Chevron Left
Volver a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.7
estrellas
832 calificaciones
183 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is the origin of our universe? What are dark matter and dark energy? This is the first part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Physical Sciences. Scientific research across the physical sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the physical sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. We’ll consider questions about the origin and evolution of our universe, the nature of dark energy and dark matter and the role of anthropic reasoning in the explanation of our universe. Learning Objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the natural sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Reading To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Principales reseñas

NJ

1 de jun. de 2021

The course was really fun and enjoyable. The course offered a lot of information in a very simple way. All the instructors were very fluent with their explanation and I thoroughly enjoyed this course!

RR

28 de ene. de 2017

Un curso muy completo y fácil de digerir sobre la cosmología y el principio antrópico, muy recomendable para la comprensión que se tiene sobre el universo actualmente y la razón de nuestra existencia.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 181 revisiones para Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

por Ellen W

18 de mar. de 2019

I loved this course! I have a particular interest in the philosophy of science (specifically epistemic beliefs), but found that I got so much out of this class with the cosmology connections. Admittedly, I do have a background in both physics and philosophy, so I was able to follow the material easily, but others may require more attention to the videos themselves. However, this is THE FIRST MOOC that I have taken the time to complete; well, done!

por Raphy E

13 de may. de 2020

Hello, I enjoyed every moment of the course. It was very well and clearly explained. As an aged person, it was not easy for me, yet I kept learning first for the pleasure, but also for keeping my mind busy.

I for sure Will continue learning at Coursera and at EdinburghUniversity.

One small remark, more readable notes black on white should be used on the blackboard.

Thank you and best regards

por KP

19 de jun. de 2021

I have learnt so much in this course. The topics in each week are very interesting with well-balanced philosophical thinking and scientific data. The course is an introductory but indeed challenging; very informative and induce critical-thinking. I would recommend anyone who have interest in Philosophy and Science to take this course. It is really an eye-opening journey!

por Giovanni F

15 de oct. de 2020

Mind blowing course! Reccomended to anyone with poor knowledge in cosmology or whoever wants to flex a bit our assumptions on outside world. "Hard science" bits require particular concentration, but it is totally worth it! Michela Massimi, John Peacock, Alasdair Richmond are amazing! Super high quality contents! And don't miss the other course on Cognitive Sciences!

por Adrián D C

14 de abr. de 2020

The course has a very concise and well-paced presentation. The lecturers are very clear in their explanations and the additional reading material complements very well the information given. This course is a must to get familiarised with the way science works through in order to formulate a scientific theory that explains the phenomena we can observe.

por ruth p

10 de jul. de 2018

En mi opinión, encontraré este curso muy interesante, alto nivel académico de sus instructores. Esta introducción a la Filosofía de las Ciencias Físicas forma un enfoque completo del tema. Recomiendo estos cursos a cualquiera que ame el conocimiento. Me siento muy agradecido con los instructores de los cursos y la plataforma de Coursera.

por Guillermo C A

15 de may. de 2020

I think it is a great course

It was very important for me to know the methods and processes of science seen from philosophy. I found the case of cosmology from metaphysics to becoming a physical science very exciting, and also how Professor J. Peacock summarizes the most important facts of modern cosmology, I find it awesome!

por Javier M

29 de jun. de 2017

A comprehensive course for a specific subject. The videos are easy to follow and the additional readings provide even more depth to the corresponding topics. I find that the course is very interesting not only for the philosophical/scientific minded, but for most people in general.

por Pablo G A

18 de jun. de 2017

I enjoyed so much this course! I think it is very well scheduled and structured. I also liked a lot the introduced scientific topics.

I am also taking advantage of these courses of the University of Edinburgh for practice English language, and I highly recommend them.

Thanks!

por Juan P I R

29 de abr. de 2021

It is an excellent course where you learn about an introductory part of the philosophy of sciences but also greatly connected and nurtured with a beautiful explanation about the origins and composition of the universe - it was a great experience - Thank you!

por Erickson T

28 de jul. de 2021

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this course. I will keep on reading and viewing the materials for me to master more the concepts and skills contained. I am grateful as well for the grant. This can help me better help students under my care.

por Joshua S

20 de dic. de 2020

I loved the course. At times the jargon of the philosophy can get somewhat confusing. But both the philosophical concepts and the topics discussed in the physical science segments of the course are very well structured and explained clearly and concisely.

por María B

20 de jul. de 2020

This course has been critical to decide what am I going to study in collage, and thanks to this course I've found out that I can apply what I love from philosophy into what I love from science. I would love if there would be a part two of this topic

por Liz D G

15 de abr. de 2021

I have a great opportunity to understand an introduction of Philosophy and the Sciences with amazing professors, approaches, articles, and additional lectures. Also, triggered by this course I will love to continue my education in this field.

por Hussain A

7 de jun. de 2021

T​he course is powerful. I am a chemist, and I enjoyed every single moment during this course. Many thanks for all the professors whom were responsible for presenting this course as it is, and special thanks also to University of Edinburgh.

por Javier R G

1 de may. de 2021

Topics are extremely interesting and deep. As the course advances you get more and more involved. I have been allways attracted by Cosmology Theories but I was very outdated in my knowledge until now. Lecturers are very good.

por Jordan T

29 de nov. de 2020

It was very interesting to to understand the link between philosophy and science properly for the first time and raises good fundamental questions about reality such as the true origin of life in the universe.

por Aarn A

21 de ago. de 2020

Very informative + entertaining. The mathematics was over my head, but understanding not essential for this course. Provided me with a great refresher into concepts I couldn't understand 40 years ago. Cheers

por Nitin J

2 de jun. de 2021

The course was really fun and enjoyable. The course offered a lot of information in a very simple way. All the instructors were very fluent with their explanation and I thoroughly enjoyed this course!

por Caleb P

14 de feb. de 2021

A great introduction to philosophy of science. One may wish to have some knowledge of physics to cope with the explanation of dark energy/matter in week 2, but other than that, everyone can take it.

por Azmi K

5 de oct. de 2020

Thx to the professors for a wonderful overivew in understanding our universe. Also the role of the anthropic principle and philosophical approaches in advancing scientific progress in cosmology.

por Krishnamoorthy.R

7 de jun. de 2018

Nice slides.Lectures are well prepared .Quizzes are relevant to the subject and thoughtfully worded so that even wrong choices also contribute to the knowledge of the study material.

por Rodrigo d S R

25 de ago. de 2019

Amazingly mindblowing and interesting. Even though some of the explanations on dark energy and why it has an expanding effect on the universe are quite hard to understand and grasp.

por F. A

11 de feb. de 2018

Un curso muy útil para todos aquellos interesados en la relación entre física y filosofía. Entrega herramientas precisas para reconocer los problemas filosóficos de la cosmología.