Chevron Left
Volver a Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity por parte de Universidad de Copenhague

4.8
estrellas
609 calificaciones
174 reseña

Acerca del Curso

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Principales reseñas

AB
2 de jul. de 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH
29 de ago. de 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 171 revisiones para Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

por George B G

13 de mar. de 2018

Incredible course for good learning. This has been a real treat to better understand Kierkegaard. I'm buying Jon Stewart's book because of the clarity that he situates Kierkegaard's writing.

por Cori L

5 de feb. de 2017

Excellent course and subject matter. Discussions were always thought provoking and Prof Stewart gave life to a branch of philosophy I had previously found extremely dull. Highly recommended!

por Mariana S d C

15 de jul. de 2020

Søren kierkegaard sempre foi um dos meus filósofos favoritos, esse curso abordou sua vida e obra de maneira maravilhosa e esclarecedora! Amei as vídeos aulas em cenários diferentes!!!

por Victor H R L

11 de feb. de 2018

Curso muito bem estruturado. Brasileiros e falantes de língua portuguesa conseguirão fazer o curso sem maiores problemas desde que tenham o mínimo domínio da língua inglesa.

por Alyson D

13 de feb. de 2019

I appreciated that this course felt accessible, but still academic and not "dumbed down" for a popular audience. The concepts were thought-provoking and clearly explained.

por Garrison G

11 de jul. de 2017

Was an excellent, informative synoptic of the philosopher's life and works. Kierkegaard's way of interpreting Socrates' method reivitalizes a lost art for the modern world.

por Pascal L S

19 de abr. de 2019

Excellent lectures and a great introduction to a fascinating figure in philosophy and literature. I also enjoyed reading the book that accompanies the course.

por Andrew G

5 de ene. de 2016

Hugely enjoyable and informative course. Very well presented. I particularly liked the variety of relevant locations that the videos were presented from.

por Alex M

13 de may. de 2020

Very thorough. Provided reading is fascinating. Whilst feedback is perfunctory (by necessity, I imagine), as a self-guided course it's pretty much tops.

por Ella P

4 de nov. de 2018

Thanks! I really appreciate the effort put into the course, which has greatly enhanced my understanding of the Key Concepts of Kierkegaard's Philosophy.

por Jonathas d S S

2 de ene. de 2018

Conteúdo excepcional, metodologia exemplar, uma forma inovadora de promover educação à distância. Parabéns a Coursera e a todos envolvidos neste curso.

por Pablo

8 de ago. de 2016

Excellent course, could be a bit harder on quizzing, it was too easy to pass them, but, it compensates with the final essay. It has great content

por Daniel B

12 de feb. de 2019

Great introduction course about Kierkegaard! I highly recommend this course for all friends of Kierkegaard. Congratulations Jan Stewart!

por Paweł J Z

13 de mar. de 2016

Great overview, I wish there were more courses of this kind about other great philosophers. Kierkegaard is one of my favourites though.

por Pablo M B

5 de sep. de 2018

A wonderful and insightful course. All the power and depth of thought of classical education at my convenience. It is truly marvelous.

por Agata S

15 de jun. de 2020

Very well designed course. Interesting lectures. I liked the choice of additional lectures as well. I would definitely recommend it.

por Matheus M P F

9 de jun. de 2020

O curso muito bom e que propõe ao aluno produzir um senso crítico sobre o debate sobre modernidade que vai além da média. Ótimo!

por Dave

17 de abr. de 2018

Brilliant course guided by a professor who knows his stuff. Kierkegaard is a very interesting man. I highly recommend this MOOC.

por Tim H

1 de dic. de 2017

Excellent course. Really enjoyed the content. Wasn't able to finish before the end of the semester but will definitely continue.

por Graham C

21 de jul. de 2020

An excellent course. Clear and well-presented by a scholar who is obviously deeply involved in his subject.

Graham Creelman

por Bruno M S

26 de ene. de 2017

The lecturer uses different scenarios, interviews many other professors and makes the subject practical. I recommend it.

por Felipe P P d S

26 de jul. de 2016

An excelent course. Professor Stewart is a true master. The course is very well-organized and the activities are great.

por Rommel

23 de feb. de 2016

Highly recommended. It's a self-paced course but you'll get more out of it by enabling deadlines to keep you on track.

por Carlos M R R

2 de ago. de 2016

Really interesting, and despite being thought 200 years ago, the problems covered keep being relevant in our century.

por Pablo I S M

16 de ago. de 2017

This is one of the best courses I have ever had. It's well explained, it has interesting material and a great topic.