Chevron Left
Volver a English for Journalism

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a English for Journalism por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
2,213 calificaciones
744 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Principales reseñas

OG
1 de dic. de 2021

MIL GRACIAS POR TODO EL SEGUIMIENTO. Este ha sido in curso muy agradable para mi. Con explicaciones muy detalladas, ejercicios y participacinó activa. Estoy muy satisfecho y lo recomiendo ampliamente.

CS
12 de jul. de 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

Filtrar por:

651 - 675 de 730 revisiones para English for Journalism

por Mughavi A T

20 de may. de 2020

Excellent course for beginners wanting to know about Journalism and its English usage. It is a crash course without details but a fine introduction to various forms of journalism. On a personal note - good feedback would have added more value to this course. Overall, it is a good course.

por Raquel M

25 de ago. de 2017

It was really insightful into the basics of journalism in English. Would have liked a bit more challenge on the assessments and that the teachers intervened on the grading process, being all peer graded might not be the best option to continue to learn and correct mistakes.

por Dai P

17 de sep. de 2021

This is really good course which help me improve my english skill and also understand approach method on Journalist.

One more thing is the course share the latest updating on Journal area.

Thanks all lecturer :) Hope you are safe during covid pandemic.

por CRISTINA B

24 de ago. de 2020

Relevant material, well planned course, linguistically fitted for different levels of English .

The assignments are challenging but it would have been appropriate also to receive a final evaluation by an academic, in particular in article writing.

por Лапина М М

14 de nov. de 2016

The course will be interesting for those who don`t have specific knowledge about journalism. The vocabulary is rather useful, but sometimes very simple. The teachers are great - I didn`t have any problems with understanding! Thanks a lot!

por Deepa N

2 de dic. de 2016

Through this course, I was able to learn the basics of Journalism and apply it in my job as well. The professors explain everything clearly with good examples. The course is easy and understandable. Thank you all for a great course!

por Aldo R

31 de may. de 2020

Very helpful course to learn the basics of Journalism.

I personally already know and speak English, but I found it very friendly for non-English speakers.

Thank you to both teachers and everyone behind the course.

por avac c

6 de jul. de 2020

I enjoyed being apart of this learning experience. Thank you for my opportunity and I can say that this was a stepping stone in my life. This had made the door to my future open up a bit more. Thank you.

por Abdulrahman A

19 de may. de 2019

I really enjoyed this little course despite my Arabic tongue. It's very recommended for smoothing your communication skills (Printed or Broadcasting) and get chance to learn new journalism features.

por Kaithreen C

24 de may. de 2020

It helped me appreciate journalism and english a little better. It made my realized how important details are in journalism. I will always keep in mind the principles I have learned in this class.

por Tayyeb

3 de ago. de 2017

An ideal course not only for aspiring journalists but also for those who have been practicing journalism for many years. I really like strategies for improving skills of writing and reporting.

por BP-20-040 A A

29 de sep. de 2021

A good place to start learning about the basics of journalism. Very educational. The English segments were too basic, even for non English speakers. Overall great experience.

por Guadalupe P

26 de sep. de 2020

With this course, I learned to be more conscious about what happens in the world and how to communicate. I understood the basics of journalism. Would recommend for beginners.

por Kimmi I

12 de sep. de 2016

I just started the course, but I feel like I am taking in a ton of knowledge that I have been craving to get for along time. Really happy that I have enrolled in this course.

por Ahmed G

20 de sep. de 2016

it's a good course , but it could be offering more, like when we answer a questions wrongly, it could offer corrections and also we need more details with video journalism.

por Andrea T

20 de ene. de 2020

The course is very didactic and quite useful to whom is starting a career in journalism. Although it is not that useful to whom is already acquainted with journalism.

por Nuria M

30 de ene. de 2021

I've enjoyed the course thoroughly. An interesting take on Journalism and communication. The contents are varied, engaging, and fun. Thank you for sharing!

por Suad G

6 de ago. de 2019

Thank you. I have learned a lot and I feel happy that I have completed the course and passed. The course was designed very well and each unit was fruitful.

por Snehal S

25 de jun. de 2020

I learned so many new terms in this course. New light on what is journalism and how important it is along with how it impacts the world in current times.

por Alexandra K

4 de ago. de 2017

I really enjoyed doing the course, I found it to be well prepared and the information quite helpful and interesting. It was a bit too easy for me though.

por Madina S

16 de oct. de 2019

Peer-graded assessments though... It was easier than I though it would be. But I recommend this course as a source of new flow of ideas and information.

por Ольга В

27 de nov. de 2016

It's a good overview of journalism with interesting assignments. It'll be useful for those who knows nothing or not much about journalism.

por Abraham L

29 de abr. de 2020

I liked very much, although I was looking for a more comprehensive one. I completed it anyway. Thank you for all the work included!

por Luong N N L

18 de jul. de 2017

This course is very helpful.

I learnt many things.

I had a clear view about journalism.

Hope that you'll create many course like this.

por Jenny A

7 de jun. de 2017

A useful course to practise your reading and comprehension skills in the English language even if you are not a journalist. :)