Chevron Left
Volver a Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.3
estrellas
1,106 calificaciones
321 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Principales reseñas

DL
17 de abr. de 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL
15 de ago. de 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtrar por:

301 - 317 de 317 revisiones para Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

por Adam J

7 de jul. de 2018

Programming part not well explained and too difficult- it can clearly be seen from the comments that many people have the same issues

por MD A J N

13 de oct. de 2018

no 6 quiz of week 4 is bad in answering every time ans submit the right ans i got the wrong in after assessment. it may be improved

por Florian H

14 de jul. de 2020

Gets quickly very confusing and difficult. Also, do the Codeacademy Python class before even starting this course.

por Kyle S

6 de oct. de 2020

Programming Level is NOT FOR BEGINNERS. The Codecademy was useless when compared to the coding assignments given.

por Ojochenemi E

12 de sep. de 2020

the coding aspect were neither clear nor easy enough for a biologist who is new to programming to grasp

por Celine A

16 de jul. de 2020

Too complicated for a beginner's course, the quizzes don't match the stepik chapters.

por Inukonda J H

6 de jul. de 2020

It is hard for beginners. Especially for some who has no computer lesson background.

por Víctor R D

15 de ago. de 2020

It has been the most stressful and frustrating course, certainly not for beginners.

por Spencer P

16 de jun. de 2020

Its called Bioinformatics for "Beginners", when it is still extremely difficult.

por Vidya B

15 de jun. de 2020

This course is not for begginers. please change tag line.but good to learn

por Vaishnavi R

8 de jun. de 2020

This course is definitely not for beginners.

por Kaelyn B

8 de nov. de 2020

This course was supposed to be for beginners, but I found that this is not the case at all. I had to spend about 10 hours a week for about four months outside of the course using other resources to actually be able to complete it. The fact that each question in the interactive learner does not show the full code is extremely limiting and frustrating for people completely new to learning to code. I would not recommend this course to others as a result.

por Georgios K

26 de nov. de 2020

This course is definitely not for beginners. It takes too much more time than it mentions and fails to guide beginners in the bioinformatics field properly. Would not recommend it at all.

por Kushagra J

18 de ago. de 2020

The course is surely not for beginners and it takes a lot more time than 4 hours a week.

por Hesham A

27 de ago. de 2020

Not for beginners and the output window is badly programmed.

por Gamal A E N M A E N

17 de sep. de 2020

its not for beginners