Chevron Left
Volver a Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software por parte de Universidad Duke

4.6
estrellas
5,737 calificaciones
1,200 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Principales reseñas

FA
7 de oct. de 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM
15 de oct. de 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 1,179 revisiones para Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

por Sebastián C

10 de feb. de 2018

I enjoyed it a lot, it was well explained and some of the quizzes were challenging enough to reestructure my method for testing my program more than one time. The videos were pretty good and I think they covered most of the subjects you needed to for the assignments. Of course, there is some practice you'll need to do by yourself sometimes and that includes going into the documentation and looking for some methods or clarifications but that is understandable, considering that in any course with some degree of difficulty you will need (most probably than not) to practice a bit in your home.

por NAVEEN R

5 de may. de 2020

Wish I could give more ratings. I have always believed in project based learning where you learn something only if you are going to use it. This class first introduces some problem, then gives the tools to solve them and you don't have to remember every syntax. With practice, it just sticks in the brain.

This course is even better for those who are transitioning from similar language like C++ or C#. I myself used C++ for last few years. But this transition was so smooth. Really loved it. Looking to complete more Java Programming courses in this specialization.

Best Wishes!

por Belyaev

19 de dic. de 2015

I really liked the course mainly due to providing a clear vision to all sub tasks needed to solve before and during programme development; I liked very much that the solution is started with problem statement and analysing; this helps to set good practice to problem solving and decision making: before digging into implementation one must understand the task; analyse it and get what is involved and needed to say the job is done and then find a solution, implement it and check that implemented solution does what it was intended to do; thank you very much for clarifying it

por Yang Y

2 de abr. de 2017

I so much enjoyed this java tutorial class. The design of each clip/module is very humane and best for the learning from scratch. I have finished this class and the one after it (array list one). I feel very confident about learning Java language and I am heading for the next one (software design principal). I plan to finish all of the 5 courses and then buy the certificate so I will be sure I am not waste my tuition. I am leaving the 1st class (CSS, html) for the last one before capstone because it seems not so relevant to SDE training but more frontend/UI.

por Snigdha U

12 de sep. de 2018

Loved the complete course.

Finished it within a week.

Coming from an automotive background having not done coding in the past 2 years, I had taken this course as a challenge.

I had very little knowledge of C++ and fair enough knowledge of MATLAB, and i found this course very engaging that i turned on my zombie studying mode and just did this until I finally finished it. Looking to take the next course in the specialization.

The instructors have done a splendid job and the efficacy of the course can be seen in the completion of the course by a student like me.

por Anand R

17 de oct. de 2017

Excellent course. The instructors do a great job of introducing Java to the beginner. The assignments are VERY interesting. They are not the run of the mill small programming assignments that you might find in your average course. By the end of the course -- once you complete the mini-project -- you get the confidence that you know programming and can program at a high level. I highly recommend this course and this specialization. (I watched EVERY video, and completed EVERY assignment, mini-project and quiz in this course.)

por Yuliya K

3 de sep. de 2020

This course is very helpful for beginners to learn how to interact with Strings, to get some basic knowledge about looking up info in the documentation, and to have some practice by writing methods from easier to harder ones. BlueJ environment is really easy to use and beginner-friendly. I would recommend giving more versatile test cases, as it was done by the mentor in Strings-Second-Assignment in Discussion Forums. Providing test cases with the expected result is invaluable and helps to improve the code.

por Matthew M N

18 de jun. de 2020

Way better quality than anticipated! It was comprehensive, detailed instructions and the right amount of just enough challenging assignments with some left to discover for yourself but not impossible really added to the experience. Compared to other online courses, I really felt the quality and methodology of the teaching, materials, interlaced questions and assignments and quizzes really all came together. One of the best online learning experiences ever! My compliments to the Duke U staff and Coursera!

por 李婷

30 de sep. de 2020

Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software is a wonderful course for students from the kind of programming beginning. It is easy to start and the assignments are easy to be finished. The course material is basic but helpful. Unlike other Java courses, the assignments are highly harder than the course. This course I can master nearly every piece of the materials.

Thank all the teachers and staff members! The course not only teaches me knowledge but also give me the self-confidence to learn more.

por Edward F

10 de jun. de 2017

I took the full Specialization, so I'm going write the same review for each of the 5 modules.

This is a great course, but it's not for beginners. They ask you to do a lot of coding, which is great since that's the only way to really gain proficiency. And the code they ask you to write is, in my opinion, pretty hard for someone new to coding. My hat's off to someone new to programming who makes it through the five modules.

So, thanks to Duke for putting together a great course. It was very good.

por Alexander E S R

24 de oct. de 2020

This has been one of the best courses I've taken so far. I highly recommend it to anyone who whishes to get a really solid Java syntax concept, as well as putting into practice all of the learned theory from the lectures found through this wonderful course. The teachers have an excellent teaching technique, and all of the course is easy to understand, but there are no challenges missing, specially regarding the quizzes we take as enrolled students. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

por Robert K

9 de jul. de 2020

Great course! Really helped me get to grips with Java in preparation for my master's program. There are a few omissions, like making sure people know to import the different libraries in earlier problem sets, and there was a weird "trick" question where the answer was that there was only one gene in a very long string of DNA which was just kind of unhelpful cause I debugged that for a while before realizing I had the right answer all along. Overall great course!

por Sarah M

11 de jul. de 2020

I've completed 4 different courses to date on Coursera and this is by far the most immediately transferable across different disciplines. I've already started playing with the ideas and coding knowledge learnt for my own use and with examples of my data from work. These 2 Duke courses I have done so far have been excellently laid out and the coding assignments meticulously checked with quizzes so I feel that I am learning and can't wait to keep going!

por Bryan Y

1 de oct. de 2016

I would have preferred a more mainstream compiler, i.e. Eclipse, rather than the provided BlueJ. But, the BlueJ compiler is capable and the lessons taught were appropriate to one with minimal programming background. Not stated, but I would recommend a student in this course have a basic understanding of math, i.e. average, highest in a set, lowest in a set, etc. If you are intimidated by those concepts, you may be challenged in this course.

por Szymon T

26 de mar. de 2016

Very nice introduction to Java. Of course using BlueJ and EduDuke libraries (that is libraries crafted specifically for the course that are nor used in real life) gives this feeling of not coding for real. But that's good. Real coding comes in the later courses of this specialization so this approach seems to be very good for introducing people to Java without wasting to much time to details being unimportant on the early stages of learning.

por Brendan S

11 de oct. de 2019

This class is a gentle, beginner-friendly introduction to programming in Java. There are lots of short, interesting programming assignments that help provide an immediate application for the concepts covered in the lectures/quizzes. While it's not listed, I'd say that students should be generally familiar with basic math (on the order of high-school algebra) and the basics of how computers work (in terms of file systems, etc.).

por Lourdes R

24 de jun. de 2020

This is a good introduction. You don't need much background in formal programming. I came in knowing only MatLab and that was more than enough to get me through the course. If you don't have any background, I recommend watching the first two chapters of the youtube videos they recommend at the beginning of the course. In a snapshot, you will learn about: classes, objects, strings, loops, conditional statements, and csv files.

por Joseph P

20 de dic. de 2017

I was a bit nervous after the first week because there's a LOT packed into the end of week exercises. On the one hand, it enabled me to learn quite a bit but the inaccurate time estimates (10 mins) were way off. I would plan on at least 2-4 hours doing the exercises at the end of each week. That's NOT a bad thing because DOING is the best way to learn. The presentation videos were top notch and I'm glad I powered through.

por İsmihan İ A

31 de oct. de 2020

Thanks for providing this beautiful course! Everything in the course was well explained and very beneficial to those who want to improve their problem-solving skills with software. Course content and syllabus was great designed and far from unnecessary details. Even though it has released almost 5 years ago it's still a comprehensive and up-to-date course! And the teachers are really knowledgeable and fluent about the topic.

por Himani

31 de may. de 2020

I came to learn the basic seven step processing which is really helpful for solving any kind of program may it be java or any other language. the way the lecturers have explained was really pleasing. the discussion forums were helpful to the best and we get the reply from the mentor within a day.This course was really a great start and i will definitely look forward to uptake few more courses from coursera.

THANK YOU

por Srijan K

25 de ene. de 2020

In this course I learnt about method to break down any complex problem into simpler form and then implementing it using java programming.The fascinating thing that I learnt in this course was to solve real world based problem using java programming.

I highly recommend this course to student who are new to computer programming and want to learn more about solving real world based problem using computer programming.

por Amitesh S B

7 de ene. de 2018

Excellent course, I loved the projects at the end of each week. The tasks looked daunting at first, but as I began solving the problems and completing tasks one by one, it did not feel scary. The thing that I loved the most about this course is the satisfaction it provides at the end of the course, I can't praise this course enough. Its the best course on Coursera I have ever taken. Nothing comes close to this.

por Cyrille M

22 de oct. de 2020

This course is well structured and there is no doubt I learned a lot. However, the first week was relatively difficult compared to the later weeks which are more interesting. There are lesser directives and some students could give up before even visiting the true content of the course. I suggest that week content remain the same but there should be more guide in the assignments just like in the other weeks.

por MD R K

23 de abr. de 2020

This course helped give me a very sound knowledge on how to solve problems in Java. It greatly helped as the instructors were very precise and gave clear instructions. The seven steps on how to form an algorithm for any given problem has greatly developed my problem skills. I am really grateful to Coursera for giving me the opportunity to get to learn from venerable teachers at Duke University.

por Kanishk R

23 de ago. de 2020

Fantastic course. I started as a Java BEGINNER and now I feel confident to program my own projects myself. This course is very good at teaching you the skills necessary to become an independent programmer. I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures, everything was taught in a systematic and coherent manner. The discussion forums are a great resource to quickly resolve minor misunderstandings.