Chevron Left
Volver a Animal Behaviour and Welfare

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Animal Behaviour and Welfare por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.8
estrellas
3,022 calificaciones
800 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

Principales reseñas

AS

Jun 22, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting! I enjoyed the lectures as well as the instructors and also loved that it focused on many different kinds animal welfare issues. Definitely recommend!

PR

Apr 28, 2020

Its a nicely designed course. It sheds light on many animal care practices and welfare. Very well instructions and quiz sessions are arranged. Many important learnings and takeaways from the course.

Filtrar por:

676 - 700 de 789 revisiones para Animal Behaviour and Welfare

por Frederique C

Apr 30, 2017

A very interesting course ! Serious and much developed work. Nice special interactive lessons (though speaking english is necessary to understand them), important to get deeper information about some themes. This course is very useful, to be able to evaluate animals welfare through their behaviour, and then to improve it with suitable ways. I just wish there would be more concrete examples of enrichment for wild animals in captivity... I hope this course will be used by more and more people in the world. Our animal friends need it ! Thank you ! Cours très intéressant, et développé. Les leçons interactives apportent des infos complémentaires bienvenues sur quelques thèmes (mais il faut pouvoir lire l'anglais...). Cours très utile pour apprendre à évaluer le bien-être d'un animal grâce à son comportement, et pour pouvoir l'améliorer par des moyens appropriés...

por Thaymé R M R

Jun 15, 2020

Un curso excelente que nos brinda información relevante y concisa acera de la situación que viven muchos animales bajo el cuidado y responsabilidad humana, mascotas, animales de granja y animales en cautiverio ej: zoológicos, circos, etc. Resalta claramente los principales desafíos que enfrenta cada animal y lo que se necesita para ofrecerles un ambiente enriquecedor y que supla efectivamente todas sus necesidades de bienestar basándose en su comportamiento. Obviando todo mito, creencia, perspectiva y antropoformismo, y centrándonos en los sentimientos, gustos, preferencias y punto de vista del animal.

por Shareka J

Oct 16, 2016

This course is great for anyone who is doing animal healthcare or any related field. It gives good principles of what is proper welfare and also the issues of negative or debative welfare. They also talk about how welfare is applied in certain countries to give realistic perspectives and thought of how the world conducts it's business in the world of animal livestock farming, or wildlife captivity. It's a real eye opener and I'd recommend people who are just generally animal lovers, professional or not, to take this course. I absolutely enjoyed it and learned new things from it!

por Kehan Y

Apr 20, 2020

I have learnt basic and general theory of animal welfare and the criticism of most animal welfare problem we faced today. It's generally great to hear the lectures, however, the accompanying material isn't always working and there is a lot of information missing in the pdf version... But I love this course!! It's like an introduction of animal welfare to the public. It definitely helped me to have a better understanding in the field of animal welfare and future goal. I want to give it 4.5 though there is no option of it.

por Caleb A

Nov 16, 2018

The course was very informative and while it may not add much to practical skills, the knowledge gained about how to properly discern animal welfare will no doubt aide any student who is taking up a career in some sort of animal care field. The material is interesting, especially the supplementary information. It's very informative in its tone and the instructors do their best to educate their students so that the students know how to make thought- out decisions on this subject.

por Joshua A W

May 13, 2020

The lecturers are excellent in providing us the information we need and this course is well written. Pet animals, farm animals, and wildlife animals are put nicely in the course with additional information we can access. I think an improvement in the lecturers communication skills and their body language would make this course better and also a peer-graded assignments would be better to assess and evaluate our comprehension about animal welfare

por Marta S

May 16, 2020

I really liked this course! I learned a lot. I'm a biology student so I already knew that we had to do a lot to keep the animals with a good welfare, but didn't had the notion of how much we needed to do. This course really helped me to understand more about things that I hadn't even tought about, for example, how the welfare of animals are measured in a farm and how they do things. Thank you for this course! :)

por Megan T

Jul 22, 2020

A well-designed course; easy to follow and make notes. The questions in the assessments are phrased in such a way to make students really think about the answers, but would also have liked some essay-style/short answer questions. Was slightly disappointed to see in Week 6 that circus-kept animals are deemed acceptable by the course creators. Otherwise, this course was very enjoyable

por Jennessa P

Apr 29, 2020

Great course to explore the issues revolving around animal welfare in a variety of capacities. The instructors were easy to follow and a pleasure to listen to. This is a perfect course for beginners wishing to enter the field of animal care, however even as an individual with extensive knowledge of the work, I still found the course to be stimulating. Thank you team!

por daniela a

Aug 14, 2017

Was a didactic course and was simple to understand for those who are not experts in the subject, for those who do not study anything related to animals but want to have a closer approach to animal welfare.

In my case, I am a passionate yogi, vegan 4 years ago and for this reason I will always be in favor of welfare and animal protection.

Thank you very much.

por Dianne N

Jul 06, 2020

I hope you have watched the movie, "Love and Bananas."

It reveals the treatment of Asian elephants in order to ready them for the tourist industry or logging. They are beaten into submission. I was distressed to see the use of circuses and other animal entertainment as a part of Week 6. It exists, yet at the expense of the welfare of these sentient beings.

por Samantha H

Oct 06, 2019

A really interesting course that addressed the major welfare issues of a range of animals, both captive and their wild counterparts. The only thing I would say is some of the questions were worded in a way that was a bit ambiguous and the answers weren't necessarily clear based on the supporting material.

Overall thoroughly enjoyed this course!

por mypatigar

Jul 23, 2020

hello,

thanks for sharing your knowledge. but even on my iPad, I can not see the additional material, it is a shame that we require to use more than one device to know what's inside, and I am sure that was very interesting. For me, the best module was #5 about wildlife in captivity.

Congrats to all.

por Vanessa G O

Sep 17, 2020

En lo personal el curso se me hizo muy enriquecedor, ya que pude aprender muchas cosas nuevas y también pude complementar los conocimientos que tenia. Este curso también me ayudo a tener otra perspectiva acerca del bienestar animal, ya que esto va mas haya de lo que los seres humanos podemos suponer.

por Angi P

Nov 23, 2016

Very interesting and easy going apart of the informal and scientific based lectures. I enjoy it a lot!!

100% recommended not only for thoose who have a pet dog, but for all of us to understand better our four legged friends who live and a pat of human soceity!!! :))))

Well Done!!

por Brandon S

Jul 21, 2020

Excellent and informative course. However, it is technologically outdated (flash required course materials do not work), with seemingly no intention to update.

Otherwise I really enjoyed it, and find myself better equipped to discuss animal welfare and behaviours in the future.

por Candace T

Feb 29, 2016

Great instructors and good information. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested in aspects of animal welfare across the board, but especially for someone who is considering getting their first pet. The concepts are explained well, and easy to understand.

por Avril S

Jul 22, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course! It was fun and continuously peaked my interest towards eithical problems regarding animals, their domestication and their roles within our society. I learned more about the meat industry aswell as certain psychological traits of animals.

por Hernando E

Jul 22, 2020

Very interesting course...the ethical questions are far more numerous and complex than I ever imagined they could be.

A few of the video segments were a little repetitive.

The difficulty level was appropriate for beginners in this field.

Overall a very good course.

por raksha h

Jun 06, 2020

The course is really well structured and informative. I learnt a lot and also enjoyed the course. All the basics of welfare of various animals ranging from street dogs to captive animals in zoos and the domesticated animals, were covered with great insights.

por arushi s

Sep 20, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed elating about animal welfare issues. It was specifically instructing to me to know about animal farming as that is something we come across a lot but this course did give a very deep understanding of how it works.

por ana b v

Jul 28, 2017

Excellent course, very interesting, great platform, but I am not able to get the free certificate. Excellent course, very interesting, great platform, but I am not able to acquire the free certificate, so I will give only four stars.

por Tanmayi P

Jun 26, 2016

This was a really cool, fun course, and I learned a LOT, but I was hoping that they would talk more about the animals in captivity, and major issues relating to them. Other than that, it was an interesting topic to learn about!

por Vicente A R G

Aug 02, 2020

me pareció en muy buen curso, con harta información y materiales para aprender, lo único que me causo un poco de frustración fue que algunos vídeos NO tenían subtitulo en español, por consecuencia no entendía al 100% el vídeo

por Liz B

Sep 14, 2018

Very informative course, although it is sometimes painful to read as they cover ethical issues and the sad reality of slaughter. However, I found it very well covered, as a vegetarian, this course strengthened my beliefs