Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.9
estrellas
2,707 calificaciones
936 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Principales reseñas

SS

8 de dic. de 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

JJ

21 de mar. de 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

Filtrar por:

401 - 425 de 932 revisiones para Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

por Themistoklis V B

26 de ene. de 2021

Excellent from start to end. Maths level required is very basic and still possible to understand only with words a lot of things that would seem complicated before!

por Giff

10 de oct. de 2020

Provided a very beautiful insight into non-intuitive concepts and the struggle to understand the marvelous structure of reality was indeed an ennobling experience!

por Silvia E F

18 de jun. de 2020

Me ha servido mucho.

He comprendido de que se trata cuando hablamos de Relatividad Especial

De como llegamos a las paradojas y como salimos de ellas

Gracias Profesor

por Vishal P

31 de mar. de 2017

IT WAS A WONDERFUL COURSE. THANKS TO CALIFORNIA UNIVERSITY AND THE PROFESSOR DR. LARRY LAGERSTROM FOR DELIVERING THE COURSE IN A VERY SYSTEMATIC AND JOYFUL MANNER.

por Pablo N E T

24 de jul. de 2021

U​na excelente manera de aprender por primera vez la teoría de la Relatividad, me parece que cualquier amante de la ciencia, del conocimiento lo debería realizar.

por Yan A

27 de jun. de 2020

A wonderful course that will enable literally anyone, even without any sort of mathematical background to grasp the idea behind the Special Theory of Relativity.

por Devarshi T

8 de jul. de 2019

This course is excellent. I want to know and learn about Einstein's special theory of relativety. This course tech me everything about it. Sir Thank you so much.

por Ilias T

28 de abr. de 2017

Great course!

Mr. Lagerstrom thank you very much for giving us your insight about Special Theory of relativity and more generally for your learning initiative !

por Kunal L

16 de ene. de 2018

A great course for beginners. While it does not cover a large number of topics, the ones it does, it tries to do slowly, thoroughly and with clarity of thought.

por Venkataraman K

29 de dic. de 2016

Very methodical & lucid way of explaining the concepts. Understanding of Special Theory of Relativity made relatively easy, pun intended! Thank you Professor...

por Nisnat C

1 de sep. de 2019

It was a great experience to learn such fascinating things in such a beautiful way, I believe it increased my eagerness even more towards this beautiful topic.

por Sivasankaran

23 de jun. de 2017

Fully Packed with knowledge !!. Best Course for First year students in physics and general people who are interested in physics and with no background in math.

por Pablo P

31 de jul. de 2020

Very formative for those without mathematic knowledge. It addresses the key concepts of special relativity at a very reasonable and undemanding pace. Thanks!

por Thomas H

27 de nov. de 2017

It is a great course for anyone who wants not only to learn the theory but to understand it and how it's creator Albert Einstein came to these discoveries.

por Dr. M U

26 de feb. de 2019

Best course to understand the basis of the Special Theory of Relativity, mainly for such guys who mean to understand this theory only by using mathematics.

por William H J

3 de nov. de 2020

A superb course that goes into an excellent amount of detail on the Special Theory of a Relativity, with well paced and engaging lessons and problem sets.

por Stéphen F

18 de jun. de 2020

Very pedagogic course on a fascinating subject that is not well understood by non-physicists, even though it is considered as scientific general knowledge

por Deleted A

21 de oct. de 2018

Thoroughly planned and thought-out course. excellent presentation, no technical issues; has a strong impact on the mind. wonderful course in all respects.

por Mindy Y

4 de dic. de 2017

An invigorating course that provides foundational understanding of the core concepts and theories in physics and Einstein's ingenuity. Highly recommended.

por Robert M

18 de ene. de 2022

Excellent mid-level course with the right amount of math. Instructor was highly knowledgeable and presented the material in a very understandable manner.

por jaider s m h

3 de jul. de 2021

Excellent, thanks to Coursera, for allowing me to do the course, it's nice, it helped me and I learned new skills, I was nurtured from the course, thanks

por Philippe R

17 de sep. de 2020

It is one of the best course on this topic I followed. The presenter is a very good pedagogic and speak a very pleasant English for non native listeners.

por Atharva A

28 de mar. de 2020

An amazing course for the Astrophiles and curious physics enthusiasts . The course is very well organized and its easy to learn . A great experience .

por 徐致远

25 de jul. de 2017

The course is great !

Thank you very much for you effort !

It is genuine the best explanation about special theory of relativity I've ever learn about !

por Vijay T

26 de may. de 2019

Great course. Totally appreciate the time and effort (and patience) by Professor to help me have a solid foundation on special theory of relativity