Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Corporate Finance

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Corporate Finance por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
5,381 calificaciones
1,081 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course provides a brief introduction to the fundamentals of finance, emphasizing their application to a wide variety of real-world situations spanning personal finance, corporate decision-making, and financial intermediation. Key concepts and applications include: time value of money, risk-return tradeoff, cost of capital, interest rates, retirement savings, mortgage financing, auto leasing, capital budgeting, asset valuation, discounted cash flow (DCF) analysis, net present value, internal rate of return, hurdle rate, payback period....

Principales reseñas

LL

21 de oct. de 2016

The professor is very patient, he spends a lot of time making sense of the equations and the calculation process, which helps me comprehend the concepts and their application really a lot. Thank you!

ZZ

26 de sep. de 2021

An excellent course overall. I really enjoyed the learning experience and look forward to more courses from Wharton. Special thanks to professor Michael Roberts for providing great value in 1 course.

Filtrar por:

901 - 925 de 1,073 revisiones para Introduction to Corporate Finance

por prince

18 de ene. de 2016

Good Course.

por Patrick R

11 de ene. de 2022

Pretty good

por ramesh

25 de may. de 2016

Nice course

por Marcos R D

16 de jun. de 2020

nice

por Duong N T

4 de ene. de 2016

Easy

por Mohd A S

23 de ago. de 2021

G​G

por Luisa R R

2 de oct. de 2019

R

por Hernando E

27 de abr. de 2020

Don't attempt this course without at least a basic knowledge of corporate and finance terminology, basic algebra, and the algebraic order of operations.

The material is covered far too quickly for an actual beginner in the field to keep pace.

Although few in number, the questions on the quizzes generally required computations (rather than answering multiple choice questions). The passing scores for the quizzes was lower than any other course I have taken.

There is no specific feedback given for incorrect answers on any of the quizzes (which is not unique to this course).

The professor is very knowledgeable and passionate about the subject. I just wish that the course description had been more candid about the range of information a student should have before enrolling in it.

por David G

10 de mar. de 2021

Course was great! Professor made everything really easy to understand. Would have given it 5 stars if it were not for some unfortunate missing elements in the course. Repeatedly throughout practice problem sets are mentioned but not provided and nowhere to be found on coursera. Several of the quizzes had errors as well which was very frustrating. The errors in the quizzes were quite not the type of errors I would expect from an learning platform. The biggest problem was that the correct answer of some of the questions which were all multiple choice was not even an available choice! I urge the coursera team to take a better look at this material. Otherwise great course very informative.

por Matthew P B

9 de ago. de 2020

Learn some things about the finances of companies in general, especially if you're one to take on new project instead of established companies. Questions on quizzes sometimes weren't worded correctly and, in comparison to the operations management course, can be misled to what the question is asking. For example, there was a question on module 4 that asked for the free cash flow but didn't establish the specifics of the cost. Was it accrued from the initial investment or not? Had to retake to play out the scenarios to get the correct answer on a component. Also, quizzes could have been more thorough. But I did learn quite a bit about how companies make decisions.

por Minas-Marios V

22 de sep. de 2017

Although this is a very interesting course, covering a multitude of topics that are really useful for both corporate and personal finance, I think it needs polishing in terms of its execution. The teaching is not quite engaging, mostly repeating everything his lecture slides contain, and some concepts could use further explaining, considering this is an introductory course.

Still, I think it is really useful if you have taken another course in Corporate Finance and need some refreshing on your knowledge. I think it is not the best for an introductory course on the topic, but still offers much within its 4 weeks.

por Camilla L

27 de jun. de 2021

Overall this was a useful and well-articulated introduction to Corporate Finance, however, it was let down substantially by the extraordinarily poor weekly quizzes. They seemed to get worse as the weeks went on culminating in the final week where only ~40% of the correct answers were actually credited, meaning that passing was more a process of elimination than a reinforcement of the learned principles. This problem seems to have been raised numerous times on the forum with absolutely no effort made to address the issue. If this could be fixed then this would be a 5-star course.

por JINYING G

16 de mar. de 2021

The lecturer gave great lessons, but the difficulty level of this module did not match my expectation. The knowledge included was very basic, similar syllabus to its previous module - introduction to fundamentals of finance. It was even simpler than the fundamentals. The quizzes each week was annoying. Starting week 2, several multiple choice questions did not provide me with correct answers to choose. I spent lots of time checking my calculations and then realised it was the paper's problem when I looked at the forum in which other students reported same problems.

por 张旭

21 de jun. de 2020

Though useful but the questions and tests are truly too easy to get through. The teacher could make the lesson more vivid and better organized. You see the neighboring Mr. Bushee makes the accounting class more attractive. Moreover, I highly recommend Finance for Non-Finance Professionals from Rice University which is closer to business practice.

As for Mr. Robert, I can feel you are very professional with solid finance and investment knowledge, and also handsome. However you are more like a banker rather a professor that shall more interactive with students.

por Sarah H

2 de oct. de 2020

I had a really hard time with this class. The professor seemed very nice but it would have been helpful to have more sample problems with more examples of which formulas to use and how to fill them out with the given data. Several of the quizzes had typos in the questions and a few didn't have the correct answer available as an option in the multiple choice at all (confirmed by the discussion group - it wasn't just me). Overall, I learned some things but I feel like there could have been more real world examples and the lessons could have been more clear.

por Leon M

3 de sep. de 2018

I felt a little rushed and sometimes had the feeling of just getting formulas thrown at me. I am usually very interested in Finance but the Prof made it a little monotone. This is probably due to the fact that he seemingly recorded all the lecture videos in one go without a day break, which resulted in some difficulties to communicate a sophisticated field as such.

Other than that, I think the introduction is a great preparation for attending a business school, which is the case for me, giving me some insights and knowledge of the expected topics.

por Manoj G

1 de ago. de 2019

Though the content is informative, the teaching method was neither engaging nor interesting unlike the "introduction to financial accounting" course. Also, I was uncomfortable with the professor's way of writing things down (with a red market) on almost every slides, when those could have simply been part of the slide preparation. This slowed down the narrative pace and made the course less interesting to follow. Otherwise, I benefited from the course for the reason why i took this course; preparation for bschool.

por Nhi Đ H

1 de ago. de 2021

the lectures and prof are so great but quizzes are very bad. There are tons of questions that have wrong answers( sometimes I think that they just give me a random number). Fortunately, I picked random choice for those and I got right answers while I didn't know why =)).

So disappointed with staffs of the course. They do not fix these wrong quizzes and do not reply any questions in discussion forum for a long time.

I hope you all think careful before enroll to this course if you want to earn a certificate.

por Ritesh G

4 de mar. de 2022

The Introduction to Corporate Finance course explains the financial notions well and their applied scope cautiously. Prof Michael R Roberts clearly states the underlying assumptions of the forecast drivers during valuation. He intensively ascribes the calculations and formulae. Moreover, the comprehensive discussion forums bridged the gap between the course concepts and the shortcomings of the quizzes. Overall, the stipulated syllabus is delivered with patience to introduce one to finance.

por Dylan F

18 de feb. de 2016

Overall the course was well taught and the content was interesting. However, it would have been valuable to see the correct answers for quiz questions that were not answered correctly. If correct answers are not provided because of a concern that people would write them down and then retake the quiz, I understand, but I think this could be mitigated by only showing the correct answers after you have passed the quiz. I think I could have learned a bit more if this were the case.

por Jo E

7 de mar. de 2022

I​ really appreciate Professor Roberts' style and practical use cases. However, the unit quiz has several errors in it (Questions 3 & 8 - I also thought there was an error in question 2 although fewer students have raised that one in the forum) and despite responding to complaints in the comments months ago, Coursera has yet to resolve the issue. For that reason, proceed with caution. The content is solid, but you'll spin your wheels a bit trying to learn via the quiz.

por David B

27 de may. de 2018

informative, ground-level education in basic finance theorem. however, be aware that this is a rush-through synopsis of some very basic ideas with minimal feedback from very busy faculty staff from one of the most prestigious educational facilities in the world. i.e. don't expect a thorough explanation of these concepts, and don't expect ANY support. With that said, i have enjoyed myself immensely. Wish i could afford to get myself over to U Penn!

por Antonio V

11 de sep. de 2016

Nice Course, however i did the same one last year and tests now are much easier, also the load work did reduce dramatically.

The previous version of the course was hard work ,but definitely you could learn more. A university like Wharford should not lower the standard of their exams or of their courses to accomodate larger audience, or make more money. If people do a Whatford course, even if it's an online one they need to accept the challenge.

por Jingxia P

9 de ene. de 2016

After completing accountingI just jump into Finance course. Compared to accounting session, this course session does not pause to the places where students might have confusions, which might be a disadvantage. The professor illustrate most of concepts clearly, though.

As for the exam questions, seems to simplified and only cover, I guess, 30% of the course content. There are a lot of concepts can be given as harder questions for exam, imo.

por 20-UMT-330 A P

26 de mar. de 2022

While the teaching was very compact and top-notch, the quizzes and the assignments were very basic and not even challenging. There were MANY errors in the entire module of quizzes and sometimes it's just frustrating. The assignments, the discussion forum and the staff service were really basic. It also seemed that the course was of something else and they just copied and pasted the lectures here. Overall, very average experience.