Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.4
estrellas
1,714 calificaciones
407 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Principales reseñas

AD
25 de mar. de 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

CW
1 de feb. de 2020

I loved this course! So many interesting things to think about, thoughtfully explained by brilliant instructors. The puzzles really get you thinking. Such genius to put them before the lectures!

Filtrar por:

351 - 375 de 399 revisiones para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

por Animesh S

23 de jun. de 2020

It's hard to cope up with someone who didn't study math in the past. Course content is not sufficient according to the problem sets. I had to look for references to the video and then would understand everything completely. Honestly, I wouldn't recommend it for a non-math person

por Aditya D

14 de jun. de 2020

The course material is great! Also the way the course was planned is commendable. The course instructors especially Prof Alexander Shen are hard to understand most of the times when they explain a certain concept. The explanations by instructors need to improve.

por Mohamed A J

7 de dic. de 2018

It's a very stimulating course, though not caring for students much. The material sometimes should elaborate more on concepts, say in week 6, it should've been clearer to student what are permutations in a clearer sense.

por Omar G

27 de jul. de 2020

The course material is great but they should improve the explanations and practice what they go to say before film the lessons. Making too many mistakes while explaining math concepts ends up confusing the students.

por Naveen R

28 de jul. de 2020

It certainly was an intriguing course, and there were good puzzles which I have liked. However, I felt a little disappointed because the class ended so abruptly, and I am not sure how much new math I have learned.

por Filip C

26 de may. de 2020

Очень уважаю Александра Шень, учился по его учебнику, очень нравится его манера преподносить материал. Однако очень разочаровали остальные лекторы. (Уровень английского, материал и манера преподавания)

por Sumit A

4 de jun. de 2018

The lectures were really good, however explanation of more exercises would be a bit helpful as the videos are fairly short, I had problem understanding some of them due to limited number of examples.

por yk

25 de mar. de 2020

The material was interesting however the instructor Alexander Chen was incomprehensible. He was unable to verbalize a thought or explanation without sounding nonsensical.

por Novak D

30 de mar. de 2020

I wish it went a bit more in-depth. I also wish there were more examples to practice. Overall, however, it was a good course, I have learned a lot.

por Nitish

20 de abr. de 2020

It's really very interesting course. I hope you all enjoy this course.

logical and interesting subject.

por Neeraj G

10 de feb. de 2020

The course was very basic for me when I compared the material with the book of Discrete Mathematics

por Shashwat P

4 de sep. de 2020

Last week was a bit confusing because the concept of permutation and cycles are mixed I guess.

por Ambarish B

24 de ago. de 2019

The lectures aren't good and the assignments are not well explained as to what we need to do.

por Erickson N R I

25 de oct. de 2020

I didn't really get the lessons. The instructors weren't confident in teaching their topics.

por Hea R W

17 de sep. de 2019

The quiz were all very interesting, but sometimes it was hard to understand the lecturers...

por Trần C L

19 de oct. de 2019

Good course with many interesting quizzes although it is lacking of clear explanation

por Megui

23 de abr. de 2020

Last 3 weeks were not engaging at all, the first 3 were amazing (my opinion)

por Ghali L H

9 de sep. de 2020

Explanations of Puzzles are not always clear.

Week 6 is very complex.

por sathyamoorthi M

9 de jun. de 2020

Good explanations .Last two weeks aren't clear enough to understand.

por Shambhav A

3 de ago. de 2020

lectures, particularly by alexander vhen, were good!

por Jamil R

20 de may. de 2020

language is not clear always ..it can be better

por Joseph G R M

28 de jul. de 2020

I didn't understand clearly the use of proof

por Raj K S

23 de ago. de 2020

Explanations not clear

por Jyh1003040

17 de jun. de 2020

The course is fun!

por JAMI S V L T

30 de nov. de 2020

Good Mind teasers