Chevron Left
Volver a Grammar and Punctuation

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Grammar and Punctuation por parte de Universidad de California en Irvine

4.7
estrellas
10,474 calificaciones
3,173 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Principales revisiones

R

Oct 09, 2017

Hi, Learn the basic of the English grammar and the rules on writing, which so important to writing. Enjoyed and learn so much that will help overcome fear writing.\n\nThank You, Again\n\nRobert Perea

DV

Nov 12, 2015

I am very satisfied with this course. It really helped me to improve my writing skills, and I am feeling more confident than I used to be.\n\nAfter this course, I am planning to take up the next one.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 3,149 revisiones para Grammar and Punctuation

por Jamal O M

Jan 19, 2018

It was really helpful foe me. The skills I learned from this course was identify adverb clauses and punctuate them correctly, identify compound sentences and punctuate them correctly, identify and using sentences variety in writing. Also, I learned about parallel structure and how to use them in my writing. I will recommend this course for other student.

por Kosuke Y

Sep 14, 2016

This course teach us many grammar rules which we haven't learned ever. One of those rules is punctuation. After completing this course, you will be able to not only write English sentences better but also understand documents written in English easily. This course is definitely useful for everyone who know the grammar well but cannot write sentences well.

por Jennifer W

Oct 14, 2015

This is an excellent refresher course to brush up on grammar and punctuation. Prior to taking this course, I was an overzealous user of commas. Now, I know when to use certain punctuation and how to explain it to others. I definitely recommend this course for anyone wanting to revise English grammar and punctuation for the purpose of teaching or tutoring.

por Abdullina E

May 23, 2020

It was really helpful!

According to an IELTS, I had an Upper-Intermediate level of English. So, I've decided to take some classes to fill my blank spots in grammar and punctuation, and I couldn't find better way to do it. I highly recommend this course to everyone who has any problems with the understanding way the punctuation works.

Thank you, Coursera!

por Jennifer M C

Dec 13, 2015

The course was very helpful. At first, I was skeptical on what I could learn from it since, in general, I feel confident with my English level, and the program seemed rather simple. However, upon completion of the course, I believe I've learned quite a few things on how to structure my writing in a correct way, which in turns makes it more efficient.

por Nyanza L R

Oct 10, 2015

This course is engaging, fun, and very informative. I would suggest everyone should take it even if English is your native tongue. It will help you understand how and why our sentences are structure and deeper understand of the language. I am thoroughly enjoying this course. I really enjoy interacting with the other students that is most fun!

por Hiba A

Jun 02, 2019

Firs of all, I have to thank coursera for get this practicing. It was smooth and flexible with my work and time. Another cause of this high rate, is the way of lectures presentation which they are given simply. Coursera helped me not only have new tips, but also order my adeas and study plans. Best Regards,

Hiba AL-Faili

por Susan E H

Dec 01, 2015

I enrolled in this course to fine tune my writing skills for work. I enjoyed this course because I was able to unlearn some bad habits and simple mistakes. The lessons are simple and move at an even pace. If you are a native English Speaker, some of the lessons will be easy for you. In my personal opinion, this course was a great refresher.

por Manpreet K

Jun 05, 2018

Its a very good course for me .I like this course. I learn so many ideas and information about writing skills.I never spend long time on computer , but when I use this course I almost forgot about time . After finished this course , I understand so many topics like; types of sentences, about using commas, clauses, and parallel structure.

por Sia

Jun 11, 2017

This course is awesome. I have learnt a lot from this course. This course has highlighted some important aspects in writing such as verb tenses, complex and compound sentences, conjunctions, parallel structure, and sentences variety;nevertheless, the videos were all helpful. Thank you very much to University of California and Coursera.

por Jaderson L d L

Jun 10, 2016

I am Brazilian, and I have been studying English since 2011 as a second language. So far, I have not found I course like Grammar and Punctuation. What makes the difference is that it explains the content in a simple way so that students can learn easily. Besides, I learned things on the lecture videos that I had not learned until then.

por Wendy-wen

Jan 04, 2019

Actually, It's difficult for me to finish even one course in Coursera because I'm lock of good quality of persistence of doing something. By the way, I am so happy and grateful for my accomplishment and insistence, and I am so proud and cherish for I could have a such opportunity to take this lessen . Thanks all of you teachers here.

por Omar H S

Oct 26, 2016

The grammar and punctuation course was a learning experience for me not only I enjoyed it but also I learned a variety of concepts for an effective English writing ;yet, it's still the beginning,you will learn about the exact situation where to put the commas and many different rules don't miss it.I guarantee you,you won't regret.

por Lyn C

Dec 10, 2019

I loved this course because it was very thorough, and took a very complicated and confusing subject and made it easy to learn. I thought I was a champ at grammar and punctuation, but I soon realized that there were more options and rules that I did not know. The examples given were really good to use as reference in the future.

por prem s

Mar 08, 2016

First, I thought I wasn't going to get anything out of this course. But then I realized my writing had improved after finishing this course, I was really suprised to see that . Thank you for all your effort in making this course possible.I look forward to taking some of other courses in the same specialization. Thank you again!

por Sherif B

Nov 07, 2019

Excellent course. However, I suggest having mentors to answer questions through the course in a forum because students are not able to answer all confusing points themselves. In addition, in the practice exercises, it is better to add an explanation to clarify why one result is right and why another one is wrong. Thank you.

.

por Andrés R C

May 18, 2019

Me parece un curso increible para aprender a escribir en inglés. Nosotros como hispanohablantes tenemos problemas para escribir ideas concretas en los textos. En este curso aprendí a formular enunciados más complejos de forma correcta y a usar las puntuaciones mejor. Es fluido y bastante entendible, lo recomiendo ampliamente.

por Anita P

Feb 13, 2016

There were couple of things I was always confused during the sentence making. After this course, I was able to use interrupting phrase, transition words, parallel structure, and sentence variety much better. Grammar and Punctuation is a great course for people who need a quick refreshing of the grammar and punctuation rules.

por Syed J P

Nov 30, 2018

This course is really helpful to me in writing research papers. I really like the of explanation of topics in in this course from UCI as they are short videos, but very informative.I personally feel it is the one of the best way of teaching. Thank you very much for giving this opportunity.Keep going and continue good work.

por HARSHKUMAR C

May 24, 2020

This is the best course I have ever learned before, so I would like to learn more courses. It is heaven for a student like me, who lives in a far place, and where is not a good English environment. For my side, I advise you to add more examples in the video lecture, and I have found some exercises not opened correctly.

por panzhiwei

Dec 20, 2015

I give 5 stars to this course because the materials of this course are very basic but very important, Such as Verb tense and Punctuation which I did not full understand in the past. But now, after finishing this course, I am more confidant about my writing. Thanks to the teacher and my classmates, you help me a lot !!

por WANG X

Jun 10, 2016

As a college level academic English teacher, I've learned quite a lot from Tamy's lessons. Tamy's instructions are very clear, systematic, and effective. This course can be a very valuable supplementary resource for EAP students' self-study. I will definitely recommend this course to my students. Thank you very much.

por MRMC

Jan 10, 2016

This course has taught me a lot of reminding about what I have already learned but have forgotten about them and served to validate them again. Excellent on line course and FREE AT THAT. Can't get a better deal than that. Congratulations to those involved in putting up on line such very informative and fun course.

por Zeb

May 01, 2020

First of all, thanks to the Coursera Team and the University of California, Irvine, for offering us such a great learning opportunity. This course not only equipped my thoughts but my fingers, as well. Furthermore, the course enhanced my writing skills, with perfect usage of commas along with sentence variety.Thanks