Chevron Left
Volver a Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Internet of Things: How did we get here? por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

3.9
estrellas
857 calificaciones
269 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Principales revisiones

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

FH

Mar 29, 2016

I think i can never get the introduction to telecommunication and web integrated together in such an awesome pedagogical manner. Thanks for providing this course.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 259 revisiones para Internet of Things: How did we get here?

por Raghupati Y P

Feb 16, 2020

Irrelevant Quiz questions to the Modules taught...

por SHUBHAMBHAMA

Sep 08, 2018

No practical explanation.Very unsatisfactry

por P T R

May 11, 2020

Quiz is very tough and lots of time need to spend on it.

por SATHISH A

May 18, 2020

More historical information and looking of technical details

por DIVYANSHU G

May 08, 2020

The issue with this course happens within the second week. The first quiz of the second covers material not discussed in the video lectures, not in the required reading, not in the optional reading, and there are no suggestions on how to/where to find this information. As I continued along with the course all the quizzes were the same way. A 4 question quiz should not take several hours of internet searching and several attempts over many days just to pass the quiz. I have my degree from a real university and any quiz was based on material we learned and had the materials to learn information. The beginning of this course is seriously lacking in information so as to provide the student with a reasonable opportunity to pass.

por Aw Z Y

May 18, 2020

Quiz questions are very hard and usually not related to the lecture videos. One tip of advice is to search for answers through the Discussion Forum as most of the answers can be found there by searching for the questions directly or searching the quiz name (e.g module 4 lesson 3). In overall, this course is quite boring as it mainly provides a lot of historical information relating to IoT that can be quite overwhelming.

por Saqib H

Apr 19, 2020

After so many days i just realized i was wasting my time because there is no material in the quiz which are discussed in the lecture videos.

Really dissapointed

The newly added videos of Ganz are good and more easy to understand.

por Sebin S P

Apr 18, 2020

Quiz have no relation with the video or reading materials. Not a motivating course for IoT aspirants. The quiz answers, especially one words are not valued properly

por K D

May 11, 2020

The approach is disturbing. Some aspects related to historical aspect of innovation that let to IoT technologies as seen today, may be approached differently.

por BHABANI S P

Feb 13, 2019

Professional courses are expected to be more technical and hands on. Few of the assessments were confusing.

por Shreyam K

May 17, 2020

The course structure and content were irrelevant to the topic. Sometime it felt useless.

por Jacques P

Feb 10, 2020

The course provides little to no material for study. Not all quiz questions are covered in the material provided. I had to use google to search for some of the quiz answers. Even with the help of google, the answers submitted aren't always accepted. The course could be improved by rechecking the quiz. One of the question asked which was the false statement but it should has been true instead of false.

por Tan Z Y B

May 19, 2020

The course instructor was bad with many pauses and fillers like he is not sure of the material. Questions from the quiz are not related to the lectures as evident from the discussion board. The only redeeming factor is Ganz who made it more interesting and whos questions are actually from the lecture

por Toh F H

Jul 03, 2020

so much irrelevant content that's not related to iot and unfortunately, the practice quizzes. i felt like i learnt nothing.

por Lim Y R

May 19, 2020

most quiz questions were not covered in the videos. Videos were rather boring and not really educational

por Natasa T

Apr 19, 2016

A great historical overview of technological development that led up to the establishment of Internet of Things. Some concepts are flown over too fast, so if you don't have prior familiarity with them, they may be difficult to fully grasp, but educating students on every single concept that led to the IoT in depth is not the intention of the course anyways, and would take a lot longer than 2 weeks. I recommend noting down all interesting technical discoveries, principles, concepts etc. mentioned and doing some further exploration and study for one's own satisfaction, but as an overview of all tech development, and an overview of what IoT is and its applications, this course did a great job in my opinion!

por Matthias S

Nov 15, 2018

definitivly an interesting course, which provides a good overview on communication technology. It presents very well the evolution of communication and networking. Interesting historical details are given. Quizzes might partly a bit tricky and require carefull study in the internet.

por Cora C

May 10, 2016

A tremendous historical review of the legacy of inventions and protocols that got us to this point. The world should know that the Internet of Things would not be possible were it not for a myriad of large, and small, steps in the last century.

por Egidijus Š

Jan 25, 2016

I would suggest to review quiz questions, because in some cases several answers are correct, but still just one accepted as right one. But in general very good course with very broad introduction to telecommunications and IoT. Thank You!

por Mubashir H

Oct 06, 2016

it was very good to learn from the best brains of an institute , it helped me a lot to know about

How Telephony goes digital , Shifting Landscapes, what happen to dial tone and many more .

thanks to you, you are doing a great job.

por jack w

Feb 02, 2017

I learned a lot about telephony that I had not been exposed to in the past. It's a shame my father wasn't still around as he was a data technician for AT&T back in the day. We could have had some interesting conversations.

por Darshan R

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,

I really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..

Thanks a lot..

por Gergely P

Jan 05, 2016

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

por Fuzail H

Mar 29, 2016

I think i can never get the introduction to telecommunication and web integrated together in such an awesome pedagogical manner. Thanks for providing this course.

por Shubam J

May 07, 2017

It was a wonderfull experience to learn IOT with all of YOU and it was totally a pleasure for me to attend the sessions!

Thanks for making me a part of that!