Chevron Left
Volver a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.6
estrellas
1,185 calificaciones
268 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Principales reseñas

CG
10 de feb. de 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
24 de jun. de 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 267 revisiones para Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

por Hanna a

1 de oct. de 2020

Great course! The course structure and material makes it easier to grasp the different concepts and makes navigating through the topics seamless!

por Francisco A

26 de sep. de 2017

Fantastic experience. I really enjoyed the explanation of such complex topics. It is really a unique opportunity regarding philosophy of science.

por Javier P M

22 de dic. de 2017

Loved it. Never thought it was going to be this insightful. Grateful for running into this one and will tryout some more from this university.

por Ipekpinar C

25 de nov. de 2018

This course is quite helpful for the people who are coming from different disciplines just like me. It is quite interesting and informative.

por FRANCISCO D C P G

17 de abr. de 2017

The course focuses the top issues involving philsophy of sciences at present time, it is hosted by top figures in the field. Great course!

por medina q

6 de abr. de 2021

such an interesting course with multi perspectives in how to look cognitive process and behavior, thank you Edinburgh Uni and Coursera

por Vimukthi M

29 de nov. de 2020

This course changed how I looked at the world, and I hope this will be a major shift in my higher studies. Thank you dear Professors!

por Michael T

9 de may. de 2019

Great. Very interesting, not an overwhelming amount of work, but a great starter for anyone interested in philosophy of the mind.

por Luis J

20 de abr. de 2019

Fascinating, the course catches you from the first instances, the story is agile, interactive, enjoyable and very professional

por Michael O

7 de ene. de 2020

Very insightful introductory course on the subject with ample creatively shot video material and additional reading sources.

por Essaq A R

20 de mar. de 2018

At the first I would like to thank you from Edinburgh university to offered and especially thank you from all of my teachers

por Kahuho G

21 de dic. de 2020

Very enlightening and enables one to grasp the development of science hitherto with respect to humanity and other species.

por Yingyi Z

16 de may. de 2018

A very good introductory course to the philosophy of mind and machines. Ideas are well explained and very easy to follow.

por Nguyen V L

19 de may. de 2017

This course has boarden my point of view and it also has shown me the link between artificial intelligent and philosophy.

por Jamie H

3 de may. de 2020

Excellent course. I learned so much. Pairs really well with the first course on the philosophy of the physical sciences.

por Jilly M

2 de sep. de 2019

Awesome, I learned lots, loved the McGurk effect just for the name. Great intro to this interesting and growing field.

por Karina R J

9 de jul. de 2017

Thank you for a great and interesting course. It gave a lot of inspiration and new angels to how our brain thinks!:)

por Luis G M

5 de ene. de 2021

Excellent course, wide in scope but accessible enough to stimulate the desire of learning more about these subjects.

por Salvatore F

7 de may. de 2020

Very fascinating tutorial. An open mind point of view about our brain and its relation with the world surrounding it

por Laura V

22 de abr. de 2020

It is a great introductory course, covering a vast variety of topics. I truly enjoyed taking it! Thank you so much!

por Omar S

2 de ago. de 2020

I enjoyed this course. It was a fun experience and I got some basic information on what cognitive sciences cover.

por Shradha K

13 de ene. de 2019

Amazing.

Really useful and I understood all of it even though I do not have a background in this subject.

Thanks

por Ian B B

27 de abr. de 2020

Very interesting introductory course on Cognitive Sciences. I hope there'll be more related courses on this.

por Blair K W D

29 de abr. de 2020

Really enjoyed the course. I enjoyed learning about how the brain works. And how Cognitive Science works.

por Peter

30 de ago. de 2018

Very good overview into an interesting topic. Takes into account different views off the topic. Liked it!