Chevron Left
Volver a Construction Project Management

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Construction Project Management por parte de Universidad de Columbia

4.8
estrellas
4,605 calificaciones
1,125 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Construction Project Management introduces you to Project Initiation and Planning. Industry experts join Columbia University professor, Ibrahim Odeh, to give an overview of the construction industry. Professor Odeh teaches the fundamentals of the Project Development Cycle while guest lecturers discuss Lean Project Delivery method and Lean Design Behaviors. Technological advances, such as Building Information Modeling, will be introduced with real world examples of the uses of BIM during the Lifecycle of the Project. The course concludes with Professor Odeh discussing the importance of project planning and scheduling and an opportunity to develop a Work Breakdown Structure....

Principales reseñas

DG
19 de feb. de 2021

This was a great experience. It gave the confidence to tackle such issues as Duration of Activity Schedules and many more. Learned a lot and course content will forever be my guide on future projects.

DC
20 de jul. de 2020

I thought it was a great intro coming from my Architecture background and looking forward to the other classes. I did think the information was occasionally repetitive but overall it had a great flow.

Filtrar por:

926 - 950 de 1,118 revisiones para Construction Project Management

por SATHWARA T

8 de ago. de 2021

.

por Tamara L

16 de abr. de 2017

E

por Glen T

27 de feb. de 2020

The program is very complete, covering the essential aspects of this discipline as well as the history and future evolution anticipated through technology.

Opportunities for improvement:

-Better integration of all parts of the program: the more practical lessons lack the technological theories disclosed as "musts" by the lean construction models and BIM practices. In example, the great benefits of BIM mentioned in this program as far as job site logistics and safety are not mentioned in the lesson dedicated to logistics and safety planning. In a similar manner, the great advancements of Lean practices are not discussed by the professor who managed the reconstruction of the World Trade Center, one of the best practical teachings in the program.

-Better transcripts: some of the lessons have trade-related terminology errors that must be fixed ("ideal" labor meaning "idle" labor, etc.).

por Kyle W

2 de abr. de 2018

A very good course overall. I particularly enjoyed the unit on BIM, and the depth of the technical details presented. I would appreciate however that the transcripts were edited more carefully. It looks like some software simply converted the audio to text, which makes reading it very challenging. Personally, I am a visual learner - so I highly prefer reading text at my own pace instead of listening to the audio portion of the lectures. This was particularly difficult with some of the transcripts provided.

Also, I felt there was too much overlap in some of the presenters. This course could probably deliver the same information in 20% less time with some editing. Well done overall, I look forward to continuing my ongoing education with Coursera.

por bharat k r

8 de jun. de 2018

Construction Project Management is a most suitable course for those who are pursuing their degree or diploma in civil engineering , architecture or some how related with respective fields. This course will teach you about BIM , construction management, construction strategies, new terminologies related with construction field, practical aspects of constructing a building, etc.

Some of the lectures are very effective in explaining role of biding, contracts, etc. Assigned tasks are most suitable and fulfilled their role in grasping the topics more effectively.

por Justyna W

1 de jun. de 2021

Some of the topics are very basics, some are only skimmed through. I hope they will be explored in detail in the later courses. It is useful to have previous construction sector knowledge as it helps to understand the course content. The major disadvantage is lack of ability to download notes we wrote during the course, which means it is difficult to come back to the study material, revise it or use it in practice at work. The course is very US-centric and lacks some references to the practices in Europe, Asia or the Middle East.

por MdSaif

4 de ago. de 2020

Construction Project Management (CPM) is a great course if one is beginning or wants to get into CPM. I learnt lot of nitty-gritty associated with trade. the course comprehensively highlights the importance of Risk assessment, even setting up canteen involves risk was clearly described. Basics of Work Breakdown structure, logical sequencing of tasks etc can be learned.

Thank you for curating such a course.

por Alfred e

21 de mar. de 2019

Covers the subjects in good detail. I appreciate having instruction from people actively working in the industry. They were able to provide real world insight into the subjects being covered. The in-course quizes were a good check on knowledge retention. however, the instructions on the projects at the end of the course are unclear and do not reflect the vocabulary used in the videos.

por SMITA P

25 de ene. de 2020

The course is helpful to understand the role construction manager, bonds and types of project delivery in a holistic way. It is well designed to describe the CPM in a simple and easy way also. However, providing reading materials along with each video would have been more helpful for people who want to learn more about a specific topic suiting to their interest.

por Ritwik S T

15 de oct. de 2017

A good course with good information. Too much focused on building construction. Suggest a more common approach which includes other constructions including refinery / petrochemicals also. Material is still quite useful and connection can be seen to other construction types, exercises are bit challenging when one is not from building construction.

por Walid B

12 de feb. de 2020

For a junior profile as I, it is a very well and rich program that is presentend here. The course is great and the speakers have a lot of qualities. The only "problem" is that sometimes, the course is only focused on construction in the USA, even if that point can give a great vision, it's not always adapted to the rest of the world. Keep going.

por Siying R

3 de ago. de 2018

It is great to have practitioners as the presenters for the class.

The last bit of the assignments are confusing after listening to the lecture. Luckily the classmates helped out to clear the confusion. It is a good design to push people to interact with each other.

It would be great if the teacher gave feedback to the discussion topics.

por Shivam A R

3 de abr. de 2020

Really helpful course and an extensive learning platform with enabled practical knowledge of construction project management field alongside it applications in the industry. Apart from the traditional book based learning learnt lot of new things with their significance when it comes to the real world implementation of construction.

por Dawood H

28 de abr. de 2020

This course is great even for a Business Manager dealing with Architects, Property, Facilities Management.

Over all it provides insights and the Big Picture or 360 view from top of the construction landscape without going into depth. I would recommend to anyone who wants to have an overview of the construction contracting business

por Thomas M

21 de jun. de 2017

I was impressed with the quality of this course but I'd like to see more detailed examples of Work Breakdown Structure. I think that this will be covered in greater depth in future courses, but it was hard to know what the peer-reviewed assignments were actually asking for without being able to see the grading rubric.

por Dylan C

24 de feb. de 2020

I Really enjoy getting multiple teachers opinions on the same topics, I find it really helps the major topics sink into my head (contracts especially)

I found there was a few topics that could be eliminated such as BIM only because it seems to be a really complicated process that would most likely need its own class.

por Charles O

8 de oct. de 2018

this course has really been helpful and instructive in my career path as an architect looking to fully understand the construction industry and its many facets. I do however feel that some of the information contained within the course work should be updated to reflect this current year 2018.

many thanks

por Mikk T

29 de sep. de 2017

I found the course interesting as I am tipping my toes into the construction technology part. the course uses for most of it guest lecturers who are leaders from the industry and it is interesting. At times I would have wished a little bit stronger content but in general the course was good.

por Joseph A

7 de dic. de 2020

Easy and informative courses to navigate. I learned a lot. It also allowed me to reflect on what aspects of Construction Management I would like to learn more about. There is still ao much to learn and explore . I believe this program allowed me to explore my options in construction.

por Mitul P

12 de abr. de 2020

well detailed and nicely organized. I love the fact that there are subject matter experts teaching the classes, though some of the information does get a bit repetitive between different presenters. There is some fluff that I think they can remove and stay focus on the topic.

por Ayman H

2 de jun. de 2020

Excellent all encompassing course, only reason for 4 stars ( it deserves 4.5) only retains to the fact that some items pertaining to US rules and regulations need to be memorized which isn't useful if you are working outside of the US.

Much obliged for wonderful course.

por Daniel D H

7 de abr. de 2018

There is a lot of information abouts bonds, and many of us foreign students don't use bonds at all. In the lectures they say that they orefer talking about bonds rather than about assurances, but for us it would be better to have assurances (or, why not, include both).

por Czarina B

26 de jun. de 2020

A wonderful summary of common and best practices in Construction Management. As a practicing professional in a 3rd world country, I have now been exposed to new procedures and techniques that will solve many of the Construction Management problems in our country!

por Sofien A

23 de jun. de 2021

A good and wide overview of Project management that includes all aspects of Construction field, with an explanation of field development and innovation as well as implementation of new technologies to improve project control, schudule, cost risks and seafety.