Chevron Left
Volver a Basic Statistics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Basic Statistics por parte de Universidad de Ámsterdam

4.6
estrellas
3,331 calificaciones
853 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Principales reseñas

PG

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

JB

Sep 09, 2020

Thank You, @University_of_Amsterdam for this wonderful course. I have really benefited a lot from this course. Thank you, Dr. Matthijs Rooduijn for making this course so lively and interesting!!

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 832 revisiones para Basic Statistics

por Santanu G

Jun 28, 2016

Brilliant formulated course with ample examples which makes the course really interesting! Recommended for first timers as well as refreshers!

por Reuben R T

Aug 05, 2020

Just a week, into it and already impressed by how both professors break down statistical concepts and make it digestible and fun to students!

por Andrea R

Jul 28, 2018

It was an excellent course. Teachers are easygoing people that taught me that Statistics subject is useful in every knowledge area. Thanks

por VILLAPANDO, K D (

May 27, 2020

The knowledge offered by this course is excellent, since it tackles Basic Statistics in different manners, such as programming and lessons.

por Xiulin Y

Feb 16, 2020

This course is fantastic!!!! It makes me realize that I need to learn more in statistics. I will keep moving on!! Thank you sooooo much!!!

por Santhanalakshmi M

Jun 15, 2019

Well and neatly explained with examples. I just love the effort that you put and such a wonderful course to take.. Thnx a lot!! have fun!!

por Mohammed H A A

May 13, 2016

Very useful and ineresting course, Demonestration diagrams in the videos are very clear and delivering the information easily, like it, ma

por Gabriela P C A

Jul 25, 2018

Excelent course for people with no previous training in statistics. Very didactic, with examples and excercises. Absolutely recommended .

por Lin J

Aug 14, 2016

The "basic statistics" is an excellent course. The course is detail-oriented, very useful and easily understood. I strongly recommend it.

por Olatundun A K

Aug 18, 2020

The Coursera experience was great. Now, I can handle simple data and analyse them all by myself. Thank you Coursera for the opportunity.

por Edmar O

Aug 20, 2019

This course teaches the basics of statistics which gives a firm foundation for understanding complex statistical procedures in research.

por Angy W F

May 06, 2020

The instructors provided an interesting and comprehensible context for me to learn the seemingly boring concepts. Great thanks to them.

por Mel

Jul 17, 2020

Great examples and simple language. Some quizzes were not so clear though but they are very helpful to really interiorize the content!

por BIBHAVENDRA K S

Oct 22, 2019

Great course with all basics of statistics explained in best possible ways with day to day examples. Highly recommended for beginners

por Livio A D

Feb 16, 2020

Simple, entertaining, just the right amount of Maths.

Perfect for a beginner and for someone who wants to refresh some basic concepts.

por Leonid P

Feb 25, 2016

Great watching all this numbers telling you information about people, though my numbers were slightly different sometimes. Thank you

por Neil K

Apr 14, 2016

Very well paced, adn clearly explained. Transcripts are good though note you'll need to annotate them with the equations discussed.

por Karthik B

Mar 19, 2016

I always dreaded Statistics. This course made me really understand the basics of statistics. Well explained and good examples.

Thanks

por Deepmala S

Apr 14, 2019

I loved the course but learning R lab was time consuming thus i have kept it for hold. Will get back to it when i have time. Thanks

por CHIARA M

May 30, 2020

An amazing course with clear explanations and various practice exercises in order to improve the skills illustrated in the weeks.

por Zainab H

Oct 25, 2018

I got a C in statistics in MBA, and then i took this course, and now I am cursing myself for not having taken this course earlier

por Olesia

Jul 24, 2017

Great course, highly recommend for those interested in basic statistics! Thanks a lot to the great team of authors of the course!

por Zari H

Mar 28, 2017

Engaging video lectures that are just the right length, and a great R lab that is super helpful, I highly recommend this course!

por Normunds N

Apr 19, 2020

Some parts were explained in a way that required re-watching, but overall I gained very good understanding of basic statistics.

por SophieLi

Apr 18, 2020

The course content is vivid, which helps a lot with my understanding of some difficult theories. I enjoy this course very much.