Chevron Left
Volver a Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design por parte de Google

4.8
estrellas
26,134 calificaciones
5,192 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design is the first of a series of seven courses that will equip you with the skills needed to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience design. UX designers focus on the interactions that people have with products like websites, mobile apps, and physical objects. UX designers make those everyday interactions usable, enjoyable, and accessible. The role of an entry-level UX designer might include empathizing with users, defining their pain points, coming up with ideas for design solutions, creating wireframes, prototypes, and mockups, and testing designs to get feedback. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define the field of UX and explain why it’s important for consumers and businesses. - Understand foundational concepts in UX design, such as user-centered design, the design process, accessibility, and equity-focused design. - Identify the factors that contribute to great user experience design. - Review common job responsibilities of entry-level UX designers and teams that they work with. - Explore job opportunities and career paths within the field of user experience. - Explain why design sprints are an important and useful part of a UX designer’s work. - Describe common UX research methods. - Identify and account for biases in UX research....

Principales reseñas

SK

8 de ago. de 2021

This course inspired me, before taking this course I have been used some UX Design communities, I have worked in Adobe XD Design. This course explains the right way and UX process. I like this mentor.

LP

9 de abr. de 2022

This course inspired me, before taking this course I have been used some UX Design communities, I have worked in Adobe XD Design. This course explains the right way and UX process. I like this mentor.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 5,610 revisiones para Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

por Benita A

31 de mar. de 2022

M'hean!

This course wa DOPE! I mean, the style of learning is way better than my experience in my Masters program.

The course guide is very intelligent, humble in his approach and succint... The style of intsruction was really clear.

Each lesson was backed up with graded assignments and activities that'd make students assess their knowledge, and practice active recall instead which tasks the brain to retain information better.

If you're considering taking this course (along with the 6 other courses in this professional program), then just go ahead. I even took the first step of creating a portfolio for my "FUTURE' DESIGNS; even though I don't have any design yet. What I'm saying in essence is that the course content and instructors makes you feel very confient in what your are KNOWING, you don't have to have fully mastered the course to feel confident.

By the way, we get to build 3 real projects as we progess in the course which we will upload on our portfolio...

Thank you very much, Google!!!

Thank you Coursera!!!

por Riz A

25 de mar. de 2021

"The building is a tall as the foundation is strong enough to build on"Excited completing the first module of the Google UX Design Certification course. A course which I wish I had when I started out in UX design seriously 10 years ago. I certainly enjoyed it because I entered the course with a learning mindset. Putting aside all the things that you know, experiences and unlearning what you have learned on the job, there are new things which I learned. A few takeaways from me—inclusive design, accessibility which I rarely get the opportunity to even work on this, and my favourite, personal branding as a UX designer. This got me seriously thinking deep about values and personal statements. Thanks to Michael Cedric k, Lisa Fischer, Shabnam Kashani, Kartik Rao, Juan Angustia, Josh Lucas for putting together these content and making it relevant. I can see this took months to put together. Looking forward to continue this with the Googlers in the rest of the course.#growwithgoogle #userexperiencedesign #uxdesign

por Sohrab P

19 de oct. de 2021

I learned a lot, but the most important thing for me is the attitude of big companies like Google in software development, giving great importance to user experience design.

Things like accessibility and its importance and design for a billion people who do not currently have access to the Internet and mobile phones (NBU) really change my view of software design and development.

The way of teaching the content and the detailed view, which was present in Design Sprint, for example. That all the details were mentioned, even the ice breaker.

Topics like impostor syndrome were also explained to remind novices that their fears and anxieties are normal, and someone as vice president of user experience at Google (Catherine) talked about their shared experience. It was wonderful and unique.

I have about fifteen years of full-time teaching experience in college, and what impressed me most about this course was its outstanding perspective and unique teaching methods.

por Liudmila M

23 de jul. de 2021

Overall, the course is brilliant, well-prepared, and affordable.

A few things did bother me, though:

1) I felt a bit forced to join the social media sites/ communities. They explained how to participate and network well, but I could have created the profiles at the end of the course. (the complete course)

2) I found the course had a specific target audience: young enthusiastic professionals. That's the impression the tone of the course gave me. It didn't seem inclusive enough for older people or those who struggle mentally, for example.

3) The course educates about Usability, but some of the examples of profiles and websites were not user-friendly (in my opinion, anyway.)

I did give the course 5 stars because, overall, it was well-organized, and I will definetely continue participating in it.

por Elizabeth W

6 de ene. de 2022

An excellent introduction into the UX Design career. There is a lot packed into four weeks: an introduction into the career, the role of a UX designer, how you fit into different UX work models such as design sprints, and how to brand yourself as a professional UX designer. Within each week, the content is broken into bite-sized video lectures, readings, activities and discussion forums. It's engaging, yet flexible enough for me to go at my own pace and still meet deadlines. I just finished and feel confident, ready for the next phase of the Google UX Designer certification program!

Anyone curious about UX should take this course- it gives you a great understanding of the industry and a better feel for whether a career in UX is worthwhile to you!

por Eve

29 de abr. de 2021

I had seen a lot of videos of UX Designers talking about their careers on YouTube, but none of their insight provided me with the solid understanding that this course did. Despite it being an introductory course, you learn so much about UX Design, its principles, methods, and what the day-to-day may look like for you. They prepare you to build your portfolio and professional network, which is an invaluable asset for any aspiring designer who is really passionate about learning and going the extra mile to be the best they can be. I highly recommend this course. I learned so much and gained critical insight into UX Design. The friendly, easy-to-follow guidance makes you feel valued without having entered the field yet in an official capacity.

por Aisana S

20 de jun. de 2021

this is just an amazing course! it exceeded all my expectations.I have already taken other courses on ux, but the course from Google does not compare with anything! it is the best and most up-to-date. I'm really glad I found it. an incredible amount of useful information! I heard great stories from the lecturers and the lecturers themselves are very cool. excellent, up-to-date and real-life portfolio examples - all at the highest level. great job, Google! I liked the part of the course about design sprints and the part about personal websites. it was difficult in the segment about the personal brand, I will definitely return to the study of the fourth week. thank you guys! I'm moving on to the next second year!

por Lisa D L

24 de mar. de 2021

This course gave me a thorough understanding of the field of UX (jobs, companies, career advice). I really enjoyed the videos from those working in the field of UX explaining how they landed in the field. Now I have a better understanding of concepts such as universal, inclusive, and equity-focused design. This course gave me a solid foundation for understanding what UX is, how it works, the tools that are used and their advantages. The Readings were quick reads and super informative. I've been working in UX for a few years, but after this course, I feel more knowledgeable about the field. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to gain a thorough understanding of the field to build on for future courses!

por Anshu P

27 de jun. de 2021

I​ absolutely LOVED the course as it is really well structured and well-guided! It introduces you step-by-step not just to learning 'user experience' but a guide to how to go about it - from building portfolio, personal brand and networking. The activities and assignments are really helpful that helps you to remember the topics and and follow along for building the presence and starting out. All of those steps are really important and it is good to start with those first as you can then only focus on creating later on! I was concerned with some reviews saying that the portfolio should have been a part of a later course, but I disagree. I love how well-structured it is and absolutely fantastic to begin with!

por Xenia K

19 de sep. de 2021

I am delighted with the course! When I just started to study, I was very afraid, doubted that I would be able to take the course at all and I had a big problem - I understand very poorly in English. I promised myself that I would just leave the course if it didn't work out and I would just try to study. But then I passed the test of the first week, then the second and noticed that I already understand quite well. The course is superbly designed! All information is structured, templates and examples are attached. The speakers are very nice people who are pleasant to listen to and learn from them! Thank you so much! With great desire I want to cross over to the next course and go to the end!

por Sarah M

25 de ene. de 2022

As someone completely new to this material, I found the information to be easily digestible, well organized, and exciting to learn. I believe it would be useful to add a feature to allow you to capture notes from readings and an option to exit the small video player when scrolling down on the video pages. Even though I didn't need to read the video transcripts for accessibility reasons, I still found it useful to read them while adding to my handwritten notes and wished that I had the option to exit out of the small video player in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen at certain times. Overall, it was a great introduction, and I am ready to continue on with the program!

por Harriet H

5 de jun. de 2021

What a great course! I really enjoyed it. The only gripe I have is that in the impostor syndrome section, I would have liked to see more variety in the experiences shared. There was a young man in the beginning who emigrated from the D.R., who was self-taught and made his way up to working at Google. A lot of the portfolio examples were from people who went to really great colleges like SCAD and Carnegie Mellon. Having a little more representation of people who have taken less traditional paths and made it to Google would be uplifting to people in this course, since it seems like everyone who works as a designer at Google went to Carnegie Mellon, Stanford, or SCAD.

por Shaza M D

28 de abr. de 2022

The whole course was so interesting for me; it was so fruitful and I benefited a lot not just as a UX designer in training, but as a human who wants to be the best version of herself. The most exciting part for me was when I started creating my portfolio, creating a personal brand and online presence. For me, It was more than just a course, it's a life changing course. All the activities were fun, and I got to learn a lot of things some of them I had no idea existed, and some others I knew but never understood until I took this course.

I'd like to thank Google from the bottom of my heart, and the amazing team for taking time to create such an amazing course.

por Patricia

28 de ago. de 2021

T​hanks to Coursera and Google for this amazing course.

E​very part was developed in a coherent and easy to follow way. Understandable course with clear insights.

It's not just a UX course, but it is UX itself. I found that is actually focused on what the student needs to know. They teach theory, practical cases, stories from real people, and how to boost your professional life.

It took me more than 4 weeks to finish it, but that was because I am the type of person who likes to recap and check details.

I​ highly recommend this course for all of you - who are checking the review section-.

H​are Krishna and my best wishes to the instructors & students.

por Melissa B

12 de dic. de 2021

Great intro to the field of UX Design. The instructor was very clear, easy to understand and informational. The course is definitely intended to be for people with no working knowledge of UX Design. I like that everything is broken down into bite sized chunks. Even if I only had 30 minutes, I was able to get through a lecture and reading and feel like I was still accomplishing something and pushing forward even during a busy week. Highly recommend for anyone even considering the field of UX Design. You don't have to commit to the full certificate so if you find it isn't for you, no problem. Excited to get started on the second course!

por Joe M

16 de may. de 2022

The course was good. I enjoyed the content and instructor videos. I wished I was better matched with peers though for my reviews, or was able to dialog a bit with them on the reason for their comments or grades. I submitted my project for peer reveiw and it was quite apparent that the native language of the peers who graded me was not English nor were they able to synthesize all of the parts of my project to see how they fit together. I had all of the requirements in the project, but got downgraded by my peers because of their lack of understanding. It will be frustating to continue if I am reviewed by more peers like this.

por Jodi V

15 de abr. de 2021

I loved it. I already knew some of the information, but hearing it again from a different company from company employees in the industry is refreshing and interesting.

I feel inspired to continue. I can feel what Google's culture and brand may be like. It's a positive experience.

From a technical view, I love the multiple methods used in each week's work. I love the videos with transcripts, available to be slowed down or sped up. I like the questions and readings. The only thing that was a little off is the interaction between peers. Some people don't post much substance or reply.

I can only dream to work at Google one day.

por Elena M P

25 de feb. de 2022

Had a really pleasant experience learning in a such well planned course structure. Every single explanation was so well thought and organised, that now I feel I could easily explain ux concepts to non-ux designers. I am grateful I had the chance to actively participate in the discussion forums, see others' work and receive feedback from peers. Feeling even more grateful I switched career to UX, field that gives me the entire freedom to combine passion with work. Overall, I really appreciate the foundation I received throughout this first course and can't wait to get to the finish line of this program! Thank you, Google.

por Estefania C D r

11 de abr. de 2021

Is the first time I feel that I have really learned and enjoyed a course. It seemed important to me to solve each proposed activity even those that were not necessary to complete. I liked that through the course the experiences of different Ux designers were shared, it made the experience within the course nicer and also, gives me an idea of the type of job I'll have when I become a Ux designer. I appreciate that over the weeks, websites about design inspirations were shared. Now, I signed up in accounts where I start following blogs and people who works as designer, it'll help me to have more skills and contacts.

por Kyrsten K

26 de ago. de 2021

T​his course is for real. It's challenging but not overwhelming. I did all the exercises, posts and readings to the best of my ability. One could coast through, clicking assignments as complete but far less would be learned or accomplished. It's an excellent introduction to the field of UX design. It asks students to begin some of the most intimidating aspects of any career up-front: networking, defining your brand and creating an online presence. The Googlers are encouraging, personable and inspiring. If this is what UX designers are like, they are the kind of people with whom I'd like to spend my work-life.

por Md T R

11 de ene. de 2022

Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design is the first of a series of seven courses that will equip you with the skills needed to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience design. UX designers focus on the interactions that people have with products like websites, mobile apps, and physical objects. UX designers make those everyday interactions usable, enjoyable, and accessible. The role of an entry-level UX designer might include empathizing with users, defining their pain points, coming up with ideas for design solutions, creating wireframes, prototypes, and mockups, and testing designs to get feedback.

por Andrew X

4 de jun. de 2021

ok! I really enjoy this experience, I recommend this course for an entry-level Designer, it's concise and right to the point of the most important topics to start a great carrier as a UX designer. Back then in 2007 when I started my Multimedia Design studies, I would love to have this knowledge about the User experience so clear, condensed, and well explained as I had it now. But the level of experience I achieved through all these years of dealing with all kinds of challenges on my carrier path, I consider is invaluable. Even though I'm happy 😉 and ready to continue with more Lectures. 🐯🤘🏽

por Mahantesh A

3 de jul. de 2021

Amazing Course! The course itself is equitable. I have learnt about the foundational concepts in UX design, such as user-centered design, the design process, accessibility, equity-focused design and the factors that contribute to great user experience design. I have had the opportunity to gain knowledge about the common job responsibilities of entry-level UX designers and teams that they work with. Also I've learnt how I can create an online portfolio where I can showcase my works as a UX designer and the reasons why design sprints are an important and useful part of a UX designer’s work.

por Qisthina Q

28 de abr. de 2021

I honestly love it, I think it is an absolutely great way to have your foot into the UX design field, especially if it's something that you're passionate about but you're someone who doesn't have a design background.

It is relatively easy, the quizzes and activities really help solidify your understanding of what you've learned in that week, plus, you're not alone! There is an active community in the discussion prompts so you can always interact with other fellow learners on whatever - whether it's the topics covered or past experiences that you can relate back to UX design, etc.

por Brittany B

5 de ene. de 2022

When I started this course, I had absolutely no real knowledge of UX. Now, I feel ready to start making work and break into the industry at full force. Toward the end of the course, they talk about how to overcome imposter syndrome, and I've found that to be especially helpful as that's something I realize I've been suffering with since high school. Thanks to this course, I've finally completed the decade-long task of creating a professional online portfolio, and getting started with social media platforms and online design communities. I'm extremely excited to move forward!