Chevron Left
Volver a Disaster Preparedness

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Disaster Preparedness por parte de Universidad de Pittsburgh

4.7
estrellas
1,380 calificaciones
409 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Principales reseñas

CH
30 de ene. de 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL
7 de oct. de 2020

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

Filtrar por:

351 - 375 de 410 revisiones para Disaster Preparedness

por Jonathan G

20 de feb. de 2016

informative course, although I found the assignment to be somewhat redundant and insulting to the student's intelligence. It's common sense that anyone what automatically know to make a list of survival items and an escape strategy in a disaster situation!

por Dr. A V

21 de abr. de 2020

Compare to other coursera courses this course i feel somewhat different. They asked to submit family disaster plan and review family disaster plan of other candidate. Its a new experience for me. THANKS A LOT TO GIVE ME AN OPPORTUNITY TO DO THIS COURSE.

por Gunjan k

17 de ago. de 2020

Thank you University of Pittsburgh and Coursera to providing very nice course on Disaster Preparedness..I have learned a lot of knowledge and technics by given lecture.and notes..I have passed with 90%.

Gunjan kumar

Email - gunjankr.1988@gmail.com

por Vimal D

24 de may. de 2020

A very well constructed course. It is more oriented towards personal disaster management but the lessons can very well be applied at larger levels. It orients your thinking towards making you a Disaster Ready Person. Good One.

por Tamara L

19 de abr. de 2016

An engaging and highly informative course. My only concern is that the required reading was not available, and there were several broken links for optional reading. This needs to be looked at and repaired as soon as possible.

por Thomas M I

28 de abr. de 2020

Well presented introductory course by clearly experienced and knowledgeable Instructor(s). Enjoyed the content, demeanor, and tenor. Slow tempo easily attenuated by speeding up play-back speed.

por Dagmawi M A

12 de oct. de 2016

the course is great. also I would like to thank coursera for the fee-waiver opportunities without which people like me could never afford to take such high quality and up to date trainings!

por Hafiz M W

7 de abr. de 2020

It is fantastic course, I have learned emergency preparedness skills, resources, different survival kits survival techniques and much more. I truly recommend this course.

por Kate

6 de may. de 2020

Course material was very useful, and the attention to awareness as an emergency preparedness skill was appreciated. The peer review section of the course needs revision.

por Pawan M

28 de oct. de 2017

It is a great course...This will help you in understanding how you prepare and mitigate for the disaster..It is a well equipped and a good course conducted.

por Deshraj P

11 de jun. de 2020

It was very intellectual course. The tutor was very well prepared & explained theory nicely. And the case study about disaster was very knowledgeable.

por Bro G S

29 de sep. de 2016

Interesting study, it covered things that I all ready knew but also presented others that I had not considered. Overall a good place to begin.

por Ihtisham I P S N i G U

27 de jun. de 2020

Great course for having knowledge about disaster preparedness, it must be done by every individual because disaster cant wait for anyone

por Pradeep R

28 de may. de 2020

I loved the course. Micheal Beach was really good instructor, he made this course so interesting and fun. This course is a must have.

por Michael K

29 de abr. de 2020

Good content, some links are out of date and do not work. Wish there was more content to really get into the nitty gritty of each week.

por PINAKI D

21 de oct. de 2016

It is indeed a wonderful learning experience especially with respect to using practical tips and tricks for disaster preparedness

por Jacqueline B

24 de may. de 2020

The videos were good, and having the transcripts to read was very helpful, but some of the reading links don't work anymore.

por Derek H

27 de nov. de 2015

Kind Regards,

Reasonable for target audience, good self awareness review and expansion of cultural and professional base.

por Sudhanshu R

27 de ago. de 2020

course is little bit slow and boring.but trust me it is very useful in our day to day life.u can learn a lot from this.

por Eleanor

5 de nov. de 2017

Very informative, large amount of videos instead of reading, easy to switch off with the amount of audible content.

por ANDRIEUX R

16 de ene. de 2018

Cours complet, bonne approche du sujet bien qu'un peu superficielle mais tout les sujets sont traités !

por Fabián R I

21 de abr. de 2020

The course is very good, however it would be good if they delivered digital material from the modules.

por Bernard H

17 de ago. de 2016

Amazing practical information. I would have appreciated more showing of the water purification system.

por Carlo C

17 de may. de 2017

It gives basic preparations for disaster and where to go in case of disasters, which really helps.

por Andrew R

18 de may. de 2016

Very good course, but sometimes goes into too much detail for things that are quite common sense.