Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
6,380 calificaciones
1,247 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Principales reseñas

AH

17 de mar. de 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AS

15 de oct. de 2021

A didática do curso é excelente, os docentes conseguem, em poucos minutos, explicar diversos assuntos de forma simples. Além disso, o conteúdo é super completo e corresponde a todas as expectativas.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 1,235 revisiones para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Louisa B

11 de abr. de 2022

The course is very structured in a way that the student who does not have any heavy background in Oncology will understand the course. Thank you very much for the student-friendly lessons!

por Kiarash P

18 de may. de 2020

The course was really helpful for understanding and reviewing the basic concepts of cancer, which is always important to keep in mind to be able to treat patients accurate as a oncologist.

por Vikram A S

16 de ago. de 2019

Course is concise and professors are well learned in their fields. Information in the course is relatively well dispersed. Use of diagrams is good and makes it easy to remember the content

por Feo M

13 de jun. de 2021

Great course, I'm 15 and learned a lot. The ease with which each lesson can be understood changed lesson to lesson, depending on how well the researcher explained. But still great course!

por Tryambak P S

16 de ago. de 2020

This is a very basic course designed by an excellent team with ease so that non-technical person can also be benefitted from it. Thank you, for this great course. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

por SNEHA G

14 de ago. de 2020

This course was really useful for me, and it helped me to gather more information about cancer biology as well. Thank you all the organizers who made thing course really a beneficial one.

por João V V

5 de oct. de 2019

It is a great course, very well developed, those involved explain very well, besides having a broad knowledge base. I am very pleased, I feel that this course will really help me in life.

por Ragini R

11 de jun. de 2020

The course was very useful and the content has been distributed very well. It has helped me learn a lot of things about various prevalent cancers. Thank you so much to the team. Regards.

por Perceox P

3 de sep. de 2019

Soy Ingeniero y he estado investigando el funcionamiento del cáncer durante unos 3 años. He aprendido mucho hasta aquí. temas nuevos para mi, desde el punto de vista de la investigación.

por Le P H

30 de jul. de 2019

I love the highly-organized course materials. It is not only useful for biology students but also for anyone who wants to better understand one of the most deadly diseases in the world.

por Chelsea H

21 de mar. de 2017

Great introductory course for cancer. It is simple enough for a novice to understand, and complex enough for someone who works in the field to gain additional knowledge. Great lectures.

por Aditi S

27 de dic. de 2016

This course was put very simply and understandably. The information was useful in my projects and I am now able to understand terminology used in medical journals. Thank you Dr. Pienta!

por Vikram

14 de may. de 2020

This is very amazing. This course give me more knowledge about cancer. And the all teacher are very very amazing. This give me more information and a new platform for my good career.

por Jim H

20 de mar. de 2017

Excellent class. I learned a lot. I like how they delivered the information into clear comprehensible segments. It was easy for follow the class, as it was well organized and clear.

por Okan M

28 de feb. de 2021

Bu güzel kurs için, Coursera ve Johns Hopkins University olmak üzere emeği geçen; Kenneth Pienta, Sarah Amend, Jelani Zarif, Ken Valkenburg ve Diana Reyes'a teşekkerlerimi sunarım.

por Emmanuel A C D

15 de oct. de 2019

It was a very good course. It help me very much to understand and have a much better idea of the different types of Cancer. I can most certainly take advantage from this knowledge.

por Jan M B

3 de jul. de 2019

Very interesting course. Important information to understand the development of cancer and its treatments and to be able to follow the medical developments of cancer in the future.

por Abhijit P

27 de abr. de 2018

Extremely simplified explanation such that a non-bio background Computer Science Engineer can even understand the causes. (By the way I am learning to apply AI to cancer detection)

por Caroline S d A

8 de jun. de 2020

I learned a lot in this course, it was better than I expected. It will help me in my study area and I hope I can improve my skills at university with these knowledge I've earned.

por Aishik S

28 de jul. de 2020

In this course I learned many things about cancer like cancer treatment and prevention process like therapies and chemical agent, surgery and clinical trials and Many more thing

por Abdullah A S

28 de sep. de 2019

Very informative, absolutely loved it. Strongly Recommended to anyone interested in Biochemistry, Cancer research or to anyone looking to learn more about this particular field.

por EDEN J A

14 de nov. de 2020

I was able to gain the necessary knowledge and skills in identifying common cancers, their diagnosis, progression and treatment. This course is very relevant and helpful to me.

por Luiz A R C

1 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course, clear and complete lectures, accessible language, actual and scientific information based on robust evidences, connected to practice. Completely recommend!!!

por Nivedha M S

27 de jun. de 2020

The course was amazing. l got to learn and appreciate the different types of cancer and the various concepts associated with it. It was a very satisfying experience. Thank you

por Abykhair M

17 de ago. de 2020

It is a very useful course for beginner. It can act as a stepping-stone for someone who wants to start learning about cancer or pursuing a profession in cancer-related fields