Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Cyber Attacks

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Cyber Attacks por parte de New York University

4.7
estrellas
2,049 calificaciones
548 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course provides learners with a baseline understanding of common cyber security threats, vulnerabilities, and risks. An overview of how basic cyber attacks are constructed and applied to real systems is also included. Examples include simple Unix kernel hacks, Internet worms, and Trojan horses in software utilities. Network attacks such as distributed denial of service (DDOS) and botnet- attacks are also described and illustrated using real examples from the past couple of decades. Familiar analytic models are outlined such as the confidentiality/integrity/availability (CIA) security threat framework, and examples are used to illustrate how these different types of threats can degrade real assets. The course also includes an introduction to basic cyber security risk analysis, with an overview of how threat-asset matrices can be used to prioritize risk decisions. Threats, vulnerabilities, and attacks are examined and mapped in the context of system security engineering methodologies....

Principales reseñas

HI
3 de mar. de 2020

I'm so glad I could complete this course as I look forward to continuing other courses on Cyber attacks. Its been helpful as it gave me the background knowledge as to what is needed in Cyber Security.

PH
27 de jun. de 2020

Ed is a very engaging instructor and tries to make the content applicable and understandable. I would recommend this course for anyone who is looking for an introduction to the world of cybersecurity!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 546 revisiones para Introduction to Cyber Attacks

por EKLAVYA B

8 de may. de 2020

This is very good course for the people who want to learn about cyber attacks/security from the beginning. Wonderful experience and looking forward to grow my knowledge in Cyber Security.

por Ross B

11 de oct. de 2018

Great course. Nice overview of frameworks and models to view security with perspective and then develops further on risk models. I felt the final quiz was a little too subjective.

por Ján Š

19 de ene. de 2020

Great lecturer and great content. Only thing I missed were presentation slides with structured content. Thank you for the course.

por ARUL G C S

5 de abr. de 2020

It is very help full for me. I have learnt many new thing from this course. It helped me a lot to develop in my career.

por Mahdi b

6 de abr. de 2020

As an introdution, its an optimal course.

por Enida C

3 de may. de 2019

Great course.

por Weston B

16 de may. de 2020

Overall, I give this course a 3 out of 5 stars (I would say really 2.5 but the system doesn't allow that so I rounded up). The content of the course is great. The presentations and most of the readings really mesh well together. For those looking for an introduction, this is a good start. I took this course to round out my own experience in Cyber Security and will continue the other courses. I removed one of the stars due to links to some of the readings no longer working and one of the optional readings being, in my opinion, misplaced for this course. To explain the latter, there is an optional reading with a time frame of 30min for two chapters. This is far from the correct time frame and the book is pretty dense. On top of this, it really isn't connected all to well with the course materials. It kinda felt like a waste of time. The other start removed is based on the quizzes themselves. In some cases questions had assumptions made or wasn't clear on the question itself. The ones with assumptions didn't have such info revealed to the student resulting in confusion in getting answers wrong. So, I believe that if the course is revisited to be cleaned up and the quizzes are void of questions with assumptions (unless they are defined) and to be less confusing in wording, this would get a 5 stars from me.

por C A

2 de sep. de 2020

I enjoyed the beginning of this course. The material really set a foundation for the rest of the course. However, I do think that much of the required readings are not essential to the course as they are incredibly advanced (despite this being a beginner's course) or loosely related to quizzes and lectures. Also, the discussion forums are mini ghost towns. The moderators are not active and there is this feeling that you are the only one taking the course. I do think that I would have had the same satisfaction of completing this introductory course if I had just read the professor's book on cybersecurity, which I really enjoyed. Also, it is written that no prior programming experience is needed, but to understand some of the readings, you definitely need some knowledge of the C language.

por Anthony M

3 de may. de 2020

Overall I enjoyed the course content and learned a few new things. The weekly assessments and final project on the other hand need work. There were several questions in the weekly assessments that could not be answered correctly and the final project, even though it was emphasized that there are no right or wrong answers if justified correctly, was in fact graded on a right/wrong answer key.

por Leonard A

9 de mar. de 2019

I understand that getting the big picture of threat/asset matrix is important, and yet I think it should be mixed in with some more interesting areas of cybersecurity. Maybe mixing the second course with the first would make it more interesting? Anyways, I thought it was tedious, and also boring and very subjective coming to the end of it.

por Andrea R

5 de may. de 2020

Some issues in the access to course documentation and no moderator presence in the Forum to support questions. Course is really an introduction useful to catch some basic concepts and glossary also if, in some part, is presenting quite deep arguments in programming not easy understandable to the full platea.

por Stan T

4 de mar. de 2020

I was hoping for more "meat." Perhaps the other courses in the specialization will delve more deeply technically.

por Symeon M

3 de abr. de 2021

Developing robust software applications in every industry sector, e.g. Finance, IoT, Insurance, cyber security best practices are a must. Excluding them give potential access to unauthorized users access to sensitive data, jeopardizing the integrity of any information you might provide. Nevertheless, cyber security is a very vague area, as trying to fix any possible attack could be proven very costly. The course gives a very good theoretical understanding of when and what actions should a company do in order to protect their system and give priorities to any potential threat.

por Shawon P

2 de abr. de 2021

Trust me! At the beginning, I thought it was just a common cybersecurity course that we find online now-a-days. But as the time progresses, I found the concepts and information provided in the course very interesting and at some point changed my entire view of the security management ideas. I am so driven that I decided to take the other courses of the same teacher because I believe I would find some hidden treasure there which can help me redesign my academic knowledge and career development.

Thanks a lot for this incredible knowledge sharing.

por ADEBAYO A

30 de ago. de 2020

The world of Cyber security is that of a cat and mouse. Anything is actually possible and a lot is happening in this budding world. Watching some of the recommended TED talk videos left my mouth ajar as they depict the sheer power of curiosity, patience and technology combined. The course helped in bringing to unison the garble of a thought I have of cyber attacks and security. It's everyone's duty to be information security conscious. With IoT, your blender might just be the asset that gives of your credit card details. Fascinating right !

por JAMPANI R

18 de abr. de 2020

This course is student friendly and it is not required for you to have any background in the subject. But you do need passion towards the subject and interest in the field. The instructor Sir Edward Emoroso is so cool and has such a good grip on the subject. His teachings are straight and simple and he made it easy to have fun learning the subject. I am looking forward to pursue my career in this field and I would be grateful for any further guidance by the instructor or anyone in my field.

por Andrew Z

26 de nov. de 2017

I'm happy with the overview this course has provided me as I begin to study more about cybersecurity. Prof. Amoroso is fun to listen to and has a sensible seeming approach to breaking into the material. This course is broad strokes and I think applies to many areas of our lives, not only cybersecurity. Each module took me about three to four hours. I completed this course in about two weekends in my spare time. I am a software engineer and have a background in computer science.

por Mujeeb u R L

28 de jun. de 2018

Loved it !!! Such a great course with concise and best approach to security-cybersecurity specifically.I was absolutely new to getting into a course on cyber security. Before this I had the same idea which everyone, student individual person, has in his mind that security course means go and learn hacking and attacks and all that. But this course gave extremely amazing look and image of what actually cyber security and Risk management in terms of security actually is.

por Debayan D

22 de sep. de 2018

This is amazing course. Instructor and the course content is just perfect.

A student will learn many new technologies like Man in the Middle attack , RISKS and THREATS , CIA i.e. pillars of security , Password protection and much more.

Thank you instructor for helping us to know so many things . I am surely gonna go through all the courses .

I also wish to be the course Mentor. As an individual i have learned how to manage presentation and also how to teach others.

por Mohamed N

7 de sep. de 2021

I think this is a very interesting and fruitful course I recommend it to all professional in related fields.

I also here I want to convey my warmth greeting to Prof. Ed. Amoroso, who makes every audience be full attention through his well-organized lectures, motivative vivid easy speaking, and straightforward core ideas pronouncing.

Finally, I like to thank Coursera and NYU for letting me having these invaluable courses.

por Steve N

7 de dic. de 2021

It is a great overall course and start to getting into information regarding the field of Cyber Security. Where I would recommend improvements are to the quiz sections. Knowing why you got something wrong can be just as helpful as why you got something right. Just having an incorrect mark on a choice made it harder to learn why that answer was wrong, or for some of the questions why it was the least correct.

por Nguyen T

19 de jun. de 2020

Dr. Amoroso is amazing! This guy has so much passion for Cyber Security, you can see and feel it in his presentation style. Dr. Amoroso is like that really cool uncle who wants to break down Cyber Security in an easily digestible way so that you don't embarrass him if you meet some Cyber Security professionals at conventions. I have learnt a lot from this course. Oh, and have you bought his book yet?

por Ian B

21 de ago. de 2020

This course was highly informative and also very well designed and organized. Dr. E. Amoroso did an exceptional job in presenting the somewhat technically complex content in a really enriching and engaging way. All of these aspects positively contributed to my deeper comprehension of the content and otherwise, facilitated my successful course completion. Thank you to all who made it possible!

por Gustavo L D

17 de ene. de 2021

Very interesting MOOC with an excellent instructor who is passionate about cyber security. Some of the readings did require further CS knowledge (e.g. the buffer overflow one) and some of the quiz questions seemed to go beyond a week's content. Otherwise, this course helped me to gain a better basic understanding of cyber attacks and risk assessment.

por gabriel v

27 de jun. de 2021

With this course, I was able to learn the basics of how cyber attacks occur and how they are carried out. During this course, I learned how to deal with real situations in internet networks of large technology companies and other sectors. All I have to say is, Gratitude to Professor Edd Amoroso for teaching me virtually with his classes.