Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.9
estrellas
2,857 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Principales reseñas

AP

11 de ago. de 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

JJ

21 de mar. de 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

Filtrar por:

551 - 575 de 976 revisiones para Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

por Andre D

10 de nov. de 2017

A bit tedious sometimes but quite rewarding once completed, especially topics covered during last week (Week 8)

por Akash S

11 de dic. de 2016

Amazing course! If you're looking to broaden you're knowledge in Physics then this course won't disappoint you.

por Matthew G

23 de ago. de 2017

This course provides a clear and accessible introduction to a theory that can otherwise be difficult to grasp.

por Federica C

18 de dic. de 2016

An interesting course, the special theory of relativity easy for anyone to understand and very well explained.

por Martha G

1 de may. de 2021

I was finally able to understand the special theory of Relativity. I am very happy to have taken this course.

por Ahad A

11 de abr. de 2020

This course was great and I finally can understand the concepts of the special theory of relativity! Thanks!

por Shubham S D

25 de feb. de 2018

Good material and great Tutors. Response from the moderators and mentors on discussion forum is very helpful

por Mudith N W

26 de abr. de 2020

This is the best course to learn relativity for a beginner. Hope to see more courses from the same lecturer

por Rubens M A

11 de abr. de 2020

I have problems ina test ! I answered and got them all right, but it came out with a percentage of 66.6%

por Anay M

2 de sep. de 2018

Exceptional course with an exceptional instructor. Easy to understand, concise, yet incredibly informative.

por David E

24 de may. de 2021

Very good. Great lecturer and very quick responses to any question raised.

Will be exploring this further!

por Jasper W

20 de feb. de 2021

"Make haste slowly" words of wisdom as you take this course. Instructor is excellent. Highly recommend.

por HariKrishna

6 de abr. de 2018

best course for who loves Einsteina and his theory and best part of the course is the professor i love him

por Elena P

30 de jul. de 2017

Exceptionally well planned course, very helpful quizes and problems for practice and deeper understanding.

por Bo S

10 de sep. de 2020

Interesting with a historical perspective. Very engaging instructor. Good foundation for further studies.

por Marcos D

21 de may. de 2020

Exceptionally planned and taught. Many thanks to the Professor and to Coursera for this rare opportunity.

por Chris W

21 de abr. de 2020

An excellent course. Paced well and with clear consistent methodology and terminology. Well presented.

por Devyansh K

23 de may. de 2021

Amazing tutor, Great analogies to help understand, Great way of Teaching. All in all a wonderful course

por Thomas B

19 de abr. de 2021

Although much was review for me I enjoyed the lectures. The course was very well structured. Thank you!

por Paul T

7 de jul. de 2019

Thank you. I really enjoyed the course. Just the right mix of maths, theory and background information.

por alponte

5 de mar. de 2017

Very interesting and not so much difficult. The professor speak slowly and it's easy to undertsand him.

por D S M

5 de ago. de 2020

This course is really worth the time. And the professor is amazing.

He explains the course very nicely.

por martin s

7 de abr. de 2020

Wow. I think I now understand Special Relativity, maths and all. Very well taught course. Many thanks.

por Jose A A S

27 de jun. de 2021

Es uno de los mejores cursos que he pasado. Está muy bien estructurado y tiene un excelente profesor.

por Krista H

1 de abr. de 2020

So much fun and great lectures. Broken down in a great way for someone many years from math classes.