Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
6,423 calificaciones
1,254 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Principales reseñas

AH

17 de mar. de 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13 de ene. de 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtrar por:

1226 - 1243 de 1,243 revisiones para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Lev R S

23 de may. de 2017

excellent course for beginners and biologists.

por Esraa M A M n

6 de sep. de 2020

it was a good experiment and I learn a lot

por Shivani M

3 de jul. de 2018

The lectures can be more interactive

por ARIJIT A M P I ( V

14 de dic. de 2020

excellent basics concept of cancer.

por IJAZ A

16 de abr. de 2020

realistic and advanced knowledge

por Sufia B

30 de may. de 2020

good course. i enjoyed so much.

por Nur A A P

26 de may. de 2020

Neither best nor worst!

por Jade B

4 de sep. de 2016

Not done... All 5?

por Sakina S S

16 de ago. de 2020

very informative

por Ken S

27 de jun. de 2021

There are many courses that raise your opinion of an institution. This is to be expected; think about why a university might offer an online class for free. But to my surprise, my opinion of Johns Hopkins went down - way down - as a result of completing this course. Why? "Experts" who couldn't pronounce words ("genome", "radionuclide") used in their own area of expertise. Factually incorrect information, like "both copies of a gene must have a mutation for cancer to occur", which is not true for many genes. Also, a strong tendency to use words, abbreviations, and acronyms that have never been defined, which is not appropriate for an "introduction" to something. I'm not saying there wasn't any good information - there was some - but overall, this class was disappointing.

por Mariya L

19 de mar. de 2017

Too basic knowledge, not enough information about targeted therapy, everything is explained without going into any details

por A A

24 de nov. de 2020

Not engaging at all. Did not enjoy and I don't think I will retain much information due to how it was presented.

por MORAD S A

15 de abr. de 2021

thx

por Dr. B

16 de sep. de 2016

Hello all. I'm glad I took this course successfully. However, I have some notes. As a 4th year medical student, I see that the information is superficial. I finished the course in around 3 weeks, so medical students wouldn't get so much benefit out of the course. I wanted to learn more details, specially in depth about each type of the 5 cancers from the basics to clinical. Secondly, there was no interaction between the students and the doctor supervising the course in the discussion blogs. Thirdly, I believe that the assessment was too easy. I suggest a 60% passing grade with a more challenging assessment. Finally, this is my personal opinion. I enjoyed the course and I would like to see more improvement in the future.

por Yusuf M A

1 de ago. de 2020

I don't think its for beginners. I didn't understand a lot of biological terms.

por Hamza k

27 de dic. de 2020

please don`t choose it coz it cost a lot of money for their certificates.

por Shravani L

21 de sep. de 2020

Iam unable to get my completion certificate

por 张峰

13 de mar. de 2018

念课件