Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,079 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

VP

13 de sep. de 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

RS

8 de oct. de 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

Filtrar por:

376 - 400 de 1,580 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Prasanna N

29 de dic. de 2018

Thanks for this great course.

Martin explained all the concepts clearly.

I learned a new language and more importantly, some new functional programming concepts!

por Sebastian Z

28 de ago. de 2017

This course is an excellent introduction to functional programming with a complete syllabus and good and clear lectures. Odersky and his team did a great job.

por João F V N

23 de feb. de 2017

A very very good course. The tasks can be a bit demanding but definitely what is needed and worth it to learn not only Scala but functional programming as well

por Edwin B

21 de mar. de 2020

I really enjoyed the class. Started it long ago, but then had to change jobs until my schedule settled down. Glad I could complete it from where I left off.

por Zdzislaw S

8 de abr. de 2018

I liked very much your programming assignments which were excellent (and sometimes demanding) supplements to excellent Martin's lectures. Thank you very much!

por Leo C

6 de dic. de 2017

If you really want more, scream it out louderIf you on the board, bring out the fireAnd light it up, take it up higherGonna push it to the limit, give it more

por Dhanesh c A

12 de nov. de 2017

Nice introduction to Scala and Functional programming paradigm as a whole. Assignments and coding examples discussed in course material are also very helpful.

por Dmitry V

10 de ago. de 2016

Very nice course of functional programming. But I also expected a little bit more - examples with ways of making async requests for resources (files/http/db).

por Fred P

3 de jun. de 2019

A lot of fun, and though taking this course for review, I came upon a number of explanations that deepened my prior understanding of concepts and techniques.

por Ankit M

6 de may. de 2019

Very amazing descriptions of the course material, and if coupled with the book from Mr Martin, this is the best learning material for scala I have found yet.

por Sebas O C

17 de jun. de 2017

GENIAL, antes de empezar el curso yo había leído el libro de Martin odersky "beggining scala" y los conocimientos aprendidos ahí los aplico en este curso :D

por Nick V

12 de feb. de 2017

Really good course! Basic learning about functional programming in Scala. A really good start for developers that want to expand their programming knowledge.

por Bash H

14 de ago. de 2016

This helps a lot to learn about Functional Programming and improve my Scala skills.

BTW, I find recursion is interesting and it changes my mind about coding.

por Maksym M

11 de feb. de 2021

The Course is really hard. I would recommend to start it once you have at least general understanding of Scala (read some books, try to solve simple tasks).

por John S

16 de feb. de 2019

Really well made course. Maximum learning to time investment, good explanations at the right level of detail, and good balance of engagement to instruction.

por Antonio R

17 de may. de 2020

This course takes the very fundamental principles in Scala. Very recommended to those who want to learn from zero and wanted to continue the path on Scala.

por Моисеев К А

27 de abr. de 2017

Like the course very mach. Really meaningfull not only as scala informational resource but also provides with knowledge of interesting mathematical aspects

por Kuntal G

9 de abr. de 2017

Clear Concise and Well explained course by creator of Scala Language Martin Odersky. Awesome course for anyone learning functional programming using Scala.

por Pawel R

4 de dic. de 2016

Exciting and well prepared introductory course for everyone who tried a bit of Scala and functional programming now is willing to take it to another level.

por Jorge E M O

25 de ene. de 2019

A challenging course of the highest quality. Martin Odersky does his best at sharing key insights about the way Scala works and how to think functionally.

por Mario A

25 de abr. de 2017

Mr Odersky attitude is very "Swiss" –pragmatic but extremely rigorous. I had no previous knowledge, and can now play with Scala in a satisfactory way...

por Nader G

23 de jun. de 2016

Excellent course for any programmer at any level! Start your journey to the awesome and powerful world of functional programming by passing this course.

por Bellhops

25 de nov. de 2018

The structure of the scala projects could be updated but that aside this is a wonderful introduction to functional programming and the language itself.

por Anton S

22 de feb. de 2017

Very good course which gave me a lot of theoretical and practicals knowledge about scala and functional programming. Thank you so much for this course.

por Michele G

28 de nov. de 2021

G​reat intro to the basics of functional programming and the Scala programming language. Like te style of the lectures and very instructive exercises.