Chevron Left
Volver a Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity por parte de Universidad de Copenhague

4.8
estrellas
642 calificaciones
195 reseña

Acerca del Curso

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Principales reseñas

AB
2 de jul. de 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH
29 de ago. de 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 192 revisiones para Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

por Виктория Ж

10 de sep. de 2020

The lectures are very interesting, well-structured and easy to understand. During the course you learn not only about Kierkegaard's philosophy, but also about Socrates' and Hegel's ideas. I am really glad I found it. Thank you!

por walter g

11 de jul. de 2017

Indescritível, você tornar-se-á o que realmente é com a análise de outros pontos de vista, sem ser forçado a nada além de pensar por si só sobre si mesmo, simples e rico; uma contradição, irá ser além de bagagem acadêmica.

por Azure J

23 de feb. de 2016

Brilliant professor, nice cinematography, old-fashioned classical education, high levels of intelligent thought, and more makes this a great course. It is self-paced as well, so it is always open, which I find very conv

por D S

31 de ene. de 2018

Super course, super professor.

I speculate that SK, if presented with the wealth of science & advancement since his time, would have still held his religion as tightly as he did in his writings ... I think not.

por Alexandre d L C T

4 de ene. de 2021

The course was awesome in every single aspect. The subject is interesting, the professor explains it clearly and makes it even more captivating. Certainly the best online course I've ever taken.

por Luis P G

8 de ago. de 2016

Excelente curso. A excelência manifesta-se tanto nos conteúdos, como na forma. O pensamento de Kierkegaard é muito importante para compreender a atualidade filosófica e a cultura do século XXI.

por Ritwik C

18 de jul. de 2020

Great course if you want to get to know Kierkegaard better as his writings are a bit difficult to comprehend. Professor Stewart does a great job of conducting this course. Highly recommended.

por George B G

13 de mar. de 2018

Incredible course for good learning. This has been a real treat to better understand Kierkegaard. I'm buying Jon Stewart's book because of the clarity that he situates Kierkegaard's writing.

por Cori L

5 de feb. de 2017

Excellent course and subject matter. Discussions were always thought provoking and Prof Stewart gave life to a branch of philosophy I had previously found extremely dull. Highly recommended!

por Mariana S d C

15 de jul. de 2020

Søren kierkegaard sempre foi um dos meus filósofos favoritos, esse curso abordou sua vida e obra de maneira maravilhosa e esclarecedora! Amei as vídeos aulas em cenários diferentes!!!

por Victor H R L

11 de feb. de 2018

Curso muito bem estruturado. Brasileiros e falantes de língua portuguesa conseguirão fazer o curso sem maiores problemas desde que tenham o mínimo domínio da língua inglesa.

por Alyson D

13 de feb. de 2019

I appreciated that this course felt accessible, but still academic and not "dumbed down" for a popular audience. The concepts were thought-provoking and clearly explained.

por Garrison G

11 de jul. de 2017

Was an excellent, informative synoptic of the philosopher's life and works. Kierkegaard's way of interpreting Socrates' method reivitalizes a lost art for the modern world.

por Pascal S

19 de abr. de 2019

Excellent lectures and a great introduction to a fascinating figure in philosophy and literature. I also enjoyed reading the book that accompanies the course.

por Kan j Y

12 de abr. de 2021

it is a thorough and interesting course and with its own unique angle, it broadens the Soren Kierkegaard image, giving him a fair definition in the history.

por Andrew G

5 de ene. de 2016

Hugely enjoyable and informative course. Very well presented. I particularly liked the variety of relevant locations that the videos were presented from.

por Alex M

13 de may. de 2020

Very thorough. Provided reading is fascinating. Whilst feedback is perfunctory (by necessity, I imagine), as a self-guided course it's pretty much tops.

por Ella P

4 de nov. de 2018

Thanks! I really appreciate the effort put into the course, which has greatly enhanced my understanding of the Key Concepts of Kierkegaard's Philosophy.

por Jonathas d S S

2 de ene. de 2018

Conteúdo excepcional, metodologia exemplar, uma forma inovadora de promover educação à distância. Parabéns a Coursera e a todos envolvidos neste curso.

por Pablo

8 de ago. de 2016

Excellent course, could be a bit harder on quizzing, it was too easy to pass them, but, it compensates with the final essay. It has great content

por Hadea K

23 de feb. de 2021

so appreciate Dr. Jon Stewart spending time with all of us given his vast knowledge; the lectures were superbly organized. a brilliant course.

por Daniel B

12 de feb. de 2019

Great introduction course about Kierkegaard! I highly recommend this course for all friends of Kierkegaard. Congratulations Jan Stewart!

por Paweł J Z

13 de mar. de 2016

Great overview, I wish there were more courses of this kind about other great philosophers. Kierkegaard is one of my favourites though.

por Pablo M B

5 de sep. de 2018

A wonderful and insightful course. All the power and depth of thought of classical education at my convenience. It is truly marvelous.

por Agata S

15 de jun. de 2020

Very well designed course. Interesting lectures. I liked the choice of additional lectures as well. I would definitely recommend it.