Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to HTML5

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to HTML5 por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.7
estrellas
20,761 calificaciones
5,600 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Principales reseñas

SP

Apr 16, 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 5,536 revisiones para Introduction to HTML5

por Yusuf T

Mar 20, 2020

Too basic, very little content.

por Nikita G

Jan 20, 2016

Terrible lectures and quizes

por Arkopravo D

Jun 07, 2020

No deep knowledge gained

por Arpit A

Jul 01, 2020

not tell HTML5 all tag

por Piyus K

May 18, 2020

content is very bad

por Noah

Mar 26, 2020

boring

por ANKIT G

May 21, 2020

🤘🤘

por Shrushti A P

Jul 10, 2020

no

por Amio G C

Sep 14, 2016

This is the best course for a complete beginner. The presentation of the course material is very friendly, the instructor was really great and the quizzes were perfect. The only thing I would like to suggest is adding more coding exercises. But as it stands now, it is still fantastic!

I see some people have complained about the final project auto-grader of this course. But you should know that the final project now has additional quizzes (related to the project) and even though the auto-grader sometimes makes mistakes, you can compensate that by answering the project quizzes correctly.

If you are a beginner in web development, "Introduction to HTML5" is the best start you can possibly have. Most importantly this course will give you the confidence to take more advanced courses in future.

por Ivan S V

Jun 24, 2020

Excellent course on HTML5. Covers the basic tags and actually teaches you to do something. Some of the optional material helps you learn much more about the web and its history. I like the focus on semantics and accessibility. Semantics helps us to build a better internet, where machines can better understand the meaning behind our pages to build a smarter web, which will help AI and humans as well to better use the knowledge that we put out there. Accessibility in this course is always mentioned and it helps us to build a better internet for everyone, a more inclusive web.

Those two aspects, Accessibility, and semantics make this course different. I will really suggest anyone interested in learning the basics to take it. (excuse any spelling errors, English is not my primary language).

por Kara W

Jul 29, 2020

I can't say enough about the instructor Colleen Van Lent . I wish she taught every course on Coursera. She's that amazing. Some people just have an extraordinary gift for teaching. The other programs on Coursera could use her expertise to be honest. I took 3 different Coursera classes this month, and the HTML5 course was the absolute star. The lectures are laid out perfectly. Colleen's expertise and personality shine through in every video, making HTML5 fun. Yes, I said FUN! Not only that, she provides excellent resources for further education and for completing assignments. Why isn't she famous?

The web design/html5 program will be the only program I wish to continue on Coursera. Why? Because it is actually effective! You feel like you are well on your way to becoming a developer.

por Heather J

May 27, 2019

I've really enjoyed this course. It was a completely new thing for me to try and the lectures and quizzes were all very accessible. Colleen has been a great and very pleasant teacher and I would certainly like to do more.

The only thing stopping me from doing the CSS course is time, because it is so important to be able to spend time experimenting with what you've learnt. This is something that I've struggled with, but I'm hoping that in the near future, I will find time to dedicate to another course.

I look at the web in a different way now, and the people behind it - the history and ethos of the industry, I found particularly interesting.

Thank you for creating such an accessible and thorough introductory course.

por Thoa T

May 26, 2016

Very helpful for absolutely beginners. The content is well-organized and materials are carefully picked to provide concise, easy-to-read information for learners. Lectures are clear, well-presented, just-right informative; accompanied by the great public speaking skill of the instructor, they are hence not intimidating or boring at all. Another plus point is the instructor constantly urging learners to go beyond "the passing point" and learn more on their own, which is a very key mindset to keep up with the fast, ever-changing landscape of Information Technologies. Don't feel lost or scared, since she'll provide you with great resources for further learning and references!

por Daniel R

Jan 18, 2016

I definitely Recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn about the basics of web design, HTML5, and coding. The way this course is setup is perfect for beginners with its extremely helpful and insightful readings along with the course lecture video s. The professor has really done an amazing job of teaching and engaging students through the videos while also giving helpful resources and tips for students to venture on their own and investigate the topics further. I highly recommend to follow along, especially with the coding, when the professor suggest it. It will really help out in the long run and help you become familiar with the process.

por Heather S

Dec 28, 2015

Challenging at some points, but if you push through it is well worth the hard work and effort. Dr. van Lent seems very passionate about the topic and it shows through in the lecture and assignment videos. Even if you're already familiar with HTML4.01, this course is worth taking to quickly brush up on the changes in HTML5, as well as learning accessibility features for users who may have one or more disabilities. I learned so much in this course even though I already knew the basics of coding and HTML4.01 Strict. This course got me interested in learning more about UMich's programs and enrolling in more courses with Dr. van Lent. Highly recommend!

por Holly S

Feb 26, 2018

The instructor is fantastic. Her videos are very easy to watch (never painfully awkward or difficult to understand), and I appreciated how personable she was for a computer science MOOC teacher. She's great at covering this material for those who have absolutely no experience with HTML. I've been working with HTML for about a year, now, but since I am self-taught, starting at square one was helpful because I learned a lot of little details I'd missed before, and I was able to connect the dots on "why" we were doing things in a certain way. My overall understanding of and confidence with HTML was definitely increased by this course.

por Beatriz C

Aug 27, 2016

I have little to no background in programming. After this course, I feel confident in proper designing a basic web page. I never thought too much about how web pages look, now I have an appreciation for the skills and thought that go into designing a page. Dr. Colleen van Lent is a wonderful professor, explains even the most complex topic in a way that I could understand knowing nothing about html5. I felt motivated to start coding. I thought about how accesible pages need to be, and how to incorporate this into my code.

If you don't know anything about programming or are interested in web design, this course is for you.

por Pauline

Oct 05, 2017

Although I had already some html-knowledge from other courses, I enjoyed the repetition of the basics and I learned many necessary subjects for the first time (accessibility, how to put your websites online, the most frequent mistakes and how to solve them, the interesting history of html etc.).

The lecturer made a great selection of topics that give you a quick but good basic to start exploring the possibilities of html5. She taught it in a very accessible way, but it was mostly her humorous and energetic personality that kept me highly motivated throughout the course.

Many thanks to the developers of this course!

por Monique O V

Nov 27, 2019

Colleen van Lent is an excellent teacher. Professors of all stripes, particularly those in STEM domains would do well to adopt her teaching style.

She explains concepts clearly and succinctly, and she does it without reading from a script like so many teachers on Coursera do. She speaks naturally and has a sense of humor. Her teaching style is that of a real human being sitting beside you, showing you how things work. After taking this class, I'm absolutely confident of my ability to write correct HTML5 code that is semantically correct and accessible to those with impairments or disabilities.

por Nkemdilim C

Jan 04, 2018

This course was amazing! Back in undergraduate, I struggled through the programming prerequisite in my Psychology program. Had to take it 3 times and hated it by the end. This course sparked a whole new interest and passion for programming that I never believed I could have. I thought, I'm not smart enough or technical enough for programming...until now. This course gave me the foundational skills I need, as well as the confidence to pursue web development (and possible app development) as a career. Thank you van Lent for presenting this material in such an approachable and incremental manner!

por Zawar W

Aug 13, 2017

I am a CS undergrad, in my first year i know a lot about programming but i was uncomfortable with even trying to make a web page that will be made how i choose it to be. With this course, i not only learned how to add content of my choice, but also adding video and audio to the page and images too! The thing that differs this course from online pages is that this course emphasizes on accessibility, i believe that is something that creates a line between those who learn by adding colors and seeing the output and one who dissects the core foundation of the product. I'm glad i took this course.

por Suparna R

May 31, 2020

One of the best online courses on HTML5. The course syllabus was quite vivid, wide-based, and detailed, ranging from scratch to the best! Besides, the Course Instructor, Colleen van Lent was outstanding as she guided through all the hooks and corners of HTML5 and discussed even the points where students can stumble upon or make flaws! Being a beginner with zero knowledge about web designing, this course is simply a boon to rely upon! I am whole-heartedly satisfied and have gathered much confidence up till now to explore more in the domain of Web Designing. The experience was simply Great!

por Liran M

Jan 24, 2016

The good: This course really shows how to code in the 'right' way both syntax and semantics, so the theory is covered better than in other courses. There are good explanations on how to host your site, whch is not less important than learning coding.

The bad: More examples and practice are needed, it's hard to get everything so quickly. I had some initial background so i handeld that ok, but for total newbies it might be too frustrating. The final assignment should be changed imo to peer review, the quiz is not the right way to do it imo.

Thanks, learned alot.

por Randi L G

Jul 14, 2020

Very well rounded and informative introductory course to HTML5. I was able to learn a lot from both a standpoint of basic knowledge and in considerations about accessibility, validation, and peer to peer interactions in coding in order to ensure that I'm able to construct the best possible code that I can as I continue practicing and improving my web development skills. Many thanks to Dr. Colleen van Lent and the staff at the University of Michigan for offering this course on Coursera. I look forward to taking the next courses in this specialization!

por Juliana S R

Jul 24, 2016

This course is not about learning more, but learning better. And this will definitely leave you knowing more and better at the same time. Amazing introductory course. Straight to the point, teaches you valuable practices and guidelines to write HTML5 that not only works, but works correctly and is accessible for everyone. I recomend it not only for HTML beginners, but for anyone who likes to learn effectively.

Thank you and congratulations to the amazing Lecturer of this course and anyone that has helped putting this course together.