Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus por parte de Imperial College London

4.7
estrellas
5,115 calificaciones
911 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Principales reseñas

JT

12 de nov. de 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

SS

3 de ago. de 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filtrar por:

751 - 775 de 915 revisiones para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por Keshav B

24 de jul. de 2020

Very informative refresher on the basics of differentiation, though some of the later topics could have been fleshed out more (i.e. Taylor Series, Lagrange Multipliers, etc). Overall very good.

por Marcus V C A

18 de may. de 2022

This course is good in general. But some parts, like the Lagrange Multipliers, needed better explanation and more exercise before testing. I also missed more supplementary material.

por Kalpak S

8 de mar. de 2020

I wish, Linear Regression was taught with a little more clarity. Seemed like too many things were happening. Otherwise, a very good course. Really enjoyed the back-propagation week.

por Xiao F

22 de abr. de 2018

the basic concepts are explained clearly, but the step of the lecture became more fast than the course of linear algebra. More detail proof and application of theory is expected.

por Florian C

28 de may. de 2021

T​he course starts off somewhat too basic for my taste but still gives a great intuition for some off the fundamental concepts underlying gradient descent and machine learning.

por arnaud j

23 de may. de 2018

The course is still a bit young, some errors appear here and there sometimes, and some parts of it are a bit steep.

Otherwise, this is a good course, focused on derivatives.

por Prathamesh P C

25 de jun. de 2020

They should explain concepts in detail. They just explained really tough concepts in 5 min and gave much much harder assignments which was really frustrating at many times.

por Andrew

7 de jul. de 2020

Practice makes about 65% of this course, 3Blue!Brown and Khan Academy are indispensable in this course too. The course is more like an overview than an in-depth study.

por mayank d

10 de jun. de 2019

1.Week 5 should be taken in separate module dedicated to statistics.

2.The duration of course can be increased.

3. Week 3 and week 4 can be made more detailed

por Dominik K

9 de oct. de 2019

Very good course but especially while approaching the end of the course some steps are being skipped or not explained entirely which can be a bit confusing

por Venkatavishnu T

22 de oct. de 2020

This course is a good refresher, bringing all the important aspects and how it can be applied for machine learning also combining with linear algebra

por Satpal S R

30 de ene. de 2019

This was a great course for learning multivariate calculus required for Machine Learning. I am thankful to the creators of this awesome course.

por Angelo S d O

5 de dic. de 2018

Nice refresher! Excellent instructors! Not recommended as a first Multivariate Calculus course though. I would go for MIT OpenCourseware first.

por Viacheslav P

23 de ago. de 2019

Good course, but some things seem to be not well discussed and explained, I had to refer to another resources to understand what's going on.

por Patrick F

1 de feb. de 2019

Really good course, would recommend! 4 Stars, because there is no written transcript with the Formula and examples in the videos available.

por Valentinos P

25 de ago. de 2019

A very nice course that builds your intuition in Multivariate Calculus and also introduces you to some basic consepts in machine learning.

por Aman A

12 de oct. de 2019

This was a very succinct and comprehensive course and at times I felt a bit fast paced and consequently the assignments harder to solve

por Vikram N

13 de may. de 2020

Good course. Clarity of content in the last two weeks (i.e. weeks 5 and 6) can be improved. Overall a fantastic learning experience.

por Rachel Z

6 de mar. de 2021

Excellent course overall. I really enjoyed the sessions taught by Sam Cooper. He explains concepts very clearly...great teacher.

por Prashant D

16 de feb. de 2019

Good course. The lecturer uses a number of illustrations and has a nice easy style to explain the key ideas. Overall enjoyable

por Mason C

21 de sep. de 2021

Great overall, but some of the teaching falls short of clarity, too much hand waving, and programming exercises can be obtuse.

por Kailash Y

1 de jul. de 2020

This is a nice course for beginners, as it relies on intuition for the explanation. Also, this has very interesting exercises.

por Leong H

13 de may. de 2020

it is pretty good for week1 to week4, but week5 and week6 are too complicated, I think the course should explain more details.

por Sachitha V S

28 de oct. de 2020

course was great and interesting however some topics were need to explain more thoroughly little bit difficult to understand

por Stanislav B

21 de abr. de 2021

Can be hard in some parts. But it's not instructors fault as they had to put a lot of material into relatively short course