Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.9
estrellas
2,685 calificaciones
929 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Principales reseñas

BH

22 de jun. de 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

SS

8 de dic. de 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

Filtrar por:

501 - 525 de 925 revisiones para Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

por DMcAllister

23 de jul. de 2020

The instructor for this class has a way of making the material very understandable and enjoyable. Excellent course!

por Natarajan D

21 de jul. de 2017

one of the best courses I have attended. Have explained complex concepts well enough to understand and think about !

por lui l

15 de jul. de 2017

This course is outstanding in every way. Very accessible,enjoyable and taught superbly. I can't recommend it enough.

por Tingna W

15 de ago. de 2020

contents are interesting. the explanation is clear. really a good introduction on the special theory of relativity.

por Mark K

15 de jul. de 2020

Excellent. With just a little bit of Algebra I now feel comfortable with Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity.

por Deleted A

5 de oct. de 2017

Very good course and great teacher, he really does his best to make things easy to understand but still with humor.

por Glen S

14 de mar. de 2022

Totally enjoyed this course and the instructor. Ready to move onto General Relativity course if one is available.

por Yaron K

10 de abr. de 2020

A step by step explanation of Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity from the basic concepts, with many examples.

por Jyoti C

21 de dic. de 2017

This course is good enough but so lengthy content and sometimes is is difficult to recall and answer the question.

por Sakthi A

28 de may. de 2020

This is the best course I've seen , the professor teaches such a difficult in an understandable way!! Hats off...

por Roberto C

18 de ago. de 2021

I warmly thank Prof. Larry Randles Lagerstrom for his exposition of the theory of relativity. Sincerely. Roberto

por Ezequiel M J

28 de mar. de 2021

(BR) Um dos melhores cursos que eu fiz na minha vida!!! // (US) One of the best courses that I did in my life!!!

por Timothy S D

27 de ago. de 2020

One of the best online courses I've ever taken! Loved it. Prof. Larry Randles Lagerstrom's lectures are awesome.

por Élyse L

3 de abr. de 2018

Love this. Everything is so clear and extremely well organized, I like the fact that sheets are available to us.

por Pauline F

19 de abr. de 2020

Thank you Professor Lagerstrom for the very interesting course on the Special and General Theory of Relativity!

por Taya P

9 de abr. de 2020

Отличный курс! Я очень плаваю в физике и геометрии, но, приложив усилия, смогла осилить и понять каждый урок :)

por Tomaz K

20 de ago. de 2019

Understandable for one with fair skills in mathematics and physics.

Simple explanation of non-intuitive reality.

por Andre D

10 de nov. de 2017

A bit tedious sometimes but quite rewarding once completed, especially topics covered during last week (Week 8)

por Akash S

11 de dic. de 2016

Amazing course! If you're looking to broaden you're knowledge in Physics then this course won't disappoint you.

por Matthew G

23 de ago. de 2017

This course provides a clear and accessible introduction to a theory that can otherwise be difficult to grasp.

por Federica C

18 de dic. de 2016

An interesting course, the special theory of relativity easy for anyone to understand and very well explained.

por Martha G

1 de may. de 2021

I was finally able to understand the special theory of Relativity. I am very happy to have taken this course.

por Ahad A

11 de abr. de 2020

This course was great and I finally can understand the concepts of the special theory of relativity! Thanks!

por Shubham S D

25 de feb. de 2018

Good material and great Tutors. Response from the moderators and mentors on discussion forum is very helpful

por Mudith N W

26 de abr. de 2020

This is the best course to learn relativity for a beginner. Hope to see more courses from the same lecturer