES
22 de mar. de 2018

A great journey! Lots of information and bonus material! I'm very thankful for the course. It might be that the professor's speech is sometimes a bit difficult to follow, but it's a minor drawback

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 136 revisiones para A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650)

por John C

31 de oct. de 2017

I really enjoyed following this well-presented course. Despite the limitations of the format, the instructors came over very well. I had some knowledge of the subject from a particular viewpoint but I found I gained a broader understanding and more complete perspective on the development of Western Christianity through this course. Unfortunately the discussion forums really are not working well, with limited participation and virtually no responses from learners or instructors.

por Ande D

6 de may. de 2020

This course contains a great deal of information which can be overwhelming when taken as a whole but works perfectly in the bite-size pieces offered. I learned so much and feel like I've been on an amazing journey that encouraged me to branch out and learn more about some of the covered topics. I would love to take another course with this group in the future. Most assuredly one of the best online classes of this type that I have taken.

por Gloria V

21 de may. de 2020

muchas gracias por compartir excelente conocimiento, en mi idioma, en una forma clara de entender, buena metodología y dinámica, fue para mi gratificante tener el viaje a través del cristianismo occidental, con buen detalle, un abrazo y quedo muy agradecida. Felicidades a los que trabajaron para lograr mi oportunidad de estudiar.

por Marcelo B

9 de jun. de 2020

Excelente el Curso. Hace reflexionar sobre la historia del Cristianismo, en variados ámbitos: espiritual, político, sacramental, colonial, etc. Brinda mucha información, muy bien organizada y secuenciada. Un placer recorrerlo y mucho agradecimiento al profesor Gordon, a Nazanin y a Max.

Por muchos éxitos más.

Cordialmente.

por Eduardo J M S

25 de sep. de 2017

Beautiful course as a Christian missionary in Spain it open my mind of the rich tradition of christianity in arts and other disciplines, i will try to pursuit graduates studies in medieval mediterranean history and specialize in church history. Thank you and hope to see you Profesor bring some other related themes.

por Huijia W

27 de jul. de 2020

This is absolutely an excellent course! The course gives a strong sense of mainline development of the faith instead of overemphasizing on memorizing details, and it is easily comprehensible and perfectly suitable for students who know the basic timeline of European history but want to know more about the faith.

por James H

22 de may. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course and all of the bonus content. Dr. Gordon is very passionate in his lectures. Nazanin and Max also did a great job. I wish there was some follow up courses or a certificate to earn with this series. Thank you for the hard work in putting the course together.

por Sara H

1 de nov. de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone who wishes to explore the history of Christianity so as to get an overview of the subject. The material and the content of the lectures were very relevant and the course has sparked an interest to delve further.

por Jack B

21 de feb. de 2018

As someone who has grown up going to church, but not knowing anything about this subject, I found it an extremely useful and insightful introduction. The course covers the wide scope of Christian history in Europe and is very revealing. Thoroughly enjoyable and easy to follow.

por Christo S

13 de jun. de 2020

What a fantastic Journey for 1500 years. Without meticulous effort and commitment this course execution is impossible. I sincerely appreciate the Professor and team. Thank you so much for carrying this course without any boring figures in middle. I thoroughly enjoyed.

por Yury A M

8 de jun. de 2020

Quiero expresar mis felicitaciones por el curso, fue un buen repaso por la historia medieval, abordado con mucha seriedad desde diferentes contextos, filosofía, teología, historia, arte y lleno de apreciaciones personales que enriquecen el curso.

muchas gracias.

por Lloyd H

12 de sep. de 2020

The course is a comprehensive feast with huge amounts of information, broken down into edible pieces. It is not overwhelming. The mix of presentation, discussion and written information is balanced and ensures it does not get boring. Recommended.

por Joshua Y

2 de jun. de 2020

An excellent course for anyone interested in the development of Christianity through the ages. The lectures provided a very balanced and unbiased view and detailed analysis of Christianity as it spread from Jerusalem to other parts of the world.

por German C

12 de may. de 2020

Best one I have taken in this platform. Content was well researched and presented in an engaging manner. I was surprised by the number of things I did not understand or appreciated of my faith eventhough I have been a Xtian for 40 years.

por Agustin R

12 de jun. de 2020

Un agradecimiento para los que hicieron posible que pueda disfrutar de este curso, que me brindó una visión amplia del desarrollo y crecimiento del cristianismo a lo largo de la historia, con sus aciertos y errores. Muchas gracias!

por Zacarias G S

4 de ago. de 2020

Excelente curso, muy didáctico e instructivo, Mr. Gordon es un extraordinario instructor con mucho dominio del tema y muy didáctico. Lo recomiendo para todo aquel que le guste la historia antigua y los temas del la religión.

por Pinco P

13 de jun. de 2020

This course was great, perhaps one of the most interesting I've taken here on Coursera. Thank you professor Gordon and your assistants. Too bad it stops at 1650, I'd love to listen to more of the Christianity history.

por Sylvia S M

7 de nov. de 2018

I enjoyed the notes, the references the videos and professor. I learned a great deal about a subject I had some awareness of. A subject I am keenly interested in, as I pursue a career as a minister. Thank you.

por Ruth

11 de mar. de 2018

This is a really good course. While the readings were occasionally overwhelming (and dull), the content was generally interesting. I found the main lecturer to be particularly engaging.

por Alma W

20 de jun. de 2017

Well developed and presented course.. It'll be good to have it continued from 1650 to where the Christian faith is today. I'll be very interested to be part of it if it is developed.

por Candice T

4 de ago. de 2020

Loved the content as I am a woman of faith but also teach in a public school so learning the religious side of these events paired with the historical facts I teach was pretty cool.

por Kate S

4 de ene. de 2018

Very informative and engaging! The content of this course has helped me understand more of European history and will provide a good background for my upcoming travels.

por hendra m a

11 de oct. de 2017

Interested course. I learned a lot fro this course. I will recommend this course to my friends. So they will have a better understanding in history of Christianity.

por Giusi F

24 de mar. de 2018

Thank you for this course. I appreciated in particular the teaching of Prof. Gordon. Very clear also for a non English mother tongue and very expert of the theme.

por Pablo M

28 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed very much learning about the history of my faith teached with such knowledge and passion.

Tranks Bruce and team!

A big hug from Buenos Aires

PABLO MILLER