Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Research Methods

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Research Methods por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.6
estrellas
6,002 calificaciones
1,950 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Principales reseñas

CS

9 de may. de 2022

Really easy to follow and great advice from all the experts! It has helped me organise from the beginning of my dissertation and I feel more comfortable getting started on what is a big project ahead.

AG

26 de jul. de 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

Filtrar por:

1901 - 1925 de 1,951 revisiones para Understanding Research Methods

por Juan C V G

28 de jun. de 2019

Podria tener un enfoque mas amplio. Ya que solo se centra en investigacion en el are social. No abarca investigacion cientifica o de otrras ramas del cobnocimiento. Pudieron convocar expertos en estas areas para asie rniquecer en gran medida el proceso de aprendizaje, y hacer de este un curso mas global.

por Gunnar W

3 de feb. de 2021

Could be made much more interactive, interesting and challenging. It raises four important topics and the methodology is interesting, but the evaluation for students is so relaxed it does not invite engagement or further ellaboration.

por Nidhi R

10 de oct. de 2016

This course relies heavily on self-reading and theoretical knowledge. Video interviews which are part of the curriculum are mostly not useful. Overall the course did not provide me with the value I was looking for.

por Mansi

11 de may. de 2020

Overall, the e-tivities or tasks given are good. However, the videos and courses don't add a lot of contribution to what is known. It is very basic and very less inputs are provided during the course.

por Abhishekkumar T

10 de feb. de 2018

This course just gives you theoretical background of research methods and too easy. I found it actually not useful to me. I learned no practical skills to deal with my research thesis.

por Zebun N A

21 de nov. de 2020

The content of the course was very minimal. Much needs to be put into such a course to inspire research attitudes - and probably more outputs should be demanded from the learners too.

por Katharhy

2 de abr. de 2021

I expected more instruction of getting a research project started. The course was mainly to introduce different aspects of general ideas of why research is a good idea.

por Sayr E O O

29 de jul. de 2017

The sound is not clear, they bore me a lot when they talk about something. I would enjoy the course if they type it in a page to read it more comfortably.

por Christopher M S

27 de sep. de 2015

There was very little actual content in this course, and I can't say I learned very much. In hindsight, I wish I hadn't paid for a verified certificate.

por Ahmed E

1 de abr. de 2019

This is a good course but I was hoping to get lectures that teach the research methodology in greater details with MCQs as testing methods.

por Akshay T

21 de jun. de 2020

Not at all recommended. I would prefer rather book like Craft of research or a similar one instead of this course.

por Oosman B

12 de jul. de 2018

Contains worthwhile content though for all the hours spent, I didn't get as much as I should have.

por Abdulrahman A

29 de mar. de 2017

The course is not well constricted to guide students.. it's only fill the gaps.

por Malak K

26 de jun. de 2022

not realy satisfied i had to read external material to solve the assigment

por Rana M

17 de abr. de 2022

the course is very vaqu and superf even for a beginner level

por Rawan N A

1 de sep. de 2020

thank you for your efforts but I think need more information

por Biobele L

5 de jul. de 2020

It was a great and enlightening course. I was so excited

por Carlos M C C

2 de nov. de 2020

Poor sound, low quality videos. Low engagement.

por Upasna G

30 de sep. de 2021

I think the course need to be more exhaustive.

por Saquib B H

6 de jul. de 2020

The contents could have been better.

por Rawan I B H

6 de jul. de 2020

Not adding any valuable information

por Sintra S

25 de jun. de 2020

Not really detailed

por Xavier O

26 de nov. de 2015

yeah

por David W

3 de ago. de 2020

Peer reviewing quality was very poor, and I didn't receive any feedback that I could learn from. There was a mismatch between the simplicity of the points in the videos and the complexity of the readings, and there was no assistance with the reading, e.g. supporting notes or videos discussing the readings. The discussion facility was not used for any actual discussion of the material, but was filled with requests for peer reviewing including at least one that said 'I'll give you a good mark if you give me one'.

The useful aspect was completing the assignments, which made me watch the videos and read the sources, but, as I say, there was no subsequent useful feedback.