Chevron Left
Volver a Wood Science: Beyond Building

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Wood Science: Beyond Building por parte de Universidad de Virginia Occidental

4.6
estrellas
409 calificaciones
121 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

Principales reseñas

DB

Jun 05, 2020

I am glad that I took this informative course. This course is useful to each and every people irrespective of their academic background and interests. It is good course regarding wood and its uses.

CZ

Feb 12, 2020

As a Civil Engineering student, this course has been very helpful for me. I do recommend to have this course in order to get the basic concept of wood science and its use as a building material.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 123 revisiones para Wood Science: Beyond Building

por Adlin N C

Jun 01, 2020

Informative course

por Jensen

Mar 20, 2020

Great, fun course!

por YASHDEEP S

Sep 16, 2020

Very well taught

por S. M S

Jun 25, 2020

Good instructors

por G .

Jun 01, 2020

it was helpful

por Niranjani B

Aug 11, 2020

Knowledgeable

por OBIEME E D

Jul 16, 2020

very helpful

por ANAND. T

Jul 20, 2020

Nice course

por Santiago M

May 21, 2020

nice course

por Adnan L

Aug 31, 2020

EXCELLENT

por Diyora P K

Jun 22, 2020

excellent

por Sreemathi G S

May 04, 2020

Awesome

por PAVANKUMAR D

May 21, 2020

Good

por karthik k m

Apr 26, 2020

Good

por Krish K

Apr 24, 2020

Osm

por Daniel M

Aug 08, 2020

As a Civil Engineering student this course gave me a lot of information about wood both as a resource and as a building material, even though a lot of it was common knowledge. Even for me as someone who isn't a native english speaker everything was easy to understand. Unfortunately some of the links were dead or lead to empty pages. There were times where the audio was very hard to understand but with the included script it wasn't hard to figure out what they were talking about.

All in all a very informative course for everyone who wants to learn a little bit about wood as a building material. Just don't expect it to make you a timber engineer

por Ogreits

Jul 23, 2017

Great content. I would like to suggest diving deeper into some of the North American silviculture practises and forestry operations as well as roundwood measurement and sawmill business. That could be a nice insight for the forest industry people here in Europe. Thank you for your work and I'm looking forward to the next "Wood Science & Forestry" course.

por tommaso b

Jul 03, 2017

In my opinion the course is very interesting. One reason is that it gives you insights into a topic which is not normally in the mainstream. Also it is strongly connected with social, economical and environmental themes. I would recommed the course to anybody interested in the world of wood production, use and the links to nowadays impacts on economics.

por Looi C M

Sep 20, 2020

Well done! Lots of useful information and to learn about how to make good use of wood that build into products. Lecturers have provided many examples and elaborations with wood samples really make learning more fun.

por Toni K

Jul 21, 2017

Great advanced course in wood science! Fits best for the person with at least basic knowledge of timber and use of it. If you are a newbie with timber, no problem; you'll get the point and maybe some great ideas.

por Sagiraju L p

Jul 26, 2020

The course was really informative to me. As a civil engineering student I could know the importance of the most important building material I. E wood and it's types and uses and it's climatic conditions etc.

por Helen

Feb 03, 2020

I like course very much. Nice to see and hear proffesionals. I want more information about Forest/Wood plantation managment in the future. A big intrigue was put in the course. Recomended.

por Andrew H

Feb 15, 2018

Several of the links were dead, but other than that, great information in a very easy to follow manner. I especially enjoyed the questions during the video. Those helped tremendously.

por Md M N K

Aug 25, 2020

The audio quality of voice during the presentation videos were not very clear. Sometimes not clearly audible as well. But the content was good anyways. Got to know many things.

por Dana C

Jan 26, 2018

Very informative. Production value lower than what I've previously seen in other courses but it seems to work for this course, and give it an underlying charm.