Chevron Left
Volver a Principles of Computing (Part 1)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Principles of Computing (Part 1) por parte de Universidad Rice

4.8
estrellas
524 calificaciones
90 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This two-part course builds upon the programming skills that you learned in our Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python course. We will augment those skills with both important programming practices and critical mathematical problem solving skills. These skills underlie larger scale computational problem solving and programming. The main focus of the class will be programming weekly mini-projects in Python that build upon the mathematical and programming principles that are taught in the class. To keep the class fun and engaging, many of the projects will involve working with strategy-based games. In part 1 of this course, the programming aspect of the class will focus on coding standards and testing. The mathematical portion of the class will focus on probability, combinatorics, and counting with an eye towards practical applications of these concepts in Computer Science. Recommended Background - Students should be comfortable writing small (100+ line) programs in Python using constructs such as lists, dictionaries and classes and also have a high-school math background that includes algebra and pre-calculus....

Principales reseñas

SN

May 07, 2019

This course is very good for beginners and intermediate coders. Gives important basics about computer science from 3 very good professors.

JJ

May 16, 2018

very wellmade assignments! that goes a long way!\n\nplotting seemed a bit superflous and not much learned.\n\nThank you professors!

Filtrar por:

76 - 86 de 86 revisiones para Principles of Computing (Part 1)

por Tom P

May 13, 2016

I started this course straight after finishing IIPP1 and IIPP2 (both of which I loved). I had no coding experience before those two courses but managed to work hard and got through them so kept on straightaway with PoC1. This was a mistake on my part. For me, there was a quite a step up and early on I was getting out of my depth and actually in the end did not finish the course. In hindsight (and actually what I am doing down to re-enroll) I would go and gain much more experience of Classes (they play a major part, and I am thinking or writing all the games as classes that I built in IIPP) and work through the Math Preparation to prepare. I'm giving the course 4 stars because the material, the lectures and the learning is great but I found the amount I was expected to do each week was well beyond my expectations of an MOOC and more than the two modules before.

por Steven K

Oct 03, 2019

Good course exploring the computer science side of programming. Once I got used to it, I appreciated the machine grader for instant feedback (and ability to resubmit if you did something wrong). Not sure where I will use combinatorics, but it was good to learn anyway.

For the most part the quizzes were good, although the 'find the test cases' questions were very frustrating and hard to approach. I appreciate the intent of trying to get us to think about testing more, but it was very difficult to think of more than a few good test cases based on the logic of the program or the expected uses and it ended up being easier to randomly generate cases.

por Richie S

Jun 04, 2017

The difficulty of this course is much higher than Intro to Interactive Programming in Python. If you have been out of school for a while, I strongly recommend doing a quick refresher on key math concepts (probability, permutations/combinations, sums) as well as general math notation first. It will save you a ton of headache down the line.

por Ikseon K

Jun 06, 2018

Excellent courses, but a little difficult to solve the problems completely. Lectures don't cover the problems and homeworks fully. This requires self-driven efforts and research regardless of the lectures. Anyway, it is very useful and meaningful. Thanks!

por Tyler B

Aug 26, 2017

Most of the course was awesome, just wasn't crazy about the testing questions at the end of each quizz

por Renaud T

May 11, 2016

Great course ! Some assignments were not that easy and required time to be achieved. Enjoyed it !

por Wynand

Dec 21, 2017

Course was a good progression on the Intro to Python courses

por Alejo G O

Sep 12, 2018

Very interesting to expand the ways to solve a problem.

por Jingtian Z

Mar 29, 2020

I think the lectures are good enough, but sometimes I do not find the connection between lectures and homework. Even so, I am still grateful to the teachers and other students because of their good ideas which make me learn a lot.

por Chris L

Oct 16, 2020

I'm sure this is a great series, but Python 2 in the tail end of 2020 makes no sense. I may come back later just to audit and do the exercise in Python 3.

por Paras S

Dec 31, 2019

This course was a lot tougher than the first part of this specialization.