Chevron Left
Volver a Building a Data Science Team

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Building a Data Science Team por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrellas
2,848 calificaciones
388 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Aspectos destacados
Applicable teachings
(79 revisiones)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 revisiones)

Principales revisiones

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

PA

Jul 07, 2020

Well Taught Course , loved the lecturer present the information,for you who want to improved your management skill in data science this course can provide the introduction ,REST ? read a book

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 382 revisiones para Building a Data Science Team

por Carlos A H

Jun 15, 2019

Excellent insight and guidance on essential practices in building a data science team. Area of improvement is emphasizing python more than R as python has become the preferred programming language in data science.

por Julien N

Feb 20, 2018

Nice explications of a data science team, its players and how they interact within their team and the other departments of their organisation.

The Capstone project is the perfect application of this class

por prasanna v

Jan 23, 2017

Good overview of forming Data science team. The challenges are typical of any SDLC project. However I was looking to glean some specific challenges between DSc team and product or marketing teams.

por Ryan V

May 22, 2016

Good but should come after the Managing Data Analysis for understanding better what the people you hire are actually going to do. Preventing the "Dilbertification" of the data science manager.

por Clifton d L

Nov 21, 2017

I found this course useful, especially the hints regarding a code of conduct for Data teams and the interactions with other teams. Also a good refresher on general team-leadership/management.

por JOSEPH A

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent content - delivery could be improved somewhat but happy overall. Lots of practical advice relevant to the job and team dynamics. Read the supplementary material/links

por Vaughan W

Jan 31, 2017

Good overview of the roles and skills needed, but loses a little momentum when it gets into the team management side of things, which is covered in many other business courses.

por Ravi K S

Apr 04, 2018

1 start less because of the ever-confusing quiz questions. Hit and trials make you go mad, and insance when you figure out the correct answer that you couldn't have imagined.

por HYUN K

Mar 14, 2016

This class had hard quiz.

Sometimes it seemed very basic, but some are hard unless you read and learn really well. Great class/knowledge. Practical real-life examples help.

por Jeffrey M S

Aug 16, 2017

This course had a lot of practical, helpful guidelines for managing technology professionals in general, in addition to specific pointers for managing a data science team.

por Gopal I

Sep 03, 2018

Team building is common. Could have cited examples of skill sets needed and how to keep track of changing industry and academia needs for building a team

por Sergey V

Feb 13, 2018

Most of what has been said can be applied for building Software Engineering Team. Nothing special if you have experience in managing Software Engineers.

por Dan O

Apr 24, 2016

Useful information indeed, but still running into some disconnects between the course material and the tests, which is definitely very frustrating.

por Shriniwas S U

May 19, 2020

Basic course of DS and I think its not that much effective for those who are already did some basic courses on data science.

Good for very beginner

por MANJEET K

Jun 18, 2020

It was fun and help me understand and enlighten me on how the team works and what is the problem we have to tackle within and outside the team.

por Guy B

Feb 12, 2016

Gives a good idea of the roles required to build a competent team, dispelling the myth of the all encompassing data science guru

por Alfredo P J

Jan 13, 2018

Great summary of mangement a Data Science Team!-. Includes roles on multiple entrepreneur configurations depending on size.

por Ben G

Apr 06, 2017

Some of the multiple choice questions are _really_ more opinion than fact - making it almost impossible to get them "right"

por Azran O

Jan 12, 2017

Good pointers but not a lot of unique new insights. A lot of this is based on building any team, not unique to Data Science

por Alfredo A C

Jan 09, 2017

Short, well organized, and very useful. Perhaps quizzes could be improved in order to address more relevant topics. Thanks!

por Paul M

May 16, 2017

Good course; enjoyed the content; learned quite a bit, although the management elements for pretty basic management tasks.

por Diego S

Oct 04, 2016

This course gave me good insight about building a data science team that can be easily related to my work environment.

por Kelly H

Feb 29, 2016

I think the questions in this course do not map as well as they could to the lectures. But, overall it's very helpful.

por Michele S

Jun 02, 2020

Very interesting perspectives from Professionals

Useful tips and great additional resources shared from the teacher

por Synthia

Feb 17, 2019

A great guide to anyone who is building a data science. The professor explained all the topics really well