Chevron Left
Volver a Disaster Preparedness

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Disaster Preparedness por parte de Universidad de Pittsburgh

4.7
estrellas
1,348 calificaciones
406 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Principales reseñas

CH
30 de ene. de 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL
7 de oct. de 2020

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 406 revisiones para Disaster Preparedness

por Jerome D

6 de nov. de 2020

Very good educational program, covered wide aspects of survival, very thorough discussion. Very informational while being entertaining. I enjoyed the course very much.

por Pamela W

14 de ago. de 2015

I loved this course and all the interesting speakers. I learned a great deal and how much I am unprepared for a disaster, I had no idea. Well worth every minute.

por Cheron C

3 de may. de 2020

I was very happy with the overall course however the knife portion was a little long and didn’t find useful. Hope you would offer a course a large bachelor degree.

por Ichsan N

22 de abr. de 2020

By taking this course, I can share my knowledge with the emergency response community and all parents at my child's school about how we should respond to disasters.

por Rajeev C

2 de feb. de 2016

Superb course material and presentation by Prof Michael is simply awesome. Thank you so much for providing me an opportunity to learn through this awesome platform.

por Christian G G J

9 de jul. de 2020

Excelente curso, ya ha pasado un mes y no me he dado cuenta, muy entretenido y util, de como actuar es situaciones de desastres, 100% recomendado., muy buen curso

por LUCIO S

17 de abr. de 2021

the course is a comprehensive learning on disaster preparedness, what i like about it is the enlightenment on personal safety and survival planning on a disaster.

por Erwin Y A E

6 de may. de 2020

The course was very helpful, I learned a lot thing things that I can use for my family ang community, learning with University of Pittsburg is fun and enjoyable.

por Bhagya J

8 de abr. de 2021

I enjoyed the course very much! It was fun and quite relatable with loads of knowledge. Also liked the way it was intricately designed for better comprehension.

por Razvan V T

27 de jul. de 2020

I am grateful for this opportunity. Thank you so much, Prof Michael Beach and Coursera. I need to study more. It's been a great and enriching experience surely.

por Rachelle L

30 de may. de 2020

Very useful information that anyone should consider taking!

Thank you, I really enjoyed both the preparedness for Disaster and survival components of the course.

por ASHUTOSH T

16 de mar. de 2018

A course offering multiple insights in to family Disaster Preparedness.This course will be extremely helpful in surviving any Disaster situation successfully.

por Vetukuri j n b

3 de sep. de 2020

This course is very useful for each and every person. Not only the students graduates.. Etc it is help full to each and every person. Very use full course.

por Roman V

5 de jun. de 2020

This course can be very useful for all people on the Earth, I have gained a lot for being prepared for the a disaster on one hand as for our regular life.

por Lita L

23 de oct. de 2017

Great course. Everyone should be required to take this. There are disasters just waiting to happen in all parts of the country and the world. Be Prepared!

por Agapito D V C J

3 de jun. de 2020

Thank you very much for this course!

I really appreciated this.

Thank you for all the efforts!

Truly, it is an awesome course.

I've learned a lot!

God bless!

por Angela R

18 de may. de 2020

I graduated from the University of Pittsburgh and wish I had taken this course there.I highly recommend it! Thank you for making this course available.

por Miguel J R D

10 de jul. de 2017

Gracias por ofrecerme la oportunidad de aprender junto con Mike a través de la plataforma de Coursera. Espero poder seguir avanzando con vosotros.

por Romil A

18 de abr. de 2021

Simply excellent! Everybody in the community needs to learn this course on Disaster Preparedness because disaster and crisis do happen everyday

por Indra M D

14 de jul. de 2020

a very life long useful and important courses. thank you every one concern people who directly and indirectly involve to complete this course.

por Perumalu K

16 de nov. de 2017

Great course thanks to the teachers and coursera for creating this wonderful opportunities to learn l will definitely recommend to my friends.

por SUNAYANA C

24 de oct. de 2020

this course has provided good insight on personal survival during a disaster of any kind, its great skill to have knowledge on this subject,

por Sumaiya S

19 de jun. de 2020

A basic and must needed course for literally everyone! Provides clear and practical insight on disaster survival. Highly recommend this!

por abbas m

27 de sep. de 2020

I enjoy the learning of 'Desaster preparedness' in coursera and I am so happy because I could complete the course in the right manner

por Annabel M

6 de jun. de 2020

About the course, it is informative and really help me as mountaineers and a teacher. thakyou for the knowledge i gain from the course