Chevron Left
Volver a Writing Stories About Ourselves

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Writing Stories About Ourselves por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.3
estrellas
26 calificaciones
15 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In this course, creative nonfiction writers will explore traditional storytelling methods, especially those which overlap between fiction and memoir. By looking at examples from a wide range of genres, including film, song, painting—even the theme music for Jaws!—we’ll practice exercising the creative muscle that sees ourselves as characters and the experiences we’ve had as tales. We’ll focus on critical elements, like how to begin a story, what makes for worthy content, the essential use of detail, the strengths and limits of dialogue, the power of the white space. The ultimate goal is for us to become aware of an “audience” when we write, so that the documentation of our lives will begin to resemble a “performance” crafted onto paper rather than a private entry in a journal....

Principales revisiones

RL

Jan 22, 2019

This class series was clearly presented and I learned a great deal that I will take with me and continue to used to improve my writing.

MW

Feb 19, 2019

Said is an incredible teacher. He speaks with such insight and passion. Inspiring.

Filtrar por:

1 - 16 de 16 revisiones para Writing Stories About Ourselves

por Racquel P

Jan 15, 2019

While I enjoyed the instructor, lessons and exercises of this course, I was very disappointed in how it was conducted. There was little to no interaction on the forums during the class, so pertinent questions went unanswered and there were many instances where I was simply left to assume or guess in order to continue with the course. The help center was only so helpful, no fault I suppose of their own, but instead how Coursera is set up. Certain vital links were missing, links that were necessary to lessons and assignments but the most frustrating aspect of the experience was that each assignment rested heavily on peer evaluation amongst the class-- and not only did I receive little to no feedback from fellow students, but I was unable to meet the requirement of completing three peer evaluations for each assignment because there were not enough submissions. This is either because there were not enough students enrolled in the course, or because those enrolled did not submit or there was something blocking the communication between us. Whatever the reason why the issue occurred, it did have a large impact on the enjoyment of the class and what I took away from it. I would like to continue with Coursera and am reaching out to you with the hopes that something can be done to remedy this unfortunate and, I'm hoping, rare instance of the Coursera experience. Thanks so much for any consideration, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Racquel Postiglione

por silvia s

Apr 23, 2020

Mr Sayrafiezadeh is missing in action, I will probably not receive my Certificate within the four weeks of the course, despite I submitted my assignments in two and did my peer-reviews in three!

I would like to have your help and avoid I pay for a second month of tuition.

Mr Sayrafiezadeh has never taken part to any discussion, never moderated nor replied to any of the forum requests/questions (I encourage you to scroll down the comments on the forum in the last five/six months. Not once, Mr Sayrafiezadeh has replied to anyone reaching out for him), links or documents he mentions in his videos are in facts not attached to the materials provided for the course. No email/contact other than his personal website is available on the course.

Moderating the Forum is crucial to keep people engaged and have the course at pace. Even more, when the final grade depends upon the peer-reviews. I am dissatisfied.

por Kat

Dec 10, 2018

Interesting way to look at memoire writing and I enjoyed the interviews. But there was something that I was missing. Can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe the psychological angle.

por John E P

Nov 13, 2019

This was a most useful course. I particularly liked "What can we learn from Fiction?", "The most important person...", I want to know what happens next", Judging a Story by its Opening Line and second line", "The Joys and Pitfalls of Dialogue" and what we lose when we only speak aloud". Of course Amy Bloom has very helpful suggestions also.

I expect to be reading these pearls of wisdom quite often. I joined this Specialization to help me with my first book which is a memoir that I hope will help others. This Specialization has really helped me.

por Joan P

Dec 24, 2018

Instructor was great! His approach, based on his background in acting, was very helpful. The way he used examples from students and other writers was really useful in making his points. My mind usually wanders during online courses, but didn't here.

por Liliane M

Jul 20, 2019

Again the instructor Said Sayrafiezadeh, did a great job. I enjoyed the course tremendously.

Coursera again, gets no stars, as they are not living up to their end of the bargain. Happy to take the money, but not to provide the neccessary framework.

por ANSARI S A

Nov 06, 2019

Said Sayrafiezadeh speaks about writing to 'sell' the book to the casual visitor at the bookstore. My acid test for a great book is indeed the opening line of the book. It is good to learn that this is a skill that authors must master.

por Janet W

Jan 29, 2019

I really enjoy taking the course that Coursera offers. This is the second creative writing course that I have taken with them. The instructors are great. I'm sure to walk away with valuable tools that I can use in the future.

por Regina O L

Jan 22, 2019

This class series was clearly presented and I learned a great deal that I will take with me and continue to used to improve my writing.

por Mark G W

Feb 19, 2019

Said is an incredible teacher. He speaks with such insight and passion. Inspiring.

por SUJIT M

Jun 18, 2019

It is a good course. I learnt many simple yet valuable lessons on writing.

por Maurice C

Sep 08, 2019

Excellent Class!!!

por Stefanie L

Oct 06, 2019

Great instructor!

por Dave S

May 01, 2020

Great course! I loved the idea of approaching story-telling as filmmaking. The background of the teacher distilled into the lessons, and I felt I learned a lot of stuff from a refreshing point of view. The only downside was all the interviews with Amy Bloom, whom I find tedious. Other than that, excellent course!

por Manjusha D

Jun 06, 2020

Overall good, but not as effective as expected. More contents were needed.

por Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

Personable lecturer making informative points.