Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,063 calificaciones
1,633 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

AJ

23 de sep. de 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

VP

13 de sep. de 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filtrar por:

1376 - 1400 de 1,575 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Ricardo C

11 de jun. de 2016

Specially on the last exercise, there is a bit of a distance between the classes and the challenges. Other than that, the course provides a very good introduction to functional programming at the same time as it introduce the scala language constructs and api.

por Kevin T

18 de dic. de 2016

El curso tiene muy buen contenido, y ejercicios que te ayudan acomprender las clases, sin embargo la estructura de las clases y ejercicios no es muy buena, pues algunos de los videos explican conceptos que se requerian para resolver alguna tarea anterior

por Claudio B

17 de jun. de 2017

This has been a really useful course focused on functional programming. I now feel like I understand a lot more about functional programming. The exercises are sometimes not completely clear but otherwise a great course from the very inventor of Scala.

por John M

17 de feb. de 2017

Not a gentle introduction. Often guilty of appropriating cool programming concepts for its own pedagogy, which often simply dilutes the core principles. Despite that - a generally well-structured course with thought-out (and challenging!) assignments.

por Sanket D

1 de feb. de 2017

Loved the course. Got to learn from basic the concepts of functional programming languages.

Good pace. Awesome level of assignments. Had to good time thinking the solution of the assignments.

Great way to learn a new language, thanks to the instructor.

por Borja B A

3 de dic. de 2016

Great teacher. With some issues. I found a little bit confusing the first week installing instructions with lots of data. But it improves.

Exercises are surprisingly elegant. Not easy but once you with the functional way of doing it simple.

por diego d

4 de ago. de 2017

Muy apropiado si sabes los principios de la programación funcional y tienes claros conceptos de programación. No se hacen muchas aclaraciones ni de sintaxis ni de semántica así que lo mejor es acompañar el curso con un manual de Scala.

por Chi-Chun C

2 de ago. de 2017

Somehow, it's not easy to solve the exercise.

It really train your brain as well as your Scala skill.

Overall, it is a good course.

If the exercise can have more guidance, such as where I can find the key concept , it will be better.

por Yiming H

5 de jun. de 2020

I have no prior experience of Scala or Java. The structure and content are very good but IMO the difficulty of the assignments is pretty high - usually require significantly MORE time than expected to complete and pass the test.

por Anton P

10 de jun. de 2016

Good materials and challenging programming exercises. Makes you think. However some material is old and some new, so little confusing. Especially when going through the materials about installing the development environment.

por Adam B

16 de abr. de 2017

The course is generally very good and met most of my learning objectives, but some of the assignments, particularly the last assignment, are more difficult than I would expect for an introduction to functional programming.

por Matthew C

1 de ene. de 2017

Well executed. The only difficulty that I had was when my assignments were not functioning well and had a hard time to understand what was wrong. A 10-minute video on tips on how to debug efficiently would have been great.

por Ankur D

22 de feb. de 2018

I would suggest before explaining if there is a basic overview of the pure mathematical concepts and then relating those with the functional programming would enhance the quality of the course. Overall it is very good.

por Bai S

7 de ago. de 2016

The content is great! But the rearrangement of lectures is not synced with intros at the beginning of some videos. I know it takes a lot of time and effort to make or alter a video. After all it doesn't affect much.

por Vatsal S

14 de dic. de 2016

A fantastic introduction to Scala Programming from the creator of Scala. The assignments are well designed and really test your grasp of the concepts. A good learning experience from an astounding professor.

por Thiemo M

12 de oct. de 2017

Excellent introduction into functional programming and Scala. It is pretty tough at first if you have no functional programming or Java background. But at the end of the course things started to make sense

por Maciej M

12 de may. de 2020

I like the difficulty level of the course, however I feel like some of the assignments contain material that is much harder than what was covered in the lectures and require much more time than suggested.

por Adam M

5 de ago. de 2020

Excellent content and instruction. could be improved by providing practice exercises with solutions. Also peer participation is too low to be useful, and there is no instructor feedback in the forum.

por Robert K

12 de jun. de 2018

I really liked the course. Prof. Martin Odersky has a real talent of discussing some entangled problems at hand. I liked the programming assignments. I look forward to the rest of the specialization.

por Juan S

10 de ago. de 2018

The sound of several videos is very bad. But Martin Odersky explain very well the concepts, maybe one section less mathematical could be better. The good that i remmeber now , how made square roots

por Donald L

14 de ago. de 2017

Great introduction to the principles of functional programming! Easy to follow lectures. Assignments challenging at times! Important: It feels like the assignment for week 4 should be after week 5.

por Roger L

9 de ago. de 2017

Kick-started me in Scala. I found the examples too Academic. Would have been much more interesting if the examples & exercises had been "real-world" & "tangible". Found the delivery rather dry.

por Denys N

15 de mar. de 2020

I would prefer to have more practical tests that would challenge my skills in every area of studied subject, not generalized one for chapter (and even that generalized - not for every chapter)

por Leandro

25 de ago. de 2020

very good introduction to Scala. Maybe I would have liked to see a bit what are the pros and cons (strictly speaking of the technical) with other popular languages such as java and python

por Kevin C

6 de jul. de 2017

Good course but some exercises are not the best (especially week 4). Smaller exercises that directly test course material and having more frequent, spaced practice would have been better.