Chevron Left
Volver a A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.7
estrellas
422 calificaciones
139 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course follows the extraordinary development of Western Christianity from its early persecution under the Roman Empire in the third century to its global expansion with the Jesuits of the early modern world. We explore the dynamic and diverse character of a religion with an enormous cast characters. We will meet men and women who tell stories of faith as well as of violence, suppression, and division. Along the way, we encounter Perpetua and her martyrdom in Carthage; the struggles of Augustine the bishop in North Africa; the zeal of Celtic monks and missionaries; the viciousness of the Crusades; the visions of Brigit of Sweden; and the fracturing of Christianity by Martin Luther’s protest. We hear the voices of great theologians as well as of those branded heretics by the Church, a powerful reminder that the growth of Christianity is a story with many narratives of competing visions of reform and ideals, powerful critiques of corruption and venality, and exclusion of the vanquished. The troubled history of Christian engagement with Jews and Muslims is found in pogroms and expulsions, but also in the astonishing ways in which the culture of the West was transformed by Jewish and Islamic learning. We shall explore the stunning beauty of the Book of Kells, exquisitely prepared by monks as the Vikings terrorized the coast of England. We will experience the blue light of the windows of Chartres, and ponder the opening questions of Thomas Aquinas’ great Summa. We will read from the Gutenberg Bible of the fifteenth century, which heralded the revolution brought by the printing press. We will travel from Calvin’s Geneva to Elizabeth’s England to Trent, where a Catholic Council met to inaugurate a modern, missionary Catholic church. We will walk through the great Escorial of Philip II of Spain, hear the poetry of John of the Cross, and follow the Jesuits to Brazil and China. Christianity in the West was forged in the fires of conflict and tumult, and it brought forth both creativity and violence. It echoed with calls for God’s world to be transformed, it inspired the most sublime art and architecture, yet it also revealed the power of the union of cross and sword to destroy. The course is a journey through the formation of the West as one strand of Christianity, as one chapter in a global story. It is a journey that has shaped our world....

Principales reseñas

HU
5 de jun. de 2020

A very comprehensive, cohesive and resourceful overview of all the crucial events, main characters and key ecclesiastical developments that consolidated the Catholic Church in Europe and the Americas.

ES
22 de mar. de 2018

A great journey! Lots of information and bonus material! I'm very thankful for the course. It might be that the professor's speech is sometimes a bit difficult to follow, but it's a minor drawback

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 136 revisiones para A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650)

por Adler S

17 de sep. de 2020

A must take course for Christians who want to learn more about our illustrious history or non-Christians who want to learn some history for the heck of it.

por erich n

26 de mar. de 2018

This is a well thought out course, that offers real insight into the rise and growth of Christianity. It is well done, and offers great content.

por Patricia N W

4 de oct. de 2018

The presentation is superb and attention holding. I'm enjoying this class so very much. I would love more by this University and this Professor.

por Gerard K R

26 de ene. de 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed it! Liked its independent, no denominational leanings. Well paced. And good estimates of time commitments for the student.

por Syed A

5 de feb. de 2018

It was a good course! It really gave insight into early Christianity and the relationship amongst different groups in Western Europe as well.

por Osvaldo R E

4 de nov. de 2020

Doy gracias a los excelentes instructores que han expuesto de forma apasionante todo la historia cristiana a partir del año 200

por Bart S

7 de ago. de 2017

outstanding survey class: anyone that wants to understand Western Christianity would be well served to take this class!

por Diana L

29 de may. de 2017

Generously shared, vast exploration, deeply knowledgeable teaching, excellent references for further study. Thank you!

por Sophie W

30 de mar. de 2019

Excellent thousand foot view of roughly 1400 years of Western Christianity, covering a huge number of critical events.

por Mary C

10 de sep. de 2017

This was an excellent course. The material was presented well and I learned so much about the subject matter.

por Christy L

17 de jun. de 2017

I very much enjoyed this course and the in-depth look at various Christian personalities throughout history.

por Paul H

11 de abr. de 2017

Excellent course. Very informative. Great survey of a lot of information. Excellent production quality.

por Sissi D

17 de sep. de 2020

Excellent! I loved content, resources, teachers and videos. Thank you very much for the opportunity.

por Isabella C

13 de ago. de 2017

Great beginners' course to learn about Christianity. Very comprehensive content and easy to follow.

por Rania B

20 de dic. de 2017

Amazing course. Very well structured and rich with information. Exactly what i was looking for!

por Tony B

15 de abr. de 2020

A terrific programme of study. Diligent and detailed. A professional team and quality work.

por monideepa m

24 de ago. de 2020

I learnt a lot about the birth, growth, and spread of Christianity in the world from Asia.

por Daniel A R D

12 de jul. de 2019

Fue un curso genial, sin embargo con una visión parcializada de la historia de la iglesia.

por Neil K

17 de abr. de 2018

Just superb. Engaging lucid speakers, vast scope of subject matter, lucidly spoken about.

por Keith H

17 de jun. de 2020

Wonderful course, informative, engaging and the art used in the lectures was supreme!

por Neelam P

26 de mar. de 2018

Great course to get you introduced to the first Millenia of Christianity in the west!

por Gladys N G D

6 de jul. de 2020

MUY BUENO. ME GUSTO MUCHO. VIAJE EN EL TIEMPO Y POR LOS LUGARES QUE NOS MOSTRARON.

por Adriana A

1 de oct. de 2017

It was a great course! I enjoyed it a lot, it helps me to understand many things.

por barton f

16 de may. de 2017

Not only an excellent survey, but ties the "threads" together, making Christianit

por Yeap K P

26 de abr. de 2017

A very good course! Thank you so much for putting the rich contents all together!