Chevron Left
Volver a Wood Science: Beyond Building

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Wood Science: Beyond Building por parte de Universidad de Virginia Occidental

4.6
estrellas
442 calificaciones
132 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

Principales reseñas

DB

Jun 05, 2020

I am glad that I took this informative course. This course is useful to each and every people irrespective of their academic background and interests. It is good course regarding wood and its uses.

CZ

Feb 12, 2020

As a Civil Engineering student, this course has been very helpful for me. I do recommend to have this course in order to get the basic concept of wood science and its use as a building material.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 132 revisiones para Wood Science: Beyond Building

por Rajasekhar R

Apr 26, 2020

Thank you so much. Excellent lectures. Clear explanations in a practical view.

Thanks alot to coursera for providing this platform to learn.

Thanks to instructors

por Ravi C

Jul 27, 2020

Few words are not just enough to say if you love the nature and environment for this course, it is a really very informative course. Thanks for the course

por Margaret

Apr 24, 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!

An awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.

THANK YOU.

por PARVATHY G R

Sep 14, 2020

this is an awesome course.I really get some variety experiences the information about wood.wood is not simple subject.it has a vast to study

por Rangani s p

Apr 15, 2019

It is a very useful topic to everyone. It explains about the how human damage environment. And how we regulate the wastages of wood

por Laura K

May 20, 2020

Loved the course, so interesting and insightful. Very helpful for someone in the design/furniture/architecture industry.

por Vinicius P M R

Jun 20, 2020

It is an amazing course. I learned a lot about wood science and probably I'll apply some knowledge in my work now.

por Dana L

Jun 22, 2019

I loved the course. Very informative, I shared some resource links with my mothernatureus facebook fanpage too.

por Yugantara K

May 02, 2020

It was awesome experience during this course.I got to know many things related to wood.Thank you so much

por Aditya r

Sep 08, 2020

it is a very good course especially for civil engineers. this course has a lot of learning experience

por Kalliopi K

Mar 26, 2018

Great course for introduction to forestry with many information about wood science. GREAT teachers !

por Jeyhun R

Nov 28, 2019

It is not only theoretically but also practically educational. Thank you for such amazing course.

por Sagar S

Jun 28, 2020

Great course to learn more about ecology of woods and its engineering aspects and utilization!

por Julurueswari p l

Jun 01, 2020

I learnt so many things about wood how it useful ,so I enjoyed this course while I listening

por MOHAMED M P

Sep 23, 2020

This course is a great opportunity to learn wood technology and a very good presentation.

por Catherine M B J

Sep 14, 2020

Thank you for all the knowledge that you shared to the students. God bless and More Power.

por Bishesh S

Jul 29, 2020

I really like the quizzes in the middle of the video, it compels viewers to stay focus.

por ANJANA S P

Sep 17, 2020

This was very helpful to me .from this course i understood deeply about wood science.

por Rajeswari v

Jun 20, 2020

Very good course and it is very useful to me. Thank you for keeping this course

por Jason D M

Sep 04, 2019

A few of the external links are missing, the course is relaxed and well taught.

por Richard W

May 27, 2017

Very interesting course. The instructors, Larry and Jeff, were both excellent.

por Laura C

Feb 07, 2018

Highly recommended to those interested in learning the basics on wood science.

por Haotan S

Apr 21, 2020

Very good basic knowledge for wood science as an introduction level course

por Diego X V A

Sep 25, 2020

This course was Amazing, but please update some link that are unavailable

por shravani g

Jul 05, 2020

course gave a lot new information to me that was more helpful. Thank you