Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function por parte de Universidad Rice

4.7
estrellas
1,049 calificaciones
212 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

Principales reseñas

AR

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

OZ

Feb 18, 2020

The course presents with excellent step-by-step detailed explanation of immunity from the systems biology perspective: starting on organism level and going down to the cell and mollecular levels.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 210 revisiones para Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

por Lorenzo T I

Oct 04, 2020

This is a knowledge-packed course and the instructor is very lively and engaging in her teaching. I would definitely finish all the courses in this specialization.

por Haydee T G

Aug 11, 2020

Excelente curso, la expositora es muy didáctica ademas de simpática. Amplio muchisimo mi conocimiento en esta área que ha avanzado increíblemente. Un gran curso.

por Mahima D

Jul 28, 2020

A difficult course for non-biologists explained in a very simple manner. I really liked the energy which with the instructor takes these classes. Appreciate it!

por Jorge L L S

Jul 18, 2020

It was an amazing course, In med school we don't receive enough immunology classes and It's really important for understanding each disease and their treatment.

por Robert N

Sep 10, 2020

Really understandable up until week 5 and 6 where it gets complex. Although the lecturer does a great job of giving real-world euphemisms for complex topics

por Samantha L

May 11, 2020

Professor Novotny creatively engages students and makes learning interesting and understandable. I really enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it.

por Dr. J M

Jul 11, 2020

I was very happy and benefitted learning this online course. Hope this has improved my basic/fundamental in immunology and will help my research as well.

por Snega M D S

Jul 03, 2020

I really loved the course and it did meet my expectation. But if the content were organised it could have been great. My instructor was really amazing.

por Irune I P B

May 29, 2020

Muy bueno, realmente está bien explicado. Es una materia compleja pero no se nota por como se explica. Muy dinámico y didáctico. Totalmente recomendado

por Annu k P

Jul 20, 2020

Its was an amazing course as I ya microbiologist student it help me alot to understand about organ, immunity, ag-ab interaction.. Really enjoyed it..

por Abhinav B

Apr 24, 2020

I had a wonderful time doing this course! Professor Alma is a phenomenal teacher who made me understand all of the concepts at ease and a lot of fun!

por Giovanne D

Aug 07, 2020

Excellent course. The professor is very interested in how the student will visualize and understand the matter. Also, it is a very complete course.

por Werner S

Jun 08, 2020

This is a fantastic and very instructive course. It is really fun to watch the lessons, the material is excellent. This final exam was a bit tough!

por Romit B

May 30, 2020

The course was very interesting and enlightening. Professor Alma has explained topics in a very interesting manner. thank you for this opportunity.

por Nikhil K S

May 14, 2020

The course was immensely helpful for me and had attractive explanation through model and pictures which gives more insightful view of the subject.

por Nicolas B

Jul 03, 2020

it was an interesting course and the lecturer really made the work simple to grasp and the per review feedbacks were really assisting. Thank you.

por Sierra C

Mar 25, 2020

I actually really loved this course. I found it very interesting and I learned a lot more on a much deeper level than I initially expected.

por Miguel F P

Jan 06, 2020

It is excellent if you want to know how your body works without being afraid of getting lost in dense concepts and complicated vocabulary

por GIACOMO S M

May 29, 2020

This course is very useful for anyone who is starting to study immunology or wants to improve his knowledge about general immunology!

por Vignesh I

Apr 16, 2020

Simply amazing!! Really appreciate the work done by all the people involved in this course. I was able to learn a lot!

Thank You :-)

por Jhon J O M

Jun 30, 2020

Es un excelente curso que permite aprender las bases de la inmunología y a su vez profundiza en muchos aspectos. Muchas gracias.

por kristin v r

Apr 05, 2019

Great Professor. Funny and explains material well. Gave me the real quirky science teacher experience that I loved in Undergrad.

por Raviraj P

Sep 28, 2020

Course was really helpful and gave a correct and required information. Each and every topic was well explained and interesting

por Keerthana M A

Jun 27, 2020

Was really useful and interesting, especially because words came with meanings and references. Her enthusiasm is contagious.

por Nivedha M S

Sep 12, 2020

Amazing Course. I'm happy that I got to appreciate innate immunity and the functioning and production of B cells. Thank you.