Chevron Left
Volver a Managing Social and Human Capital

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Managing Social and Human Capital por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.5
estrellas
2,342 calificaciones
401 reseña

Acerca del Curso

People are the most valuable asset of any business, but they are also the most unpredictable, and the most difficult asset to manage. And although managing people well is critical to the health of any organization, most managers don't get the training they need to make good management decisions. Now, award-winning authors and renowned management Professors Mike Useem and Peter Cappelli of the Wharton School have designed this course to introduce you to the key elements of managing people. Based on their popular course at Wharton, this course will teach you how to motivate individual performance and design reward systems, how to design jobs and organize work for high performance, how to make good and timely management decisions, and how to design and change your organization’s architecture. By the end of this course, you'll have developed the skills you need to start motivating, organizing, and rewarding people in your organization so that you can thrive as a business and as a social organization....

Principales reseñas

DM

19 de oct. de 2018

Excellent Course. Understanding human behavior is one of the most difficult challenges in an organization. This course describes the challenges well and offers approaches to tackling those challenges.

J

4 de nov. de 2019

A fantastic, thought provoking course. Gave us a lot of things to reflect on and be mindful of in different situations in the organization. Thank you Prof Cappelli and Prof Useem. Grateful to you.

Filtrar por:

376 - 400 de 401 revisiones para Managing Social and Human Capital

por Amy T Z

13 de feb. de 2020

I was hoping this course would go deeper into psychological managing. This course seems better suited to just learning the architecture of the building departments.

por Jonah R

1 de jul. de 2020

Case studies were good but it was otherwise a very theoretical course and didn't often feel like it could be boiled down to everyday application.

por alessandro v

1 de dic. de 2021

Long story telling with some case studies from real business world. Not so well and clearly structured in my view for long lasting takeaways.

por Rahul S

23 de jun. de 2020

The notes from Mike were not very interactive. ALso the flow of Mike's presentation was not captivating

por Sandra C

21 de may. de 2021

While information from one teacher was easy to understand, the other was a bit harder to figure out.

por Roman P

20 de ene. de 2018

Great introduction. A bit more depth and breadth (ie. 8 week course) would be terrific!

por Gusen Y

19 de ene. de 2018

Way too easy and general...I wanna learn more from the instructors.

por Gil R

19 de dic. de 2016

I think more examples would have been better for the class.

por Balazs M

4 de ago. de 2017

Thought provoking albeit at times vague and dragged out.

por Jordan X R

24 de mar. de 2020

It started off strong but lost momentum.

por Kyle N

22 de sep. de 2019

Could be a bit more interesting

por Marc T

19 de dic. de 2019

Content is too anecdotal.

por Nolan S

13 de jul. de 2020

Boring!

por Niwech H

19 de nov. de 2016

5 points out of 5 for professor Peter. 1 point out of 5 for professor Mike. The first 2 weeks were good as professor Peter presented with very brief and sum up the ideas. On another hand, the last 2 weeks were bad, professor Mike didn't do well in term of summary. He spent 70% for introduction of each topic before reaching to the points that he want to make. Most of the time, he didn't make any points. Plus he didn't answer the questions that he asked. I am disappointed. I was expecting to learn more as the course structure was impressive BUT the actual lectures are not covered the topic.

por Steve M

21 de abr. de 2020

This is a survey course. It uses several simple case studies to explain some basic points, but does not go into detail in any particular area. For example the course does not explain well different organizational models or their strengths and weaknesses (functional, regional, etc). I expected more than a cursory mention of matrix management, which is powerful but complex to implement well. There are no hands-on activities other than quizzes at the end of the week. The subtitles are broken and/or of poor quality in several of the videos.

por Q W

15 de nov. de 2020

Taking this course as part of the series of courses offered by Wharton on intro to business. I'm coming from engineering background so not sure if this is true to everyone, but I feel this course does not offer much in-depth on those topics, it's just a slight touch on the surface of those. Among the series of courses I've took so far I fee the accounting course is definitely the No.1 among all others, no doubt at all.

por Janice A

4 de may. de 2020

I think the Professors are both great and well-knowledged, but I find that the presentation of the material could have been better. I find that case studies took too much time to present and discuss, and I also think that the quizzes do not highlight the importance of the materials. The quizzes contain too many trivial questions and those that do not have much added value to the learning experience.

por celine

15 de jul. de 2019

great theory and principles but could be a little more tactical and related to real case scenarios of the working environment. such as: how to manage your bosses as well as react to peers when competition exists though team work must prevail. How to handle medium performers. How to handle politics in the offices when bosses use preferences and similarity concepts.

por yc19f

18 de ene. de 2020

It was a very general overview through human resource management. Hope that more insights could have been offered by providing more concrete strategies. Also, it would be a plus to offer recommended readings for the topic.

por Samantha B

22 de abr. de 2020

I didn't quite feel I left with a sense of practical knowledge on how to manage or build the architecture of an organization.

por Eoghan C

22 de ago. de 2017

felt a bit dated. older materials, older case studies and examples. all quizing should be a little tougher i thought.

por Keiji H

14 de oct. de 2017

Explaining many abstractive things with a couple of concrete actual stories and less correct materials.

por YUN L

3 de sep. de 2017

the course is poorly structured. the videos are lack of well-organization and the slides are poorly written. The lecturer teaches in a way that's so hard to follow with tedious cases. Avoid this one and seek for other alternatives.

por Mohammed J

20 de may. de 2020

Both the professors had a very dull and monotonous teaching style.

por Ivaylo Y

12 de dic. de 2016

very low length to content ratio; basic content