Chevron Left
Volver a Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User por parte de Google

4.7
estrellas
21,714 calificaciones
4,206 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Principales reseñas

JA

21 de jun. de 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

JB

27 de dic. de 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

Filtrar por:

3851 - 3875 de 4,248 revisiones para Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

por Matthew P

12 de jul. de 2021

There is a lot of information that doesn't get looked at in detail enough. For becoming a power user, I did not feel I was in the PowerShell enough to feel even remotely comfortable with it. I jet feel there could be a few more assignments that go into PowerShell so we get a more structured feel of it.

por Stephen P

17 de jul. de 2021

As with the Networking course, there is a LOT of technical jargon and very little time to actually use/practice what is being taught. Need more hands-on lessons to make this a better course, otherwise I feel like I'm just memorizing terms and definitions, and likely won't retain much of anything.

por Anthony D

10 de nov. de 2020

to much talking not enough hands on .. Doesnt explain enough about the commands , says them once and hopes you remember them. This type of course needs to make you enter the commands a lot more to have them stick with you instead they briefly talk about them once and expect you to remember them .

por Maria M L

11 de abr. de 2018

Other than issues with the labs the course was informative. I believe if the lab content got better later on in the course yet the labs all had the same issue. Would sometimes have to redo them in order for work to get graded by the system. It's the boat anchor of this series of courses so far.

por John K

7 de jul. de 2020

Have discussed at length with customer support regarding the final two labs for week 6. These seemed embarrassed at the situation and were as helpful as can be but the developers failed to thoroughly test and validate that the instructions (when there were any instructions) actually worked.

por Joe S

15 de abr. de 2020

I feel instruction was lacking regarding methods for updating programs for both Windows and Linux. For this reason, I was unable to fully complete the final labs. Additionally, the labs state there is a support tab, which I also could not find, in order to get support for these labs.

por Robert B

5 de mar. de 2018

I'm sure it was previously discussed, but I found it confusing to constantly bounce between windows and linux procedures. I believe it would have been much easier to focus on Windows, work through the entire curriculum, then, once completed, focus on Linux through the same curriculum.

por RealTexan

9 de nov. de 2021

There were far too many bugs with the quiklabs and the instructions for completing the steps were unhelpful and unspecific. The content and instructor was good. Would recommend getting a tutor or using YouTube to complete the tasks, you wont get much help from the instructions at all,

por Sarah H

1 de jul. de 2021

I will say that I did learn things that I did not know before. So thats a plus. Cindy is a good teacher, but overall it is not as i expected. I guess I expected more since I paid for the course, but what do I expect for 50usd per month which is way cheaper than college education?

por hidenori n

19 de oct. de 2020

I would appreciated more if the course can explain more in the video rather than let the reading material lead the course. Also, the it would be greater if they can explain the matter with the slide up longer rather than the instructors' face while they are explaining. Thank yoU!

por Jp T

19 de abr. de 2019

Could really use a lot more interactive, hands-on modules throughout the course so that the student can get a real grasp on the concepts and execution of the material. I would highly recommend more labs, preferably one or two immediately following each lecture on new material.

por Muhamad A P M C

16 de mar. de 2021

All went fine on Linux. But I had a bit problem when completing assessment in Windows VM, especially on course 3 week 6 "updating vlc". The score didn't increase after I updated VLC for many times.

Just suggestion, maybe you can make windows assessment to be optional.

Thanks

por Hillary P

15 de abr. de 2019

This coursework was segmented so that we went back and forth from Linux to Windows. The instruction seemed choppy when using this approach. I understand comparing the OS's, but perhaps finish explaining a full process or function in one OS before moving to the next.

por C E

30 de mar. de 2018

The assessment tool used for the course is buggy, unreliable, and often difficult to access, requiring multiple attempts just to get it to work. Considering this is how you pass the course, this is a critical issue. It was an issue in course one as well.

por David J

18 de oct. de 2018

I felt like it left something to be desired in the assignments. also some things that we were told to do was not clearly covered in the course material. I know that It is also a self learning environment but a bit of better direction would be appreciated.

por Amanda D

21 de mar. de 2022

I did not find this course to be practical. There are several mentions of "this is how you would use this to trouble shoot" and then no details at all. It was difficult to follow, and the final Windows lab is glitchy and extremely difficult to solve.

por Viet A T

31 de mar. de 2021

The lab was lagging, so it took more time to complete tasks. Overall it was nice and I know you will fix that problem so for now just 3 stars. I also encountered the problem in the lab in week 6 where I couldn't get points but It happened to be my bad.

por Jakiela H

20 de sep. de 2018

I learned a lot of valuable information about running commands in Windows and Linux, but the Quiklab tool was difficult to use at times. I had to complete an assignment twice ti receive a grade even thought I made a 100% on my first attempt.

por Kristi L

20 de dic. de 2020

The information given in the videos is sometimes confusing and not adequately explained. The labs cover elements that are not covered in the videos, and can be a bit confusing as a result. The delivery of the material is a bit dry as well.

por Arrington E

25 de abr. de 2022

So many commands to use and without a vm to follow along with it was hard to retain and keep up on the material presented. This was is my least favorite course yet, which is sad becuase the OS seems so fun and interesting to work with.

por Stas

4 de sep. de 2021

I loved the qwiklab I learned from the labs much more than from the video lectures, I'm sorry, but the video lectures were not for beginners like me, the videos assumed a lot of prior knowledge, poor job of explaining a lot of topics.

por Jones, D L

8 de nov. de 2019

I liked the labs. The labs gave me hands on experience. The labs allowed me to verify if I accomplished my objectives instantly. I learned more utilizing youtube instructional videos than I did watching the instruction provided.

por Jasmine M

30 de oct. de 2018

The course started out really great, but when it came to the final assessment and their Qwiklabs things started to fall apart. In the end I was able to learn how to navigate both the Linux and Windows Operating systems like a boss.

por kamil

1 de may. de 2018

I thought that there was way too many times of. 'We won't be covering it in here, check the suplemental reading', I kind of hoped for better explanations on some topics :( All in all I guess it was a good overview for us though.

por Javier P

14 de jun. de 2020

Connection from my computer to your servers were slow and so I did not realize that the test results were excepted on your end. It kept giving 0 points on my end when I clicked the green score square. In the end it worked.