Chevron Left
Volver a Principles of Computing (Part 1)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Principles of Computing (Part 1) por parte de Universidad Rice

4.8
estrellas
524 calificaciones
90 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This two-part course builds upon the programming skills that you learned in our Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python course. We will augment those skills with both important programming practices and critical mathematical problem solving skills. These skills underlie larger scale computational problem solving and programming. The main focus of the class will be programming weekly mini-projects in Python that build upon the mathematical and programming principles that are taught in the class. To keep the class fun and engaging, many of the projects will involve working with strategy-based games. In part 1 of this course, the programming aspect of the class will focus on coding standards and testing. The mathematical portion of the class will focus on probability, combinatorics, and counting with an eye towards practical applications of these concepts in Computer Science. Recommended Background - Students should be comfortable writing small (100+ line) programs in Python using constructs such as lists, dictionaries and classes and also have a high-school math background that includes algebra and pre-calculus....

Principales reseñas

SN

May 07, 2019

This course is very good for beginners and intermediate coders. Gives important basics about computer science from 3 very good professors.

JJ

May 16, 2018

very wellmade assignments! that goes a long way!\n\nplotting seemed a bit superflous and not much learned.\n\nThank you professors!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 86 revisiones para Principles of Computing (Part 1)

por Park, S H

Feb 23, 2017

I think this is better what I have expected.

por Rudy H

Feb 14, 2019

Great course, gets very tough but worth it.

por James B

Aug 07, 2018

Challenging, rewarding, well-designed.

por Hanqi Z

Jul 18, 2017

Another fascinating course by Rice.

por Subhrosil M

Apr 05, 2019

Challenging, yet enjoyable course.

por Arnob B

Sep 25, 2016

Pretty hard course. But helpful.

por Michael S

May 25, 2017

Fantastic and informative.

por Sifang Z

Apr 06, 2020

Really like the projects.

por Albert C G

Dec 02, 2017

Great - how to in Python

por Ale D

May 28, 2017

Hard but great course!

por Sergey V

Jun 12, 2017

Nice and challenging!

por Atreyee D

Dec 21, 2017

Awesome assignments!

por Michael M

Oct 20, 2017

Another fun course!

por Ganapathi N K

Nov 11, 2017

Really challenging

por Jesús A P T

Mar 06, 2019

Excelente curso

por pierre j

Nov 12, 2016

Great as usual.

por xin j

Apr 08, 2018

Learnt a lot

por Tsz W K

Jun 28, 2017

Really great!

por Sambhav J

Apr 03, 2019

Great Course

por Guillermo C

Jun 05, 2018

Great course

por Arthur-Lance

Jun 22, 2017

thanks a lot

por Kushtrim B

Dec 13, 2016

Excellent.

por Tae J Y

Mar 26, 2017

Perfect!

por Bakhmai B

May 29, 2019

Super!

por Thomas S

Sep 07, 2020

The guys at Rice University have put together one of the best python specializations I've tried on Coursera. Keep it up guys! POC1 is challenging and takes significant time to complete. You will struggle at times. One recommendation I have if they ever re-work the course, make the project descriptions more clear. I wasted most of the time trying to interpret the instructions or re-doing my work after realizing I interpreted it wrong. I honestly believe I would have complete the projects in less time if they simply showed me a working copy of the final program and instructed to re-create it. Trying to work from code snippets that someone else wrote is a hinderance if instructions are unclear. It's difficult to jump into the middle of someone else's thought process. For those of you thinking of taking this course, I say go for it as long as you have time and are mentally prepared to struggle through portions. With a little tenacity you will make it through and will be happy you did.