Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,047 calificaciones
1,632 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

VP

13 de sep. de 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

AJ

23 de sep. de 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 1,574 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Pravin M

22 de mar. de 2019

It is "the best course" to start understanding functional programming and get ur feet wet with scala.I really loved the way in which concepts have been explained , it has really helped in writing code in functional way.

por Ibrahim M

6 de jun. de 2020

Great Start in functional programming. It tackles a lot of the main concepts of functional programming. The way I was taught Scala in this course showed me how to leverage both FP and OOP to solve problems efficiently.

por Sergey G

8 de abr. de 2020

Really great course. Martin explains the material with passion and in detail. Learning functional programming was a lot of fun, because it enforces you to adjust your approach based on experienced with other languages.

por Fred N

2 de sep. de 2017

Excellent course. I always wanted to know more about functional programming and this was an awesome introduction. All of the examples are very well chosen. I found the assignments to be challenging but I enjoyed it.

por Paul B

4 de mar. de 2017

An amazingly deep dive for an intro course: covers generics, pattern matching, immutable data structures in lectures. Week 3 had some issues with the grader robot and exponential run times if you wrote some bad code.

por Bogdan F

24 de may. de 2020

Прошел курс со 2 попытки. Если вы пришли сюда за знаниям скалы - вы их особо не получите.

Курс больше о ФП. Задачки для домашней работы довольно сложные явно требуют 5-6 часов работы для людей у которых нет опыта в ФП

por Ashok

17 de jun. de 2018

Wonderful course.. Gave me good insight in to functional programming paradigm.. Assignments are well created to apply the right thought process. I will recommend this course for any newbie to functional programming.

por Yihan S

4 de jun. de 2017

It's more focus on the functional programming rather Scala programming language itself, but nevertheless it's fascinate to switch the mindset from one to another and think about the a totally different perspectives.

por Matthias R

21 de dic. de 2016

very clear, informative, thought through course in functional programming. This course gives additionally to the programming of Scala a background and up-to-date view on functional programming topics and objectives

por Nicolas B

17 de jul. de 2020

Cours très formateur. Les explications de Martin Odersky sont très claires (il faut néanmoins un niveau d'Anglais correct pour suivre ce cours) Je recommande vivement à tous ceux qui souhaitent apprendre le Scala!

por Peter M

28 de nov. de 2016

Excellent course for Scala, if you want learn the functional programming. In some parts of the course was difficult to understand the math explanations (long ago out of the University). But i recommend the course.

por Jon W

25 de oct. de 2016

An excellent and well-structured course. The exercises are challenging and interesting. The instructor combines in depth technical knowledge with the ability to explain things very well, which I've found is rare.

por maxime R

28 de jun. de 2021

Un cours très intéressant, avec beau d'exemple tout au long du parcours qui permettent d'assimiler au mieux les concepts. Des exercices finaux très complets qui permettent de s'assurer de la bonne compréhension.

por David F

4 de sep. de 2018

This is a great introduction to functional programming principles and Scala. By the end of the course, students can expect to have a good handle of Scala collections and how they work in the functional paradigm.

por 심재문

5 de may. de 2017

I know how to use scala collection and functional programming unclearly.

This course help me to understand functional programing theory and so on.

But, I still don't know about principle of Collections.flatmap ...

por Кузнецов Н В

23 de may. de 2017

Amazing intro to Scala! However I think that assignments may be more... practical (i.e. related more to some real-life tasks maybe) and concentrated on core concepts, not on dealing with Huffman coding trees :D

por Bongani R D

11 de feb. de 2020

Challenging enough and well explained without clattering the course with material that can be easily obtained from the API. I like the way the material is delivered, pointing you in the right direction always.

por Daniel W

14 de dic. de 2016

Hard going at first, as it was a mind-set shift from imperative programming programming to functional, but worth it when you get to the end and look back at what you've learnt and achieved in the assignments

por Tom P

8 de jun. de 2016

Lectures were very clear and the topics were explained very well. The assignments were quite challenging and did take some time but, on completion, they were extremely rewarding and worth all of the effort.

por Cheng H

20 de abr. de 2020

Lots of information in the course, it's not only a course for learning new programming languages; but also a great course share thoughts at a broad view about programming languages at all different styles.

por Miguel R

26 de mar. de 2017

This course is exceptional, I haven't seen any course at this level, it is really hard even when having some programming experience, It should be taken by every programmer, really looking for next course!

por Vaibhav G

6 de abr. de 2021

Best course that I have taken on Coursera! Love that it is of the level of an actual university graduate course instead of being a non-committal watered down version. Great content and great assignments.

por Narek G

8 de jul. de 2016

Mostly Great!!

There were certain things in penultimate assignment that were only talked about after the assignment which was a little intimidating but in general the course was well sructured and useful

por Arun J

17 de ago. de 2017

Very nice to learn the language from the designer himself.

Coming from a non-programming background had to watch almost all sessions multiple times.

Feels good to enter the functional paradigm.

Thank you

por Emanuele P

2 de ago. de 2017

Tough course which is a perfect introduction to functional programming and Scala. It is a complete overview of the language. Try to do the exercises with the teacher too in order to get the most of it.