Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Calculus por parte de Universidad de Sidney

4.8
estrellas
3,215 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Principales reseñas

AF

8 de abr. de 2022

An excellent course, especially if like me you had done some calculus in the past and wanted a refresher. David is an excellent, clear, and attentive tutor. I can't recommend him enough. Many thanks.

OM

26 de sep. de 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 985 revisiones para Introduction to Calculus

por ZapperonUXVero

18 de mar. de 2020

It is a great and efficient introduction to the basics of calculus!

por Bashir A

20 de oct. de 2021

A fantastic course. It helped me to self-study calculus.

por Euan B

17 de ene. de 2021

Well constructed with useful information and a good lecturer. Was very fast paced however, and struggled grasping key concepts that were important to deeply understand before moving on to future topics due to the overall speed of the course. In summary, a good course.

por Yash K S

21 de mar. de 2021

Every point is cleared by instructor in lectures. Good learning and content is very clear and understable......

thank you......

por Iekaa G T

18 de ago. de 2020

I had a hard time understanding some lectures and the exercises were a bit tough.

por RAJESH K C

15 de sep. de 2020

Many Quiz Question are not completely given.

por Ksenia M

2 de jun. de 2022

Personally didn't like the course due to the format of explanation - the person who explains the simplest concepts formulates the explanation in a fairly lengthy way. I'd rather to find some textbook and go that way than listening to stretched lectures like that.

por Daniel S

2 de feb. de 2023

I have gone through Calculus 1 and 2 at university many years ago, and wanted a refresher. What I got was much more: a new perspective on the material with a sense of discovery I had never experienced before. Professor Easdown has organized and presented this at times challenging topic with great clarity, eloquence, and enthusiasm. I am now more than caught up on what I once learned, and I look forward to continuing my personal exploration of this fascinating and very useful branch of mathematics. And should Professor Easdown ever develop other online courses, I certainly wouldn't hesitate to enroll.

por 黄金

19 de mar. de 2022

Coursera上的《Introduction To Calculus》是一门能让人感受到数学之美的课程。她的内容不多,只讲到单变量微积分的换元积分法。但是每一个知识点都是从简单的知识出发,由逻辑推理而来,最后回到应用中去。而我在学习其他数学课的时候,往往需要先记住一堆莫名其妙的公式,这多少让我感到不适。

课程一开始就把代数和几何联系在一起,用几何图形来理解代数概念。第一个模块讲数,自然数、有理数、实数等等,这是多么简单的知识,一开始我觉得很无聊,但是教授用“数轴”把各种数联系在一起,又让我觉得挺有趣。美妙的事物总是从简单开始,从几何的角度上看,函数就是曲线,导数就是曲线的切线,积分就是曲线下的面积。从代数的角度看,曲线、切线、面积都是函数,它们通过微积分联系在一起。

几何能帮助我们理解代数,代数能帮助我们走得更远。比如面积的积分是体积,体积的积分是什么?曲线的导数是切线,切线的导数又是什么?我们很难通过几何把它们想象出来,但是对代数而言,它们都是函数。

这门课会讲到高斯分布,它是概率论的基础知识。这门课也会讲到logistic function,它会用于机器学习的梯度下降,把特征值缩放到0-1区间。这门课也会讲到如何计算宇宙第一速度,你会发现牛顿当年的发现其实也没什么“了不起”的嘛。

por Aaradhya S

12 de jun. de 2021

This is the most brilliant course of introductory calculus , professor David teachs in such a succinct way that you will feel very comfortable with new concepts very early on and will acquire fluency relatively fast . The modules are very well designed and the teaching method is outstanding . I would wholly recommend it to anyone who would like to learn true mathematics in its true context , not only learning formulas and their mechanical implementation. I thank University of of Sydney and Professor Easdown for this excellent course.

por Connie F

22 de jun. de 2022

This course was perfect for my review of my undergraduate Calculus (30 years ago). I am a high school math teacher who needed to review in order to teach Calculus to my students. This course took me the full 5 weeks to complete. I worked between 3 and 5 days a week. Some days I spent 4 hours working through. However, I worked every example problem on my own first, taking lots of time reading prior to watching the lesson videos. I feel like I have had a very thorough review and look forward to teaching my students Calculus!

por Russell L M

16 de jul. de 2022

This was a very well taught course by an enthusiastic professor who genuinely cared about his students' grasp of the material. I found the 'reading notes' to be especially useful for review and complete understanding of the concepts. Unlike the discussion forums in other courses, this one was very active with the professor and his assistants immediately answering learners' questions. I highly recommend this course to everyone who might want to learn about the basics of Calculus.

por Miguel A J A

19 de sep. de 2021

Buenas tardes, en lo personal el curso me parece muy interesante, me hizo pensar, recordar y repasar. Lo único que se me dificulto es que toda la información esta en ingles, y me tardaba en traducir y entender. pero a parte de esto todo el curso muy interesante.

Pregunta. como puedo obtener el Certificado del curso, porque al iniciar no lo pague, ojala y pudiera pagar para que me envíen el certificado. gracias. saludos

Miguel Angel Juárez Aguilar

Tepatepec, Estado de Hidalgo. México

por Dylan B

3 de feb. de 2022

The best course I have been a part of. Professor Easdown presents this interesting subject like a story for the you to discover. This is not a course to be rushed. If you take your time and allow your head to wrap around each of his lectures, you will be able to solve the problems presented by knowing what you need and why it works.

The course has relit my passion for mathematics.

Thank you very much, and I really look forward to seeing the next course of yours soon!

por Gabriel M

24 de jun. de 2021

Instructor David Easdown is amazing! He makes math... fun (insert surprised face emoji) and gives real-world examples of everything that is taught in this course. There are times that he goes a little fast but everything is explained in the notes that accompany every lesson if you need to slow down and review the material. I plan on using the skills I learned (differentiation and integration) in future engineering and circuit analysis courses.

por Chin j t

1 de abr. de 2021

the course content is really great, your visual aids are astounding and tremendously aid in enchancing understanding. The pace is good and explanation is thorough, well grounded and illuminating, You complement the lesson with real life examples which makes mathematics sound really useful. However, i think you should make the questions harder. I managed to finish all practice questions and graded questions over 4 days.

por aborucu

4 de abr. de 2021

This is a pre-calc course and Instructor is highly motivating students to develop understanding of topics which were confusing for me. He does this by breaking subjects into small bite sizes. So I had the chance to both refresh and/or grasp missing concepts that hindered my understading of calculus. Of course it's not a full fledged course but it made me confidently pursue calculus topics of interest afterwards.

por Nikhil S

21 de ago. de 2022

Prof. David is able to convey the fundamental of Calculus easily. It was easy to follow through the entire course. The summary at the end of each chapter helped me recall multiple techniques. The pdf note in each session is detailed. There was a proper synchronization across all the modules. Nothing felt out of place. I would recommend the course to anyone who can spend at least 3 days a week amidst other work.

por Yuriy M

4 de jul. de 2022

It is an excellent course. It is designed in such a way that you are gradually developed from 0 level in calculus to the level when you understand it. Every concept is explained in simple words and concepts so that you do not need to ask any help. After that course calculus became for me "a general thing for general people", not a monster for mathematicians

Looking forward for the next courses from this tutor

por Manaranjan p

28 de may. de 2021

One of the best courses I have take so far. I was looking for a course which starts with some basics of precalculus and the course was exact fit. I have been working on ML for last 3/4 years and was looking to do a calculus course for a very long time. Very happy to find this course. The pace, content, explanation, practical tips, quizzes are perfect. Thanks Prof.David Easdown. You are amazing!

por Jerry H

25 de ene. de 2023

This course is fantastic. I do not agree with those who commented that the lecturer only covered the main ideas while the quizzes were way too difficult and did not provide answers for learners. If you fully understand the key concept covered in the lectures, then you are supposed to solving those quizzes correctly. Otherwise, I would suggest you go through the notes and lectures again.

por fengxinxin

23 de sep. de 2022

This course is sososo great! The professor illustrates every steps in details in order to make them accessible to students of different level!! SO KIND!! And the content of this course is also fruitful and progressive! Everyone should give it a try! The most important thing is that this course let me know the beauty of calculus that stimulates me to go deeper in the future.

por Sarah P

2 de feb. de 2022

Incredible, Prof. Easdown is easily one of the best mathematics lecturers I have come across. Calm, crystal clear explanations which expose the student to the wonder of calculus without overwhelming them. I have tried many calculus courses, and this was the first that actually helped me feel like I was getting anywhere. Thank you so much! Highly recommended for anyone

por Tsai-Yun L

18 de mar. de 2021

Best instructor ever - passionate, elegant, and smart! The teacher explained concepts and theories of calculus not only very clearly, but also elegantly. I really enjoyed this course. It is a very well planned and well paced introduction to calculus course. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to start learning calculus! And a big thank you to Prof. Easdown!

por erdem h

23 de mar. de 2021

Good teaching methods applied in this course. The lecturer seems enthusiastic throughout and is well informed about the subjects he teaches. I liked in particular that harder questions were actually solved in the study materials and in the quizes were relatively a bit simpler ones. This way supposedely students are also likely to complete the course. Thank you.