Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Imagemaking

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Imagemaking por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.5
estrellas
2,043 calificaciones
424 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Principales reseñas

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrar por:

326 - 350 de 419 revisiones para Introduction to Imagemaking

por Anastasia O

Jun 17, 2018

I learned a lot about imagemaking but I wasn't sure what the point was about making a book. It was fun but I felt "bookmaking" should be another class.

por Fergus N

Jun 14, 2016

Very enjoyable and encouraging course - I haven't used watercolours since I was a child and this course prompted me to go back out and try them again!

por J-Man

Mar 25, 2019

Quite a free and open guide which kind of minimises it as a tutorial. However it shows how iteration and alternative methods can help with creation.

por Sarah N

Nov 03, 2016

This course is very good for beginners of using images and need to know how to set images together and anyone did not studied graphic design before

por krystal G

May 05, 2020

It's a good course that introduce me to art and design. Anyway, it take a lot of time and might not suit for who didn't have basic in art.

por Lana

Mar 24, 2019

I felt like standalone course its probably good, but as a part of specialization it is a bit repetitive of the design introduction course

por Chimdiebere A

Sep 21, 2020

The course was a very enlightening one. I liked every bit it. I would like it if the course could cover digital image making in details.

por Seung H L

Sep 09, 2020

I did not like how less people contribute to the course.. some people neglect the comment and don't read some comment about the artwork.

por Mihaela-Lucia M

Aug 25, 2020

great course for learning and practicing your skills. I gave 4 stars because some of the assignments were unclear and a bit confusing.

por Nannie A

May 15, 2016

This course teach you to think out of the box and if you have the courage and try, you will take it for the rest of your life.

por Hibah D

Jun 09, 2020

The course is incredible, it gives a wide range of options to execute the assignments beautifully! I learned a lot

por Jelome C

Jan 14, 2017

I liked how there's such an open approach to the course and it gave me a lot of chances to practice design.

por Kelly L

Apr 07, 2018

I wish there was more lessons on specific creative techniques. Otherwise good class. Well worth the time!

por Beverley H

Oct 25, 2016

Really enjoyed the challenges it made me face with designing my own booklet.Has inspired me to do more.

por Justyna B

Jul 12, 2019

Great course and quite heavy on the assignment part. Nevertheless, this is where true learning starts.

por Susan M

Mar 24, 2017

Good introduction to important workflow concepts for creating and designing publications from scratch

por Kasturi K

May 30, 2020

very very interesting , highly recommend if u looking for a good course to do during this quarantine

por Eumorphia K

Jul 20, 2016

Very interesting through creative assignments you can learn and refine things about image telling.

por Stacey J J

Jun 11, 2020

fun course - lots of hands-on assignments and the videos did a good job explaining the concepts.

por Winnie W

Jul 14, 2017

More theory and example will give students more detail about image making. Not only a notion.

por Mohamed K E S

Jun 26, 2017

again for this kind of course, peer review isn't really effective.

but the content is nice.

por MUSTAFA O

Apr 08, 2017

Thanks for this creative course that learned us different ways andaspects of image making.

por Chris

May 10, 2020

Great video content. Assignment targets can be difficult to understand at times.

por Kolya K

Feb 16, 2018

Nice course of superb specialization. Wish it could be a little more detailed.

por Lisa H

May 21, 2017

Nice, hands on course where you really get to the practical parts of design.