Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
5,187 calificaciones
1,056 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Principales reseñas

AH
17 de mar. de 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
31 de jul. de 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 1,036 revisiones para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Ojas N

26 de sep. de 2020

Extremely interesting and informative course that is great for an introduction to this subject and igniting your interest .

por Kaunda W

16 de feb. de 2020

Terrific overview! Great for individuals who are interested in the science of cancer, it’s biology and possible treatments.

por Feather I

30 de sep. de 2016

Great information. Excellent course that has left me wanting to know more and be a part of expanding treatments. Thank you!

por Shah A R

8 de jul. de 2020

This course is presented in a very satisfying way.I have learned so many new things that will help me in my future career.

por NKOSINGIPHILE T

25 de jul. de 2019

Good course indeed. I enjoyed the learning. I have learned so much in the course. Thanks a lot Coursera and Prof Pienta.

por Akemi H S M

29 de ago. de 2018

Muy bueno para adquirir un panorama general. Y tiene puntos que despiertan el interés para investigar de forma individual.

por aamnadilshad

15 de ago. de 2020

it was an amazing learning experience. i enjoyed my journey and videos were very informative and help me in my research.

por Meghna P

25 de jul. de 2020

This course not only was easy to learn and understand, but the faculty also helped in making leaning an enjoyable process

por Paula F R S

21 de may. de 2020

Wonderful course, I was able to learn a lot about the biology of cancer. I have a broad and wonderful view of the course.

por Nicolas O

8 de ago. de 2020

Best course I ever took on cancer. Thanks to all the doctors for all the knowledge they have passed on to us. Thank you!

por Ishita H

28 de jul. de 2020

This was such a fun and informative course. I'm really satisfied with the course material and guidance by the lecturers.

por SARIDEVI S

19 de may. de 2020

The lectures and the quiz after every lecture are very helpful to attend the quiz. I really enjoyed learning this course

por Irene K L .

2 de may. de 2020

Very interesting and made me learn more. Dr. Ken Pienta was really an inspiration to me. Thanks for issuing this course.

por ksr K

22 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course for learners who are really interested in Cancer studies and also the instructors were really awesome.

por Ashlin M

17 de jun. de 2020

well explained and excellent course.

I recommend others to take a look at this course to understand the basics of cancer

por ANJANA J

7 de jun. de 2020

It was an amazing experience.The short and precise details significantly enriched my basic knowledge of cancer biology.

por Caline A d B

21 de abr. de 2020

simples e efetivo em informações, dando uma base para avançar nos estudos e desenvolver conhecimento mais aprofundados!

por Halima A M S A

20 de abr. de 2020

A very well prepared course material. It cover the key knowledge about cancer. I enjoyed it and I learned a lot. Thanks

por Jia B

15 de oct. de 2019

This course gave me a whole understanding of cancer and I can’t wait to explore more specific fields related to cancer!

por Fahimehsadat S

23 de jul. de 2017

I just want to say thanks a million, the course has been well designed and taught. all modules are really informative.

por Karine H S

15 de sep. de 2020

O curso é super completo. Acredito que qualquer aluno com noções básicas de biologias conseguirão acompanhar o curso!

por N. F

19 de sep. de 2019

Very good introductory course about cancer. Very well done. Looking forward to the next course.

Thank you very much.

por Vannia S P

25 de sep. de 2020

It is an incredible course, with high quality content and with professionals who know a lot. Totally recommendable.

por MARIA B

25 de abr. de 2020

Muy buena opción para tener una visión general del cancer, sus riesgos y cómo se enmarcan las principales terapias.

por Devananda D

2 de abr. de 2020

Its really useful and helpful.. It increased my basic knowledge and gave a vast idea at higher level on the topic..