Chevron Left
Volver a Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Learn to Program: The Fundamentals por parte de Universidad de Toronto

4.7
estrellas
4,619 calificaciones
1,390 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Principales reseñas

HA

Aug 18, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

CV

Nov 17, 2017

This is a introductory course i would recommend. I especially liked that the instructors took the time to go through the python visualizer and try to unveil some of the background workings in python.

Filtrar por:

1351 - 1374 de 1,374 revisiones para Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

por Karolis M

Apr 08, 2017

Very few programming assignments..

por Yitong Z

Apr 20, 2017

This course is very basic

por 黄嘉鑫

May 19, 2017

not so good, no so bas

por Aaron G

Jul 20, 2019

Me no like

por Julia B

May 07, 2020

Hard

por Gema O

Oct 19, 2020

I'm new to Python and to programming in general. I found this course to be very difficult and not at all meant for beginners. I only passed because of blog posts and Github notes. The lectures were okay but definitely feels very rushed. More examples and practice exercises would have helped me understand better. The quizzes are way too complex, I failed most of them multiple times. I liked Jennifer's videos and I felt like I could follow what she's saying. As for Paul, though? I kind of felt like he's a robot. He talks too fast and I could barely follow. I hoped that this course would teach in a way that would be fun and understandable for those with no background in programming. I thought I would be eased into it but it felt like I was dropped off in the middle of a jungle with no clue what to do. This course would have been great for those with a good programming background and a solid foundation, but not for beginners. I learned a few things, though. And I'm still thankful for the team behind this course for their hard work.

por Sergio S

Aug 21, 2017

There are issues with this course. My biggest gripe is that if you do not pass the tests on your first try, the questions and answers will change on your second time around. Obviously this is fine for the questions that you got wrong however it also changes the ones you got right. This makes the tests take MUCH longer than necessary and there isn't necessarily any extra learning gained from this.

However, even with the problems with this course, you WILL learn how to use Python. I feel that the course succeeded in that regard - but I'm not sure that this course provides any benefits over following some YouTube tutorials.

In conclusion, if you would like to learn how to use Python and don't mind something that is challenging and time consuming, take this course.

por Giuseppe B

Aug 31, 2017

I just finished Lesson 1 and I have already found some issues:

They said that if you divide 2 int you will always get a float number... That is incorrect because it depends on your Python's version.

Ex: Python 2.7.13 (default, Jan 19 2017, 14:48:08)

[GCC 6.3.0 20170118] on linux2

>>> 8 / 7

1

EXAM Questions

What is the value of x after this statement x = 12 / 3.

I answered 4 and the system considered my answer wrong. I presume the correct answer was x=4

What is the value after executing this round(45.342).

I answered 45.0 and again, the system considered it wrong. (This is really unacceptable that the system is unaware that 45 == 45.0)

I will give this course the benefit of the doubt and keep going on with my next lesson.

por Nathaniel P

Jan 11, 2020

Largely uses less efficient, outdated, and counter-intuitive code to teach Python. If I had someone who learned Python from this course added to my team it would take months to correct the bad behavior they learned here.

por Greg T

Jan 30, 2017

Very rushed, incomplete examples and gaps in content. I'm not sure what audience Coursera is aiming for, but it doesn't seem to be anyone who doesn't already know a programming language.

por Emma L

Jul 21, 2017

The course should include more examples and tasks for students. Also all the question areas in quiz'es and tests should be covered by the open lectures. Felt like incomplete course.

por Cipriano E M

Jun 12, 2018

It complicates things that are supposed to be simple and explainable.

por Boray E

Feb 06, 2020

Material presented is good for beginners but the courses are boring.

por Karime A C

Dec 07, 2017

To many quizes per video and too much Teory

por 19BCA180-VIJAYA S R B

Sep 18, 2020

I could not get my course certificate

por Islam T

Apr 06, 2020

Очень непонятные задания.

por Sandra B

Jun 13, 2020

It is a course advertised as for beginners in programming, but there is a lot of information that is not explained in the written theory or in the videos, so it is necessary to learn these concepts outside the course (Youtube, programming forums, etc.)

The tests are excessively long, it can take between one and two hours to do a test. The questions never indicate the correct solution or why the answers marked as incorrect are so. The questions are very long, ambiguous and difficult to understand what is being asked. Passing a test is often more a matter of trying answers or luck, and you leave the lessons without having learned practically anything and without being able to correct your doubts or mistakes. You are expected to write your questions in the forum, instead of improving the contents of the explanations, the theory and the practice.

The practice consists of 3 projects throughout the course, in which you are given half the code (without explaining how it works) and you are asked to complete a series of functions without knowing very well what you are doing or what the purpose is.

After finishing the course, you are not even able to program basic programming by yourself, and you are left more confused than at the beginning. Not recommended for beginners at all.

por Deleted A

May 09, 2020

The video tutorial test questions focus in on details irrelevant to programming which can cause a beginner programmer to totally lose focus on coding, and instead become discouraged by their strength in mathematics. Spend more time on exploring the basics of Python, and less time giving users trouble over petty mathematical discrepancies during the interactive potion of the video tutorials.. or at least offer greater detail in righting an incorrect response. This shakes the confidence of beginner users and makes them feel like programming is beyond their ability and understanding, just because they cannot rearrange a math question in the desired order, when at the end of the day, Python can solve the expression regardless as to whether the user enter multiplication or division first!

por moustafa t

Jul 21, 2020

outdated ,

video lectures are from 8 years ago , which is like a century in terms of programming.

although the material maybe useful , most of the programming exercises deal with an IDLE that is in 2012 so features are different than IDLE in 2020 . I don't want to spend most of my time trying to figure how they did something in 2012.

por Semenov I A

Jul 16, 2020

Horrible course. Too difficult for begginers. Not enough practice before programming assignments. Teacher do not prepare you for this. They just throwing you in to the water and watch whether you could swim or you will drown.

por Ana M

Oct 20, 2020

Very poorly designed course, they only focus on mac and don't even explain that everything works differently on windows, yet they take time to make you listen to elementary school level math in the first week materials.

por ishita m

Oct 27, 2020

i would like a refund, not a well-designed course at all.

Extremely disappointed

por Damien M

Feb 10, 2017

10/10 would program again

por Winston

Feb 08, 2017

bad