Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.9
estrellas
2,715 calificaciones
938 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Principales reseñas

BH

22 de jun. de 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

SS

8 de dic. de 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

Filtrar por:

476 - 500 de 936 revisiones para Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

por Laurel L

5 de feb. de 2021

Explained concepts so well and the math was understandable because the instructor didn't take any shortcuts in his explanations.

por Gary

22 de nov. de 2020

Excellent course presented by a very clear competent instructor. If I can grasp the concepts and the math just about anyone can.

por Pam E

20 de ago. de 2017

An excellent course with great videos explaining the concepts at a level and pace that could be understood. Thank you very much.

por Palak C

7 de jul. de 2017

This course was amazing. The way Proff. Larry Taught, was so subtle and understandable. I recommend this course foe enthusiasts.

por Laurel S D

19 de dic. de 2016

Great course. I have a BS in physics from Colorado School of Mines, which is a tough school, and they didn't explain it as well

por javier l

12 de abr. de 2020

Fantastic, best course ever. I sincerely congratulate Larry Randles for his great work.

Thanks, Javier Lázaro

San Sebastián Spain

por Deleted A

22 de ago. de 2019

The course was informative and took a very unique and simple approach to explain The Special Theory of Relativity to beginners.

por Tim B

6 de nov. de 2017

Very good course for people with little formal preparation in mathematics. The instructor explains the concepts very patiently.

por Oren R

10 de feb. de 2018

Very enriching, even to a 12th grade student. Well made, everything was well explained, The instructor was very professional.

por Meihe C

13 de jul. de 2017

Lovely course, the historical info along with the physics are delightful. Little math but the concepts are explained clearly.

por 341ClintonGonsalves 0

25 de jul. de 2021

This is a very good course. If you are a physics student and new to coursera this would be a very nice course to begin with.

por Bhakti R

8 de may. de 2020

the course was amazing and it was a wonderful experience to learn the special relativity through such professional teacher.

por P V C

30 de mar. de 2020

Thanks a lot for this course. I learnt a lot from this course and certified.i also got certificate .And it is easy to learn

por Abhay G

24 de mar. de 2022

Great course, really opened up my scientific understanding of things. Really changes the perspective of how we see things.

por Gabriel W R S

11 de sep. de 2019

Um excelente curso com um professor de altíssimo nível, que ensina com clareza e paciência. Recomendo a todos que o façam.

por Dieter S

23 de abr. de 2018

Well structured and explained. The course shows the advantages of a classical board in comparison to showing just slides.

por Alexander B

29 de ene. de 2018

Very nice introductory course for those who always wanted to understand what is the spacial theory of relativity is about.

por chenxiao

11 de sep. de 2017

it is really a wonderful experience to think beyond every life. it is better than any other science fictions. it is REAL!

por steve r

2 de may. de 2021

A great learning experience. It made understanding the special theory easy and a very special teacher/lecturer/professor

por RICARDO A A

30 de ene. de 2021

Great journey about Einstein Theoty. More than happy with the course. Congratulations to the teacher.

Thank you very much

por Jasper V

12 de jul. de 2018

Thank you dr Lagerstrom (and all other who made this course) for making it! It has been a great and interesting struggle.

por Maulik P

8 de jul. de 2020

This was really amazing. I would like to do another advanced relativity course with Prof. Langerstrom as the instructor.

por Tarunkumar C

11 de sep. de 2020

It is very informative from level zero to highest. Every topic covered sufficient knowledge. Overall very interesting.

por Noah D

5 de ene. de 2020

Very thorough, but relatively easy to understand, due to the use of appropriate analogy and well described explanation!

por Michael F

4 de nov. de 2018

Fantastic insight into Einstein's special theory of relativity. Great food for thoughts and excellent teaching methods.